We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge

Cafe Rouge
Whitechapel | Met Quarter Mall, Liverpool L1 6DA, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #513 of 1,157 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very disappointing....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Decided to go to the Met Quarter for a change and a quieter location for a mid week dinner with my friend.The location is great, the problem, whilst the board outside headlined the set menu for two courses at a reasonable amount, sadly one of the main courses on offer and wanted to order was not available.The waiter apologized which is fine but there should be contingency dish from the main menu at least to dampen the disappointment of choosing only from the remaining two dishes which neither of us fancied, we should have left to find another restaurant but stuck it out because of location and previous meals at Cafe Rouge chains which are great value and good food. Unfortunately the mains were nothing special just about eatable. We like to eat out often choosing the set menu to keep costs down, I'm afraid not going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    3
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We eat regularly at the original CAFE ROUGE, its authentic decor and food are superb. Having tried the Liverpool one restaurant, we will return to our first love in future.
The french onion soup, beef bourguignon and tart tatin, makes for an ideal meal, washed down with the perfect bottle of house red. We have tried to purchase the house red from the restaurant and even tried to research it on google but to no avail, only to be purchased and consumed in the restaurant.
When we dine here we usually cross the road afterwards and nightcap in the Sir Thomas Hotel to round off the perfect evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best place for French fries!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Always a nice warm welcome here ( we much prefer this Cafe Rouge than the one at Liverpool one) the mixed starters to share are great to being your meal.. Something for everyone... Delicious pâté..!!!.and really good value meals...with a very good wine selection...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool uk
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“u may need to think twice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

i went in here to just experience what it was like. i wish i hadnt,, it started off so right and went sour real quick, the good things ..was having time to decide what to order the food was a very good standards and that was it, i was not impressed with the service at the end as i nearly got over charged,, the attitude of staff i was paying for my snack was hostile ,, bcoz i had pointed out the mistake she had made .. in total would i go back ,,noooooooo ... i nearly got charged #17.pounds 45p for a small mocha with a cruchy like toast with fuit and honey..and at #7.45 i think its oer the top

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely aspect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Normal good value Cafe Rouge fare. Just off the shopping area and over looking a small park-like spot.... a little bit of calm in a hectic city!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.