We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay longer and save!
Ranked #8 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband, his brother and fiancee, and I came to see a show at the Liverpool Philharmonic - and because it was my husbands birthday we thought we would treat ourselves with some champagne at the hotel, a meal before the show in the fantastic noodle bar opposite, have a few drinks at the Philharmonic pub on the corner (what a place!), enjoy the show (just across the street) and then return to the hotel for a cocktail or two before bed. What a fantastic evening. The hotel staff were very helpful and attentive, the room was a delight (the best hotel bed I think I've slept in), facilities excellent and then an excellent full English breakfast in the morning. What a fantastic birthday weekend - with this hotel the central star! sorry 5 star!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel - you see the river and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    654
    238
    79
    47
    18
See reviews for
119
488
43
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our son gave us a voucher for Christmas to stay at this hotel. The offer included overnight accommodation in a Deluxe King Size room, Dinner, Wine and Full Liverpool Breakfast. The whole experience was wonderful and very relaxing. It is a fantastic offer called 'IN THE BLEAK MID WINTER' and if this is available in 2014 we already have it in the diary.

Room Tip: We did not have a choice of room because of the offer available BUT no complaints as the room was am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Took advantage of a special offer and combined it with a birthday celebration , had stayed at the Hope Hotel a few years ago - which was a good experience but this time far exceeded that experience. Rooms are lovely, clean and look luxurious but in an understated way. Beds are massive, good quality bedding and so comfortable. We didn't want to get out of the shower/wet room which was completed with thick, fluffy towels. Reception staff were friendly and polite. We had our evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant, service was impeccable, could not fault the food or atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and have already recommended to friends and colleagues

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here quite a few times, sometimes to save driving home after a concert at the Philharmonic Hall which is opposite or just for a night away. Why do we like it here so much? The first reason has to be the staff who are always superb and go out of their way to be helpful, friendly and courteous. Another is the physical hotel itself: the stylish rooms, the bathrooms, the views, the restaurant. We also love the location which is in the heart of the cultural quarter of Liverpool, with theatres, restaurants and bars nearby; the two magnificent cathedrals at either end of Hope Street; and shops within walking distance (for the fit). It also helps that the meals and breakfasts at the London Carriage Works are fantastic. Oh, and it's great value for money.
PS - did I mention that the staff are great. And it's clean. And the beds are massive and very comfortable. And there's everything you need in the rooms. And ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A great place to stay. Stylish well designed and equipped room, with plenty of room! Lots of great touches; complimentary everthing you might need' fresh milk if you wanted it plus excellent choice of room service if you can't bear to leave the room and the beds and bedding are really comfortable.

All in all a great experience. I look forward to an excuse to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night celebrating a birthday. Our room was a deluxe no 420 on the back with a great view of the City and Mersey across to the Wirral. A very comfortable smart modern room. Good Wi-Fi that worked straight away (a bonus these days!). Wet room style shower and a big bath with nice Ren toiletries appreciated by my Fiancé. The bed was very comfortable and huge!

The public areas are very chic - lots of exposed stone and wood with big comfortable chairs and sofas. The Bar/restaurant is popular with non guests too and can get busy but there is a smaller lounge near the check-in where you can get some space.

We didn't dine in the restaurant apart from breakfast which was excellent. The 'Liverpool' full English both traditional and veggie was really enjoyed by our party. Excellent fresh ingredients very well cooked - a cut above many I've had and a nice change from the usual buffet. The restaurant menu for lunch/evening is very tempting and we will dine in next time we visit.

The locality has plenty to choose from - eateries, bars and of course the iconic Philarmonic Pub which is a must visit just a few doors down. The concert hall is right across the road so if you are going to a concert there really isn't anywhere else to stay.

I must also mention the staff who were all extremely friendly, efficient and helpful, both in the hotel and restaurant. This place is now first choice when visiting Liverpool for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hope street hotel was very comfortable and clean. It is ultra modern with good selection of creative lovely food. Healthy toiletries were provided and a good stock of spare extras were available in case you forgot essentials. I was on Business. I would recommend it for Business and city visiting. Children were obviously catered for as a few nice touches like children's packs were available, but quiet children -the non running around variety would be most suited to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#8 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 individually designed hotel rooms, solid wood floors warmed by under floor heating and king sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton. Wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs, DVD players and Arne Jacobsen telephones, along with complimentary wi-fi access in every room. Rain dance showerheads the size of dinner plates and Vola fittings complement timeless bathrooms that also include huge soft towels, mist free mirrors and REN products.Views include the river, a world heritage skyline, the cathedrals, traditional Hope Place and Hope Street. Picture windows and skylights capture some of the stunning architecture that fills this part of the city and surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.