We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Sunday at Hope St Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lazy Sunday at Hope St Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked one of the Lazy Sunday deals for my wife's birthday. The deal included an overnight stay at the wonderful Hope St Hotel and dinner for two at the equally excellent London Carriageworks Restaurant which is attached to the hotel. Every member of staff from the front of house through to bar staff and waiting staff were excellent, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They even put a candle on my wife's dessert without prompting which i thought a lovely and kind touch.
Our room was clean, tidy and very comfortable. This was the first time we had stayed at the hotel but the third time we had eaten at the Carriageworks. The food as per usual was amazing and very creative. As a vegetarian i would definetly recommend this to a fellow veggie.
Both myself and I had a great stay and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    324
    114
    50
    21
See reviews for
168
675
57
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

superb!

well, I would leave it at that but since there is no editorial control on tripadvisor (and a stipulation of 200 character's minimum) here is why: Hope Street Hotel is discrete luxury at its best. Our room was a beautifully designed blank canvas for our trip to Liverpool. Unobtrusive, contemporary comfort. And the view was magical - over late eighteenth century rooftops to a sweeping vista of this mesmerising city.

The staff were just lovely: attentive, accommodating, charming. And the public areas were easy, good-looking spaces with plenty of comfort and service. The food? Delicious, right down to the freshly baked breads. And the menu was broad ranging from exciting specialities to everyday needs. Even the fish and chips was a success: perfectly cooked fish with a beer-batter as light as a whisper. If I have one criticism it is that the puddings were over-priced and underwhelming; although the special pancakes for shrove's tuesday were pretty good.

But to end on the up-note that this excellent hotel deserves: the night we were there they hosted a Cafe Scientifique that was open to all. So I was served a free talk on 'the origin of matter' by a university professor in between main course and pancakes! As I said at the beginning: superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've just returned from a three night stay in a studio room and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Our room, 415, had a great terrace with views over Hope Street and the Metropolitan Cathedral to the left and the Liverpool Cathedral to the right. We were on the 4th floor and had no problems with the noise that others have mentioned. The bathroom had a walk in waterfall shower, huge bath and floor to ceiling windows looking out over the terrace and roof tops. The bed was huge, good size wardrobe (plenty of hangers), decent hairdryer, desk, settee and great black out curtains. The staff were brilliant from the moment I booked, nothing seemed too much trouble. I would single out the bar and reception staff for their great service and helpful, friendly attitude. We had breakfast in our room on the first morning which was lovely albeit a bit pricey. The location of the hotel is perfect and there are loads of great places to eat literally 50 footsteps away. I would recommend The Quarter for breakfast (half the price of the hotel one), No.60 for a treat and we also popped into HOST for a later night supper which was delicious. A taxi from Lime Street was £3.60 but you can walk it in 10 - 15 mins (it is slightly up hill so might be a bit of an effort if you have cases with you). I would recommend a trip up the Liverpool Cathedral Tower if you have the time. We walked into the city centre a few times and down to the Albert Docks. All in all a great trip and I cannot wait to have an excuse to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Apologies for it taking me so long to write this review - when we returned from our lovely three night break we were plunged into the run up to Christmas with the added bonus of a leaking bathroom!
I had emailed the hotel and made several enquiries before booking and I was given a really good deal to include breakfast, and we even ended up being upgraded! The staff were most accommodating from the word go, and I cannot praise them enough.
It was a 'special' birthday for me at the end of November, and also our 29th wedding anniversary, so we decided to have a treat and book ourselves in to this lovely hotel and do all the Liverpool stuff our kids would find boring. We left the twelve year old with his big brother and sister and headed west, and immersed ourselves in all the wonderful things that Liverpool had to offer - the Hope Street Hotel being one of the highlights.
Thoughtful and helpful staff (I know, I'm sure they keep notes on the computer, but it doesn't stop it being special when they remember that it's your anniversary and leave a lovely bar of chocolate and a note in the room), beautifully clean and comfortable room/suite at the top of the building with Velux windows in the ceiling/roof. I don't suppose they arranged the fabulous full moon with Venus right next to it but we had the most stunning view! Loads of hot water for luxurious baths, great fluffy towels, nice REN cosmetics. Incredibly comfortable bed and immaculately crisp white bedlinen
The hotel is in the middle of the two cathedrals, the RC one being the closest to the city centre, so we walked past that one several times. We decided to walk for a change towards the Anglican one towards the outskirts of town (and Chinatown) and to our delight found the most tranquil park - St James' I think - that is virtually underneath the catherdral itself. We wouldn't have known it was there if we hadn't explored on foot, and one of the highlights of the trip was that we just mooched around discovering things - the weather was amazing, cold but with beautiful blue suburban skies for the whole time.
Breakfast - wonderful. Good quality food, a great variety, lovely setting and top notch service - by morning three, the waiter brought us a pot of tea and a pot of coffee without us asking as he'd remembered that's what we had ordered on the previous days.
Parking - just over the road and in a secure car park. It seems they have limited spaces, but we managed it, and the car stayed put for all three days.
All in all a truly wonderful break. I can't wait to do it again!

Room Tip: We were in room (suite?) 403 which was at the very top and on the Hope Street side. I can't say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Last month i had a business trip to Liverpool and stayed at Hope Street Hotel. I can say it is a great hotel even if you are here for business or entertainment. Everything looks very organized with very proffessional and helpful staff. Also they serve great dinner and breakfast. Totally recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel was highly recommended to us and we were fortunate to benefit from a fabulous winter stay offer. We had a fantastic deluxe room (room 320) with an equally lovely modern bath/wet room. Great shower. The food and service in the restaurant didn't disappoint either. We'll certainly be back when we next visit our son at Uni.

Parking at the hotel itself is limited, however, there is an open plan NCP car park a few yards away which was fine and reasonably priced albeit it looked a bit rough. Whilst close to the city centre, this isn't a central location. The city centre is within walking distance but a good 10 or 15 minute walk. Taxis are reasonably priced though and there are frequent buses passing outside. Don't let that put you off. It's far better than the usual central hotels.

A real pleasure.

Room Tip: Excellent restaurant including breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Hope Street Hotel was carefully chosen for a very special occasion involving a surprise, and my expectations and requests were more than exceeded. I emailed the reception team a few times before visiting to arrange some extra details for the room, and this completely set the tone for our overall stay - polite, discreet, prompt, courteous, efficient and delivering to the promises made - you couldn't ask for more from a hotel team.

We stayed in an immaculately clean suite (room 501) with a separate lounge area, humongous bathroom and stylish bedroom, all blessed with a memorable view over the top of Liverpool looking out towards the Mersey. Everything was as promised, a high quality room, massive bed, great shower and some nice touches of technology (e.g. ipod/iphone dock). If we had a couple of niggles they were that during the night the bedroom was very warm, and turning the temperature right down didn't make any difference, also, my partner was surprised that the room didn't have a mirror outside of the bathroom. These didn't detract from our stay at all though.

The hotel location is especially convenient if you're looking to visit either of the Cathedrals (half-way between them both), or the Philharmonic Hall (which is almost opposite). There's also a couple of secure independent car parks very close to the hotel.

The next time we're in Liverpool we will stay at the Hope Street Hotel - it was a superb stay, an immaculate room all topped off by the quality of the hotel team.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,512 reviews
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#1 of 100 in Liverpool
5.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#11 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#28 of 100 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 stars 1,838 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.