We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel with budget service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Liverpool

Save Saved
You added Malmaison Liverpool to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel with budget service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have stayed before and found the rooms small and dark, but were promised by paying extra for a corner room we would have more light and space. We were disappointed, particularly because we brought ten friends with us for a family celebration. The rooms are smart, but poorly maintained, but most noticeably the hotel has long thin vertical windows that make the rooms very gloomy. In my view this hotel does not offer good value for money and I'm going to try the Hilton next time I visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    357
    136
    57
    25
See reviews for
64
571
31
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Never stayed inthe hotel but had dinner there one evening as we were staying at thee Radisson Blue and had choice of dinner their or at Malmaison. Malmaison is a short walk from the Radisson. So glad we decided on dinner there. Food and service was excellent.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

i have just spent a GREAT weekend in liverpool to watch MRS browns boys with my wife and some friends ,,,,we managed to book the MALMAISON HOTEL as it was the only one available ,,,I am very pleased to say i was more than very happy with this choice,,,, the hotel is located in THE PRINCES DOCK AREA and not to far to walk to the town center,,The Rreception on arrivial was very immpressive and very modern...We left our bags in reception
,,,,, then had a well earned drink after a long drive in the plum bar, very plush too,,,, we went to see the show and got back to the hotel late afternoon ,we were handed our keys to the room ,,well i must say the room was huge and very well decorated and very clean ,,ALL IN ALL A VERY WELL PRICED HOTEL WITH FIRST CLASS SERVICE YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM 5 STAR HOTEL

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

From the moment my husband and I walked up to the reception desk, the staff at the Malmaison were amazing. They were all ,without exception,warm, cheerful and actively interested in you as a guest and in making sure everything was to your satisfaction.

At dinner, the young woman taking our order was knowledgeable and able to advise on suitable wines to complement our choices. We had a minor blip with the main course when the sauted kidney in my meal was a little under-cooked. One of the waiters spotted we had a problem and came over, insisted on returning both meals to the kitchen, and they returned a few minutes later accompanied by a completely fresh dish of vegetables. It's rare to get such consideration when only one of the party has an issue.And as for my desert of chocolate fondant with salted caramel ice-cream - it was absolute heaven!

Having seen previous reports of the poorly-lit bedrooms I was rather concerned but actually did not find this an issue. The bed was supremely comfortable, plenty of pillows, good quality linens, and the en-suite had everything you could need.

With regard to previous comments about expensive parking, we parked in the multi-storey opposite the main door of the hotel. It's possible that weekend rates are cheaper, but our stay on it from midday Saturday until 4 pm Sunday only cost us £5 which we thought was very good value.

While you are in Liverpool, walk along to the Museum of Liverpool (towards the Arena), which is a very interesting experience with plenty of inter-active things for children too.Admission is free though they appreciate (well-deserved) donations.

All in all, a great weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room over-looking the river on the 4th floor which meant we could see the river and ferries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed for a fab weekend and added an extra day because we enjoyed it so much

The staff were exceptional, the whole place is cool without being cold and the food was first class. Having stayed in both we found this Malmaison had a far superior ambience

Great location too

Room Tip: The higher the better as the nightclub can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I loved going here. Went last year in December. It was really nice, we walked from Liverpool lime street station. Did not take us long at all. Loved how it is right next door to the Albert dock and Liverpool one! Perfect location really.

Made my day how we arrived and at the same time a certain premiership team were booking in too. Speaks volumes! That is how classy the hotel was.

Our room was lovely, not only clean, immaculate and modern but even though we had a room by the road, it was still quiet.

Over all it was an amazing experience. Definitely go again.

Room Tip: Enjoy the local attractions! Close proximity for them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Lovely clean hotel,lovely food and staff were very helpful.Would recommend.Stayed on apackage deal which was very reasonable forn a nice hotel which was practically in the middle oof liverpool.However I did think the cost for parking was quite high,but this would not put us of staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Address: William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.