We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, slick, hip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stylish, slick, hip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for just one night as we were visiting friends in the area, the hotel was excellent and as it was a Friday night there was a very much needed extra hour on the check out time. I would absolutely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Serendip 12,

We love your title three words, with Autumn coming they have put a Spring in our step. Thank you.

best wishes, Mary C
Creative Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    300
    108
    49
    20
See reviews for
151
631
52
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, rooms just the right size for the money. We had 3 minor problems with the room - flat pillows, kettle which did not turn off when boiled & no hair dryer. Apart from that very good room. I would not recommend the hotel restaurant, the service was really slow (1.5 hours for 2 courses), plus quiet expensive for the portions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Jojo Osborne,

Thank you for your review, looking at your past contributions we are very pleased to receive your recommendation. Your three issues have been sorted and our colleagues in the restaurant send their apologies. We hope to welcome you back one day for a perfect stay.

Best wishes, Mary C
Creative Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for my wifes birthday at the end of August. The whole experience was fantastic, from the easy booking to the checkout. I have been lucky to travel the world and this hotel is up there with the best of them. Modern, clean and spacious. Little things have also been thought of like free WiFi, good quality toiletries, free water etc. The staff were so hopeful and couldnt do enough. Our room was not ready for 5 minutes when we arrived and we were given complimentary drinks from the bar, our bags delivered to the room and a card with a lovely bar of chocolate for the wife on her birthday. Could not fault the whole experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view across the Pool of Life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Bazthere66,

We are so glad you had a lovely stay and thank you for fantastic review. We love knowing about Birthday's we all have them! Come back for yours!

Best wishes, Mary C
Creative Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed in the hope street a number of times, and have enjoyed it but the last time wasn't pleasurable at all!

When we were checking in we were told that they didn't have our reservation, and are we sure we have the correct hotel, when I showed the receptionist my confirmation email she told me that we have already checked in. Well that was the first of many problems. As we were only staying for one night so we didn't bother upgrading the room for an extra £25.

Room 101. The bed is big and comfortable and the iPod dock is a nice touch - they are the only plus points to this room. The bathroom is a joke. You can't get into the bath/shower easily as the design of the bathroom is appalling... And it takes a while to work out how to use the taps for the shower. The whole bathroom needs a good repaint! Also the cleaning cupboard is opposite this room!

We went down for lunch in the restaurant and waited 45 minutes for two sandwiches. The restaurant smelt like Mc Donald's and there were crumbs all over the floor!!

I'm not sure why the standards have dropped, as we really liked this hotel. We won't be using again in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a clean, modern hotel. Its very straightforward, small lobby area, good food in the restaurant, clean fresh rooms. No majorly memorable aspects but it ticked all the boxes for a convenient city centre location. The staff were very helpful at all times and let us check in early at 12:00.

Room Tip: We upgraded to King deluxe, no need, fairly standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Irsko,

Thank you for highlighting the staff. They are a lovely team. Best wishes, Mary C Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had an excelant stay, beds were large and very comfortable and duvet comanded a good sleep! Staff were helpful and very friendly. The room nice modern and clean and we loved all the thick wooden contemporary decor. Newspaper in the morning was a real bonus. Food was exceptionaly good. And all in a really nice, unique and central part of the city. Would definitly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Gph123,

Thank you for your Brilliant. We are all very glad you enjoyed your stay - come back!

Best wishes, Mary C
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawsley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after a friends wedding. It's a great modern hotel in a lovely area of the city opposite the Philharmonic. Round the corner is a fantastic little deli called the Quarter, breakfast and lunch was very good. The hotel rooms have large comfortable beds, but be warned rooms have wooden floors which are very noisy. The floor creaks when you rollover in bed! Bathrooms are spacious with a separate shower and bath. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we were able to check in early which was a bonus. Would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in Liverpool.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 individually designed hotel rooms, solid wood floors warmed by under floor heating and king sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton. Wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs, DVD players and Arne Jacobsen telephones, along with complimentary wi-fi access in every room. Rain dance showerheads the size of dinner plates and Vola fittings complement timeless bathrooms that also include huge soft towels, mist free mirrors and REN products.Views include the river, a world heritage skyline, the cathedrals, traditional Hope Place and Hope Street. Picture windows and skylights capture some of the stunning architecture that fills this part of the city and surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.