We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Thomas Hotel to your Saves list
Sir Thomas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge) (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed in a few hotels in liverpool and have to say this is best value for money. Lovely decor in keeping with the hotel. Nice clean spacious rooms and free wifi that works!! We booked last minute and got a great deal. Drank in bar which is tastefully decorated 2-4-1 cocktails which was a bonus. Full English breakfast served by helpful and friendly staff really attentive without invading your space. Reception staff well organised (we booked an hour before we arrived and everything was ready for us!) and helpful. There are reviews which mention noise but this is a hotel in the business end of a major city the noise is not generated by the hotel. We will definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to friends as it's close to Mathew St bars and restaurants. If you use the car park on Vernon st make sure you use the NCP not the Qpark like we did as hotel discount applies to NCP car park but this was our mistake we didn't realise there were two next to each other!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    128
    101
    59
    64
See reviews for
56
191
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stopped in the luxury double. Lovely big room with breakfast, only £80 per room per night which is a bargain for what you get. Very clean room and public areas. Staff and customer service, spot on.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspalomas, Islas Canarias, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Sir Thomas Hotel is excellent value well worth a visit! Restaurant great food lovely staff 9 .5 out of 10 , very close to met quarter and Albert Dock is only 10 min stroll away ! Very handy for Lime Street Station

Room Tip: Just ask for room 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A beautiful hotel right in the heart. We needed a hotel for sons graduation and everything was booked or expensive because of golf tournament. This was the only hotel we could find. Classic decor, great staircase, clean and comfy room. Breakfast - great choice and tasty food. Would recommend this hotel for value. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great atmosphere. Would choose to stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spent the weekend The Giant Puppets were in Liverpool at the Sir Thomas. Our favourite Hotel when we have a weekend treat to Liverpool, Friendly staff, has just been recently upgraded, good food, only slight drawback is that in can be noisy..as its in the City Centre this is to be expected.

Room Tip: Try to get 3rd flort not as noisy as the 1st and 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

stayed here for a night with a friend , lovely place ,very friendly staff who couldnt do enough to make our stay special
we were there when there was tribute band on take that , great night , great breakfast , will be returning
lovely hotel room very clean , big bathroom , had all the usual , tea ,coffee ,biscuits comfortable beds lovely view of the city center ..right in the middle of everything , worth every penny
thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here - we paid under £50 per night for the room for two of us, including full breakfast. Amazing value.
Location-wise, just a few mins walk from the thick of the city centre shopping and a number of pubs nearby.
Room was fine for our needs, although can be rather warm (no a/c) and having the window open does provide you with pre-dawn, dawn and post-dawn chorus of the (blooming) seagulls!!
Loved Liverpool - this was our first time to the city and thought it was beautiful - some amazing architecture, great shopping, Docklands area really lovely and some obvious historic claim to fames. Well done Liverpool, Would def stay again - and would def stay at Sir Thomas. Thx all.
Oh one last thing ... Parking at the NCP car park on Vernon Street, where the hotel has an alliance, provides amazing savings. Our two days of parking came down from £40 to £15 with their coupon card.


Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Thomas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.