We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for the purpose, but is it worth of its reputation?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fit for the purpose, but is it worth of its reputation?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

It seems as if I am going to be spending a lot of time up in Liverpool in the future and I was searching for somewhere that would be a home away from home. I hate business hotels, anything that feels too corporate. So all that seems to be left are the so-called 'boutique'hotels . There are a few of them in Liverpool, but the only one that fitted my needs in terms of budget and location was the Hope Street.

Upon arriving, everything seemed promising, a nice welcome from the receptionist and the place seemed to have the right vibe, from its minimalist look, to its Frete sheets. But all is not well at the Hope Street Hotel. Admittedly we stayed in their least expensive room, but it still cost a pretty penny even with the 10% reduct you get if you are a friend of The Tate Gallery.

I loved the fact that the room was large and well equipped, but the bathroom was one of the worst designs I have ever encountered. For instance, you had to climb into the bath to insert the plug, the design of the taps required a degree in physics and it was impossible to stand near the wash basin to brush your teeth.

The manager of the brasserie, yes you know who you are, looked at us as if we were mad when we walked in at 9.30pm (it is advertised as being open until 10pm) asking for a table. He reluctantly seated us and proceeded to serve us with the most bitter of attitudes. It is amazing how food tastes horrible when you know that the server harbours a grudge against you. Hospitality is definitely not this man's chosen career!

The answer to all of your celebrity questions is at hand. The staff love to name-drop. Enquire about the glass sculpture in the restaurant and you'll immediately hear stories of how Yoko Ono walked into it! Admire the floor to ceiling windows and you will hear about how they had to be obscured when the Barcelona football team stayed there. Comment on the cutlery, and discover that Mick Jagger travels with his own steak knives. Its that sort of place.

OK, the hotel has elan, it has panache and when you jump into a cab and ask to be taken to the Hope Street you'll get a warm feeling inside. But scratch its surface very slightly and you may learn that it not quite worthy of its reputation.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    300
    108
    49
    20
See reviews for
151
631
52
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We have just returned from an excellent stay at the Hope Street Hotel over the Easter weekend. We arrived on Saturday and stayed for two nights in one of the smaller suites (Room 404) which was lovely, but we didn't really make the best use of the suite, being out and about in the sunshine for most of the weekend.
We arrived at c. 6pm on the Saturday evening, which was later than we anticipated. The receptionist arranged for some coffees to be sent up to our suite, and then rearranged our dinner reservation in the London Carriage Works brasserie to give us enough time to get ready and to have a pre-dinner drink. We had a couple of drinks in the Residents Lounge and the staff were just great - recommending drinks, making sure we were well looked after. We had a lovely meal in the Brasserie as well. We had tried to book into the restaurant itself, and despite trying to get a reservation about a week before didn't manage to get anything, so if you are keen to go in the restaurant, you probably want to try about 2 weeks beforehand. Having said that, the Brasserie was great and contributed to my major hangover on the Sunday morning!
On the Sunday we went around the city and did a walking tour from the Albert Dock with a tour company called RedJack tours. This is highly recommended - the guide, Alan was a very interesting and witty host for a tour round the city - we learned loads! Make sure you go and see the gents loo at the Philharmonic Dining Rooms!!
The only slight downside of our stay that I would mention was that on Sunday the bar was taken over for a private party. This meant that it was not open to guests in the hotel, but it wasn't made clear - either at reception or at the bar itself - that the bar was closed.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we'd seen some of the comments of other reviewers about the breakfast - there are plenty of places locally where you can have a nice breakfast - we'd recommend Brasserie Jacques which is just around the corner for a lovely breakfast and some excellent coffee.
Overall, we'd highly recommend the hotel. We had a lovely stay and when we go again, we'll make sure that we build in a bit more relaxation time to make the most of the facilities available there.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of notice about bar being closed to hotel residents
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

We arrived at the hotel very early. The staff were fantastic they helped us move into our room immediately with no fuss. The staff went
out of their way to be helpful with parking and luggage. Drinks in the bistro were well made and came exactly as ordered. Our room was spotless and well proportioned. The linen was crisp and beautifully laundered. the natural bath products were lovely. The Hotel is in the
Georgian Quater close to the theatre, great bars and restaurants and between the Anglican and Metropolitan Cathedrals. The hotel couldn't have been better. I would fully recommended it to anyone.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

A one night stay in a cool funky contemporary hotel in next year's European city of culture was what we hoped for. Hope Street Hotel didn't quite match up to that though.
We booked a studio room which felt a little bit sparse so we upgraded to a suite (the smallish one on a split level) - it was just as sparse.
Clean lines, uncluttered, contemporary but somehow lacking the slightly hedonistic touch that you want in a boutique hotel for a weekend. There were two tub chairs facing a TV in our mezzanine 'living area' but these chairs weren't designed for sitting lazily with a large glass of something yummy and trashy mags / novels. It just wasn't built for lounging.
The shower was fab, the towels are everything you want from a hotel towel - big, fluffy and soft, the REN products are to die for - but need a bit of explaining as the shampoo, being petrochemical free, does not foam. This would be offputting if you didn't know to expect this. There was no invitation to take your REN products home (unlike some hotels who positively encourage you to take their bathroom products with you). So I felt a bit guilty but took them anyway! There's 5 minutes of fun trying to finding the light swtich in the bathroom - a few more slightly quirky touches and a bit of a sense of humour in the design would not go amiss.
The mattress was too soft for me but the duvet was divine. The whole place was very clattery though - we were on one of the top floors and there was sufficiently poor soundproofing thru this lovely old building that there ware a lot of door slamming noises whilst we tried to 'lounge' and relax.
We ate elsewhere for dinner (an experience that made a Beefeater restaurant taste like gourmet cuisine by comparison!).
We came back to the hotel to find a comatose girl being carried out from the basement nightclub - I obviously don't get out enough as I found this a bit strange. I wanted to go the nightclub and survey the scene of such revelry but hubby was having none of it!
We dashed down to meet the Sunday breakfast 10.30 deadline as a cooked breakfast is a rare treat for us. The waitress did not want me to have the a la carte breakfast and insisted I have the buffet - it took asking 2 other waitresses and then the manager to get a me a simple scrambled egg / smoked salmon combo (it does not say anywhere the a la carte breakfast menu is unavailable at the weekend). Hubby highly rated the serrano ham and cheese - only a few slices of ham were left - possibly for the best as he'd have eaten the lot, I suspect. We waited ages for a burnt coffee to be delivered by our gum chewing waitress. We passed the time trying to read the Sunday papers at our too small table and had lots of fun watching the local scenery - three men, a traffic warden and a policemen discussing the ticketing or otherwise of said men's car and motorbike. After an hour or so, all dispersed amicably sans tickets / clamps. We weren't sure if our other 3 mildly drunk breakfast companions sitting at one of the very comfy looking sofas had started afresh that morning with the many bottles of Newkey Brown or not - it would have taken getting up a fair bit earlier than we did, thats for sure!
So should you stay there? Hmm....Hope Street styles itself as a boutique hotel - it doesn't have an upmarket vibe, yet neither does it have the hedonistic, fun, quirky vibe that I want from a boutique city hotel. Our friend (the one who chose the scarily bad restaurant) thinks we should go back when the city has finished its cultural transformation next year - I'll probably try a different hotel though.

  • Liked — the duvet, towels and Ren bath products
  • Disliked — Its clattery, serves bad coffee and mediocre breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

We were looking for one night in Liverpool before travelling on. I had originally looked for the Malmaison, but it was being refurbished, so I stumbled on the Hope Street Hotel.

The hotel was not in any sense disappointing, and we had a great nights sleep on in a fabulous, huge bed with soft, crisp linen. The bathrooms (always a sign of a great place!) were marvellous, and I could have stood under that shower forever!.

My one criticism was that the room was a bit dark, but as I booked this last minute, I expect that this was the last one available. Breakfast was great. We lingered a long time over a huge cooked breakfast before setting off.

I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel for a romantic evening. I hadn't been to Liverpool for some time and it really helped change my opinion.

  • Liked — Decor and bathrooms!
  • Disliked — No view
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead to get the decent rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

This place is great for a city break. It's modern, it's cool (all exposed brick and trendy design) and it's v chilled.

We ordered room service and they do fantastic platters to share between 2. There's plenty of it and lots of choice and for only around £15. They even brought us cocktails tohough they weren't on the menu. The room service is really fast too and the breakfast was top draw.

There's also an excellent restaurant, residents bar and brasserie which is all pretty amazing considering it's a relatively small place.

My only gripe would be that the check in was haphazard and if we hadn't stayed before with brilliant service i'd have been annoyed. This compounded the fact that we'd tried to book by email and they'd told us it was full and when we called it wasn't.

Tip: They hold only 2 car parking spaces at the car park opposite so if you need one, make sure you ask for it when booking.

Also, look out for the deals on their website and then call, don't email. Rooms start at around £140 but we booked a deal that included sunday lunch, accomodation and breakfast for £150, A real real bargain.

Love the place and there's 2 great v v trendy restaurants near by, Alma de cuba and hope street only a few doors away.

  • Liked — decor, room service and just quality all round if you love boutiques.
  • Disliked — reception service and booking, pretty rubbish.
  • Tips/Secrets — look out for packages on their website with lots of extras included then phoen don't email
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

We stayed at the Hope Street Hotel for just one night in October 2006. We had booked a Deluxe Kingsize room, which was located on the first floor overlooking Hope Place.

The reception staff were efficient and friendly . We had arrived in our car and we were guided to a parking lot just opposite the hotel. The car park is secure and costs £10 per 24 hours.

The room was a fairly good size and was minimalistic in style. It had wooden flooring, plain white bedding and cosy lighting. The room is styled on wood and brick and is ultra modern, including flat screen tv, dvd player, cd player, and a luxury bath and shower.

The room was spotlessly clean and all fixtures and fittings were in perfect working order. The bed itself was huge and one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel, this combined with the luxurious duck down pillows and quilt led to a really good nights sleep!

The bathroom had expensive complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. The only negative was that there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, just two small bottles of complimentary water.

The breakfast is taken in the London Carriage Works restaurant, and they have a choice of a Liverpool Breakfast, which is a full english cooked breakfast or Continental. Both are served to you at your table. I opted for the continental, which at £9.50, I was dissapointed with. It consisted of a selection of cheese and meat and 3 small danish pastries. My partner opted for the cooked breakfast and that looked, and apparently tasted delicious and priced at £14.50, was not bad value.

The location of the hotel is ideal for people visiting the Philharmonic Hall or the two cathedrals. If you are not eating in the hotel there are also excellent restaurants close by including 60 Hope Street and Ego, both of which are located on Hope Street. The famous Philharmonic Pub is also nearby.

Overall, I would recommend the Hope Street Hotel. It is expensive compared to other hotels within the city, but it does have a very individual feel and is expensively fitted out with masses of wooden fixtures.

If you are looking for something a little bit special, then this is the place to book.

  • Liked — Large Comfortable Bed
  • Disliked — No tea or coffee making facilities
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic with solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Complimentary Wi-Fi, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing, shoe shining service and REN toiletries. Hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant, offering delicious modern menus and Afternoon Tea and bar a with a AA notable wine list - both serving 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, the Philharmonic Hall, two Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2014 Silver winner for VistEngland Best hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.