We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hope Street Hotel is an amazing hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay longer and save!
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Hope Street Hotel is an amazing hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We loved the hotel. Our bedroom was great - good size, light and airy, spotlessly clean, with a fantastic spacious bathroom. To add to this, the view over the city was pretty special.
The food was superb. I can honestly say that my starter was possibly one of the best I have ever had.
The staff were all very friendly and professional and so obliging and helpful.
I love the individuality of The Hope Street Hotel. The design is very much to my taste- clean modern lines, unusual features ( like the huge glass shard structure in the restaurant - has to be seen, it is amazing).
I will definitely be back, and would recommend this hotel to anybody who is visiting this fantastic city.
The owner/s of this hotel should be very proud of the Hope Street Hotel. It is a real asset to Liverpool.
I look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    256
    84
    46
    17
See reviews for
124
525
45
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The whole look and feel was lovely, very warm welcome from staff who seemed genuinely to care about making us feel welcome and making sure we got everything we needed. The food was also wonderful - really good quality (all 4 of us tried each others', and there really were no duds at all!). Only 15 mins walk to the centre, so ideal really.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The reception staff were very helpful, and the room was modern with character, though alittle on the small side. Huge bed and squashy pillows. Nice bathroom and toiletries, and a good shower, but the heating in the bathroom was so hot that even with the bathroom door closed and the heating turned off, the bedroom was uncomfortably warm. There was a table fan provided but it was quite loud. We booked a massage through the hotel, and the lady who came was absolutely lovely and gave the best swedish massage I have ever had. It is very well placed for shopping, and a lovely french restaurant called Bistro Jacques is about two minutes walk away.

Room Tip: If you opt to have a massage in your room, make sure that you get a room into which the masseuse can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Luxury personified is the only phrase I can think of to describe my recent stay in this fabulous hotel. The greatest surprise and treat however came at dinner in the Hope Street's restaurant: I had read with dismay a scathing, 'clever, clever' negative review written by Jay Rayner in the Observer about the hotel's prestigious restaurant The London Carriage Works and wondered if his rather snide patronising attack on one of my favourite quaffing spots had any validity. I should have trusted my memories of all the many great meals I have enjoyed there and remembered how much I detest his unctuous elitist 'performances' on my favourite food programme Masterchef - far from eating 'intensely self-conscious food' as 'hack' Rayner described it (an ironic phrase from a food critic by the way - surely the most odious, pretentious and self conscious grouping of professional journalists ever self-invented?), dinner at The London Carriage Works was as good as I have enjoyed anywhere in the world. Perfect foie gras, exquisite roast turkey (it was a Christmas treat) and sublime puds (yes two I am afraid) and impeccable service. Costly? I wasn't paying the bill but I would have happily have paid what I might have expected to pay at a celebrity chef's gaf in London for a less enjoyable meal without batting an eye lid. Fabulous! By the way, book in advance - the place was packed with footballers, famous actors and ordinary folk all having a great night out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had searched for many hotels in Liverpool and this was the only hotel that fitted exactly what I was looking for. The location was ideal, 15 min walk away from Lime Street train station. The area was very cosmopolitan with the theatre and bars nearby. Everything was in walking distance, but just far enough away from the noise of the city center. The hotel itself was very modern and trendy but still maintained a real cozy, comfy feel and were very clean.The bar and restaurant were of the highest standard and the rooms were beautiful, they had everything you need. The bathroom was huge and with all modern features. The staff were so helpful and informative. It really did feel like a 5 star boutique hotel, and I was sorry to have to leave! I wont be staying anywhere else whenever I visit Liverpool!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great little hotel with fantastic bedrooms. Ideal for business travellers and a romantic getaway. My room was a suite and it had everything needed for a 1 night stay. Cant wait to come back again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Really enjoyed our 1 night stay, wish it could have been longer, Rooms were perfect, food was great, staff were excellent, all in all one could not wish for better, would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting a hotel in Liverpool

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#3 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#8 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 individually designed hotel rooms, solid wood floors warmed by under floor heating and king sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton. Wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs, DVD players and Arne Jacobsen telephones, along with complimentary wi-fi access in every room. Rain dance showerheads the size of dinner plates and Vola fittings complement timeless bathrooms that also include huge soft towels, mist free mirrors and REN products.Views include the river, a world heritage skyline, the cathedrals, traditional Hope Place and Hope Street. Picture windows and skylights capture some of the stunning architecture that fills this part of the city and surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.