We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a bar not restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vinci

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vinci
77-79 Allerton Rd, Liverpool L18 2DA, England
0151 738 1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #888 of 1,157 Restaurants in Liverpool
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Its a bar not restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went there for lunch, bit concerned as only 2 other customers, but decided to give it a go as menu looked promising. We ordered bread and olive oil dips as starters, easy, not, waited 30 mins for this, which was awful, a bowl of oil!!!!!! not even convinced it was olive oil.
we ordered tapas for main, 3 for £10.00 sounded good and easy, waited 45 mins, ridiculous. We were about to leave when they arrived. Calamari, thinnest ever seen no lemon!It wasnt bad but it wasnt good and certainly not worth the wait.
The toilets were a treat, 2 loos, one had no seat and the loo roll was ripped put the wall and left there. They were clean apart from when you closed the door and discovered the filth where the cleaner had missed for months.
Save your money and go to takeaway across the road. Even the tables were still dirty from night before.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    3
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“ok for a bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

went here with a voucher the bar area was really busy however upstairs was almost empty -early but it was friday. Plain tables and lighting that drove us made as it kept changing. Young man as the waiter and you did need a sense of humour to be served by him didn't remember what we ordered, asked for 2 glasses of water and got a pint of water with 2 glasses. That said he was so pleasant and smiling you couldn't get annoyed. Food was a tasting menu -served on a slate we had 1 portion of chips and 1 side salad extra between us and there was plenty -although we did squeeze in a pud (obviously not made on premises but nice). Wouldn't really travel to here but would go if I lived in the area

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice decor, slow service, more of a bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is more set up as a bar than a restaurant, the decor and lighting is quite nice, and club like...

The service is quite slow and run from the bar, it takes a while to get attention, and the meal took a long time to arrive.

I've eaten here previously a few years ago and enjoyed the food and found it reasonably priced. I had a living social voucher this time for a 6 piece taster meal. The food was well presented. It was more of a platter than a meal, and arrived quite cold, so I do feel a bit misled... Sides were offered at an extra price beforehand, but we didn't realise then that all we'd be getting was a large starter....

I wouldn't recommend getting the living social as it isn't a good deal. Maybe eat there if its more of a drink you want, you're not in a rush and aren't particularly hungry?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Reasonable Pub Grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is in a great location on Allerton Road and is brilliant in the summer as the front windows open out onto the pavement. The food is average pub grub and reasonably priced for the environment.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Eating sub-standard food in the dark”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here for a meal with a group of 20 one Saturday night, where we were booked into the upstairs room. The staff were all really pleasant and friendly, however they were very slow and stood around chatting while we had to keep asking them to do things like take our order, clear our starter plates etc. The lighting upstairs is disastrous- it's really dark and there are these lights which change colour and basically make it really hard to read the menu or see what you're eating. The food arrived in good time. For starter I had the mushrooms, which were edible but really bland and unexciting which was disappointing. For main course I had the steak- it was pretty nice, not amazingly tender but you wouldn't expect that for the price, and the accompaniments were very tasty but all the food was served warm to lukewarm and on a stone cold plate.
When we went downstairs afterwards to drink and dance etc, we were really put out by the people smoking in the toilets, and by the fact the toilets were FREEZING!
This isn't a bad spot to stop in for a drink, but staying for any length of time is rubbish due to the horrid toilet facilities, and a meal here is certainly not worth wasting your money on.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinci also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.