We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Liverpool

Save Saved
You added Malmaison Liverpool to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Staff are terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

From the moment we arrived staff were friendly, attentive and helpful without being obtrusive, a real plus for the hotel! We loved the trendy decor and the room was immaculate as far as cleanliness goes and my husband thought the shower was the best he had experienced in a hotel (or home for that matter). The menu was varied, as we were on the dinner included in the price we mainly had the set menu but deviated from it for a couple of items, this seemed expensive to do and quite complicated and I think you are charge full price for this without any offset. not sure and neither was the receptionist so perhaps it could do to be simplified. However, we enjoyed it so much we didnt mind. Loved the hotel, loved Liverpool and very central and we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    352
    134
    56
    24
See reviews for
62
563
31
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Like a previous reviewer (and it was probably the same weekend) we were told that the hotel had overbooked when we arrived. We were told that our room was a downgrade which we fond quite hard to believe. We felt that we should have been advised of this before our arrival. The staff were apologetic and gave us several free drinks vouchers, but this still did not really compensate. When we arrived in our room the twin beds were made as one double so we had to get these re-made (in fact the room appeared to have been made up for one visitor only as there was only one set of towels and toiletries in the bathroom). There were several light bulbs broken in the room although one was repaired for us. The tea making facilities were poor in that there was only coffee provided. In the night the fire alarm went off which was most disconcerting.

We had booked dinner in the hotel restaurant which was good but the service was very slow indeed. The food, however, was excellent.

Despite these problems the Hotel was good and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed here on 3 occasions. The first was our wedding night and paid for a suite which was worth every penny.
The other 2 occasions have been a treat with friends before heading into the city for retail therapy and a show.
The hotel is located very close to the waterfront and is a 10 minute walk maximum to the main attractions and centre of Liverpool.
Staff here are professional polite and nothing is to much trouble.
I love the dark seductive twist of decor to this hotel especially in the foyer we're you can sit comfortably and enjoy a drink in front of an open fire.
The restaurant serves great food and Sundays do a really good offer.
If you have a party of approximate 8 and fancy something different book 'The Kitchen'
It's a private room you can hire for free we're you can see the chefs working hard preparing your meal. It's. nice change and great atmosphere.
I would highly recommend staying here or even just popping in for a drink or meal. You really cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view rather than a city view ( not very nice!) OR side view of he Liver Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a great "Love Me Do" weekend. When we booked weren't aware that it was a Beatles weekend but when we found out we an even better time. Hotel in very convenient place - 5 minute walk from busy spots so not noisy at all. Rooms very nice and well equipped, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast - wow what a choice - continental through to waffles with maple syrup. We had dinner in the hotel the second night and the food was excellent, served by very knowledgeable waitress who couldn't do enough to ensure we had a great night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having booked a month in advance for a one night stay at a weekend and having received a confirmation with The Malmaison, we along with another couple, were contacted by them three days in advance of our visit, to explain the unlikely story that their systems allegedly had "failed to function" and that they were going to have to arrange for us to stay elsewhere as they had no rooms available. Consequently we ended up at the Hope Street Hotel with the promise of an upgrade next time we visited the Malmaison.You can make your own judgement why this scenario happened but I think it is important to make potential customers aware that this can happen.

Room Tip: Beware how hotels treat you if you are on a one night stay at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Lovely rooms but booked a table for dinner and when arrived they had no reservation for us . A table was found but service was poor and so was food it didn't live up to expectations .
If we returned don't think we would use restaurant

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel St. Leonards, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night before going to the Isle of Man, we wanted a hotel that was close to the Ferry port for going to Isle of Man. There was a 5 min walk from the hotel to the ferry so it was perfect for us. This was the "poshest" hotel we have ever stayed in and was a joy as everything was perfect from walking in the door to leaving the next day. We upgraded to a river view room which was really lovely with a nice view. We ate in the restaurant which was great and very tasty, it wasn't cheap but was exceptional quality. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Address: William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.