We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harry Hill Sausage Time Tour” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Liverpool Empire Theatre

Liverpool Empire Theatre
Lime Street, Liverpool L1 1JE, England
+44 844 871 3017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 93 Attractions in Liverpool
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Harry Hill Sausage Time Tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Extremely disappointing. Lots of rambling and not at all funny. People leaving at the interval. Appeared to be a queue of people with various complaints wanting to talk to the General Manager. I was one of them and was promised a phone call back twice. No call ever came. I have been to made comedy shows in Liverpool but Harry Hill was not one of them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    76
    20
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No phantoms in this opera!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the Empire on many occasions, from early childhood, to the present and I never fail to get excited. You really do get the old style theatre experience. We had 'restricted view' seats for Phantom of the Opera and what a surprise to end up watching John Owen-Jones in the title role!

Our seats were brilliant - just to the right of the stage at the back of the stalls and the view was great!

I still end up getting confused EVERY time about the location of the toilets, but that's a very minor thing!

Well done Empire!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoylake
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fabulous production with great effects, costumes and brilliant cast. Not to be missed. (And we had John Owen-Jones :) )

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“couldn't hear!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had top premium seats front row of stalls, unfortunately we could only hear a small percentage of the singing the sound balance was terrible, we have put in a complaint to the theatre and wrote to the really useful group, lets see what happens.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“good night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Easy to book online & collect tickets when convenient or in person to save the fee. Good variety of shows, we particularly enjoy the Matthew Bourne modern ballets & Mrs Brown ! The Signature cafe is well worth a visit for a coffee & snack & the service is friendly. Looking forward now to Sleeping Beauty in April.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liverpool Empire Theatre also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Liverpool Empire Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liverpool Empire Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.