We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Indian restaurant & shisha bar

Landmark Indian restaurant & shisha bar
279 Smithdown Road, Liverpool L15 2HF, England
0151 733 7775
Improve this listing
Ranked #276 of 1,123 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
ELLESMERE PORT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Superb food with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We thought we were taking a chance booking this restaurant as the area is not the best,however the whole of the evening was a delight.Every course was superb with lovely fresh food and spices. Everything we asked the waiters about the dishes was explained in detail,and nothing was too much trouble.The decor was well done and gave a nice ambience to the experience of dining there.We have eaten Indian food at various venues across the country and without hesitation we would say this is as good as any.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    14
    6
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great curry house at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went midweek on a Happli deal, didn't know what to expect really- was pleasantly surprised. Beautiful modern premises with gold booths/couches and toilets that were decorative and most importantly clean (you can tell a lot by a premises toilet!!!!). The staff were pleasant and professional, not too overbearing but enough to make the experience enjoyable. The food was great, fresh, plentiful and hot- unlike some other reviews on here. Also the drinks were very reasonably priced, £3 a pint. Overall a lovely meal and a restaurant that I will definitely go back to and recommend to others- these types of businesses need our support so go try it for yourselves
: )

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tried this on a living social deal and was more than impressed. The food was excellent, some of the best Indiian food we'd both ever eaten. It was certainly better than any other Indian restaurant I've been to in Liverpool. The peshwari nan was to die for, the staff were excellent too, very friendly, not at all pushy, nothing too much trouble for them. I think it is a shame the location it is, it certainly deserves a plusher location, city centre maybe. We will definately be regular visitors, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Vegas vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'm guessing the owners have Vegas aspirations, where bright lights, glitz and alcohol render food irrelevant.I got really confused.I LOVED the music,staff,decor but afterwards felt like a dumb trick fleeced by a hooker.WHY?didn't I complain about the lukewarm food...the slow service.....WHY was I happy to pay up....and WHY?tawdry though it makes me feel WHY? am I prepared to go back......?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL UK
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Glitzy interior, food not so glitzy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Visited the Landmark, as had a Livingsocial voucher. This old boozer has had a major refurb inside, with chandeliers a gogo, gold padded booths, coloured bubble water walls and fancy taps in the toilets. All very impressive but the food failed to knock my socks off.
First the good points. Popadums were nice and crispy, chutneys tasty.Sevice was good. Mixed starter ok but but a bit lukewarm. My main course of lamb shank was meaty, but had obviously only recently made aquaintance with the sauce it came in, I'm guessing it popped out of a microwavable pouch and then had the curry sauce poured over it ,not particularly inspiring and not particularly hot (temperature-wise) either. The side dish of chickpeas and cheese was pretty bland also with very little paneer in evidence.
So.... while it was an ok meal, it was nothing special. Try it and make up your own mind as it would be a shame to see this new venture fail, but personally I think they need to put in more effort with the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landmark Indian restaurant & shisha bar also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Landmark Indian restaurant & shisha bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Indian restaurant & shisha bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.