We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay longer and save!
Ranked #8 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hope Street Hotel for New Year and had a fantastic time.
After booking in, when we reached our penthouse suite we were stunned by the facilities and totally overawed by the uninterrupted view from the terrace balcony. Looking out over the city landscape, scanning through 180 degrees from the Anglican Cathedral to the South round to the Catholic Cathedral to the North.
Having booked the pre-concert dinner in the hotels' London Carriage Works restaurant we enjoyed fine fare, then with like-minded diners attended the concert in the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall opposite, before returning for the Hotel's New Year party for residents and diners.
We decided to celebrate the New Year privately back up on the terrace balcony, where we heard the New Year welcomed in by the chimes of the Anglican cathedral and were then enthralled by a display of fireworks right around the city and over on the Wirral.
Following a restful night's sleep, in a bed that almost swallowed us up, we awoke to see a brilliant sunrise viewed from the lounge area of the suite.
A relaxed breakfast offering an extremely wide range was almost too fine a finish to what was a truly grand experience and one we would hope to enjoy again.

Room Tip: Penthouse suites numbers 502 & 503 cannot be beaten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    661
    240
    79
    47
    18
See reviews for
121
492
44
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My cab driver said he was taking me to the best hotel in Liverpool. It is indeed an excellent hotel in every way - elegant, friendly, very clean and central. Comfortable bed, the best shower in many hotels, and a quiet room. This hotel is also great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have spent approx 3 off the last 4 of my wifes birthdays in Liverpool. We have always used the Hope Street Hotel mainly because of the cleanliness of the hotel and its friendly staff its also very convienient for the Phiharmonic Hall across the road

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

An excellent hotel in one of the best streets in Liverpool. We have stayed many times here before and have never been disappointed. Look out for the special offers - they are a real bargain.The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful - the beds are the most comfortable I have slept in (I have not found their matress supplier yet). Well worth paying the small extra for a superior room with both bath and shower

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We loved the hotel. Our bedroom was great - good size, light and airy, spotlessly clean, with a fantastic spacious bathroom. To add to this, the view over the city was pretty special.
The food was superb. I can honestly say that my starter was possibly one of the best I have ever had.
The staff were all very friendly and professional and so obliging and helpful.
I love the individuality of The Hope Street Hotel. The design is very much to my taste- clean modern lines, unusual features ( like the huge glass shard structure in the restaurant - has to be seen, it is amazing).
I will definitely be back, and would recommend this hotel to anybody who is visiting this fantastic city.
The owner/s of this hotel should be very proud of the Hope Street Hotel. It is a real asset to Liverpool.
I look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The whole look and feel was lovely, very warm welcome from staff who seemed genuinely to care about making us feel welcome and making sure we got everything we needed. The food was also wonderful - really good quality (all 4 of us tried each others', and there really were no duds at all!). Only 15 mins walk to the centre, so ideal really.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The reception staff were very helpful, and the room was modern with character, though alittle on the small side. Huge bed and squashy pillows. Nice bathroom and toiletries, and a good shower, but the heating in the bathroom was so hot that even with the bathroom door closed and the heating turned off, the bedroom was uncomfortably warm. There was a table fan provided but it was quite loud. We booked a massage through the hotel, and the lady who came was absolutely lovely and gave the best swedish massage I have ever had. It is very well placed for shopping, and a lovely french restaurant called Bistro Jacques is about two minutes walk away.

Room Tip: If you opt to have a massage in your room, make sure that you get a room into which the masseuse can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#8 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 individually designed hotel rooms, solid wood floors warmed by under floor heating and king sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton. Wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs, DVD players and Arne Jacobsen telephones, along with complimentary wi-fi access in every room. Rain dance showerheads the size of dinner plates and Vola fittings complement timeless bathrooms that also include huge soft towels, mist free mirrors and REN products.Views include the river, a world heritage skyline, the cathedrals, traditional Hope Place and Hope Street. Picture windows and skylights capture some of the stunning architecture that fills this part of the city and surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.