We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Thomas Hotel to your Saves list
Sir Thomas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge) (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Perfectly located near the city centre, literally just a few seconds walk away from where it is all happening. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious,clean and tidy. Nice sized dining area and bar. The only cons are breakfast was average (only cost £3.50 a day though) and it is quite noisy until 2/3 oclock in the morning.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    128
    101
    58
    64
See reviews for
55
191
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night over the weekend and I would def stay again. If you want a small, clean, basic hotel in a great location with brilliant and friendly staff the I would definitely recommend the Sir Thomas! The hotel bar is a great place to start your night and Matthew Street is just around the corner! Also girls, MAC is just over the road in the Met Quarter so book in for your make to be done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having stayed at the Sir Thomas Hotel in Liverpool for 2 nights recently I would highly recommend this hotel, especially the staff who were more than helpful. Good rooms, great staff . I would definately stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was a bit worried as booked this hotel before looking at the reviews.Staff great , location excellent and had no problems sleeping at all.Room wasnt ready as we got there early but thats was no problem has we had a drink in the bar...the decor looks a bit tired but their christmas tree and decorations more than make up for it . Room was clean and spacious and heard no noise at all.All in all a excellent value for money deal in fact we are going to book again for a long weekend in March.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

took 28 family members for sunday lunch to celerbrate my 60th birthday 0n the 4th november can not praise the staff enough the food was spot on and the manager paul german was excellent a good day was had by all would highly recomend the sir thomas for sunday lunch if ever visiting liverpool anne from wigan

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my friend on a girly break to Liverpool. We arrived to the hotel quite early around 11.30am and the room wasn't ready which was no hassle in anyway as our luggage was stored and it gave us a chance to explore Liverpool. This hotel is so well located - its fantastic for shopping, directly across the road from the Met Quarter. We had breakfast included however didn't get a chance to sample it with a little lie in the first morning and an early start the next. The staff were fantastic - everyone we encountered on our stay. Friendly, warm and gave some great tips on places to see and things to do. The hotel is a three star and in ways does reflect this - its maybe not as boutique a hotel as I would have expected, however its extremely functional, location is amazing and they have some great staff to boot. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have just returned from two nights at the Sir Thomas Hotel in Liverpool. The hotel was booked through work as this was a work trip. The hotel was in an excellent location, close to the office, train stations and shops. However I did find the hotel very noisy as was not able to sleep on the first night. The buses seemed to be going past all night and then they decided to collect bottles and rubbish from about 3.30 am onwards and this didn't seem to stop until 7am.
The room was very large and comfortable but I found the bed far too soft and really not that comfortable at all. The room was very tired with wallpaper coming off the walls The advertised free WiFi did not work at all and there were only three TV channels that worked in the room so nothing to watch on the TV. On the second night I had no hot water in the room either. I was lucky as I had a bath in the room which meant the bathroom was large, however it was very tired and in need of decoration and cleaning around the bath. My colleagues who only had a shower found the bathrooms to be very small.
Tea and coffee was provided in the room.
Continental breakfast was included and this was fine and you could have a cooked breakfast for an extra £4.00 which a number of my colleagues had and this was very good.
We managed to get the rooms for £40.00 per night .
I personally wouldn't stay there again. I found the hotel to be very dark and not enough light within the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Thomas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.