We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Liverpool

Save Saved
You added Malmaison Liverpool to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, checked in and went straight up to room after seeing bar prices! (£6.95 for 175ml glass of their cheapest wine!). Room far far too dark - even with all lights on. Black Walls, black furniture, dark purple carpet and blind. Few stains on the carpet - yuk! Blind didn't keep all the light out but no curtains. Bed comfortable but no blankets in room - it was a very cold night despite having my room heating on. Also no chair st the dressing table? And in the bathroom nowhere next to the sink/mirror to put yr makeup bag as all of their free toiletries, tissues etc are covering the surface. I've stayed in various 3 and 4star hotels, and because of the cost I really expected malmaison to be something special but unfortunately it was just average and I don't think offered value for money at all!
Breakfast had a good continental choice, but being vegi I asked for vegi sausages and was told they didnt do them. Settled on mushrooms tomatoes and toast. Was served two small flat mushrooms and one tomato, along with 3 slices of toast to share between two people.
Such a shame as I was really looking forward to my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    375
    147
    61
    26
See reviews for
68
612
32
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barrow-in-furness
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

booked this hotel as a surprise for hubbys 40th birthday, stayed 2 nights in standard room 1 night in the kop suite, neither disappointed, first room was lovely, although did struggle with the darkness of the hotel towards the end of the stay. and would also recommend longer leads on the kettle, struggled to plug it in anywhere without it being right next to the socket. Staff were excellent, check in was really good, got in earlier than the time. Breakfast was nice, continental buffet and hot food to order, would recommend the breakfast muffins, they were delicious. Not to keen on the way the cooked breakfast is all stacked on top of each other, doesnt look good presentation. maybe more choice on the continental side, wasnt any cheese out and very little hams etc, but what was there was tasty especially the muesli, very rich. Had one evening meal at the hotel, was quite expensive, for £14.95, got the chicken and that is all you got, extras such as mash, veg were all around £3.25 each, lovely toiletries were provided in the rooms, which were of a high standard, kop suite had extra large bottles of conditioner, shower gel, body lotion and massage oil. mini bar in all rooms, but again very expensive. kop suite was amazing, four poster bed, huge wardrobes, bath robes, his n hers showers, separate washbasins, toilet and bidet, games room with football table and mini gym, writing desk, lovely wooden bath in lounge area, huge tv with all satellite channels, comfortable corner, settee, a must for all liverpool fans.Hotel set in quiet area, about 10/15mins walk to town centre, with lots of places to eat nearby, would stay again. very clean throughout the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, wouldn't be a usual pick for us,the decor is very dark and of a style that wouldn't attract us, but the service and location were great. Walking distance for shopping and for a wander by the water. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Totham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Here for business for three nights. All I want is peace and quiet, no doors slamming and no one having a conversation outside my door after leaving the bar. No such problems here. The hotel is plush, well run and peaceful. Great location too. You can walk along the Mersey to Albert Dock where you can visit all the museums, bars and restaurants. Just over the road is Liverpool 1 Shopping Centre. This hotel is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Use the car park next door. £10 a night but safe, clean and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the early May bank holiday of 2012. We booked the night before arriving and surprisingly managed to get a reasonable deal. Arrived at the hotel and left the car in the car park conveniently across the road. Check in was smooth and the hotel lobby was spectacular with an open fire pit and luxurious furnishings! Our room was again amazing, very sensual and perfect for a weekend away. There was a very ell stocked mini bar as well as all the amenities you'd expect from a hotel like this including flat screen tv, separate vanity area and seating area. Now the bathroom....well that was again lovely with a walk in drench shower and a huge separate bath. Loved the attention to detail including the toiletries, LED lighting and a huge clock on the wall! Very comfy bed, perfect for relaxing after a long shopping day and before a big night out. We had cocktails in the bar both night and the service was fab with an extensive list of drinks, although rather expensive it was well worth it, would highly recommend you sit here and have a drink before hitting the town. We didn't try the food but the menu looked lovely with plenty of choice.

The only problem we had was on check out when there had been a mix up with paying for the parking but this was resolved efficiently by the friendly staff.

Would definitely visit again and would try the food next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I know you get what you pay for in most things these days, and this was no exception. Its a good, modern hotel in central Liverpool but you pay a bit over the odds for it. Liked the flavour of the hotel the minute I walked in, as it is quite unique and not like the every day chain hotels. Our room was very nice too with a really nice bathroom and great power shower. Staff all very friendly like most Liverpudlians I think, and the location is good as you are on the river but still close enough to walk to the shops. A good stay, just wish it was more affordable so I could go again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here for my birthday in October.

Good area near the Albert dock. Easy to park in the multi story next door.

Room was great very modern, with a view and made our stay feel special, and different from other hotels. The bathroom was fantastic with a powerful shower and a big bath.

The service was great, reception very friendly and helpful. Made some good suggestions where to go and what to do and made us reservations at an Italian resturant which we really enjoyed.

Would definately recommend and return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Address: William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, WHM Global Ltd., Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.