We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer package
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed at many times when on a night with friends, staff are always lovely and we never have any problems. The only one little issue is the lighting in the rooms is not very good for putting on your makeup.brooms are lovely and modern.
Stayed boxing night all was great and staff are always polite and lovely even when serving drinks at a very late hour in the comfortable residents barand to a group of drunks!!!!! Nice ones though!!
we will be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    315
    112
    49
    21
See reviews for
162
658
56
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I booked to celebrate a special anniversary for my wife and I. I had heard excellent things about this hotel and was very keen to try it out, I wasn't disappointed! We arrived at the hotel quite early and just wanted to drop our bags as check in wasn't until 2 pm, however the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful. She took us to the car park so we could park securely and even let us check in early! We had been upgraded to a lovely room giving us a beautiful view of the city, river Mersey and cathedrals. Excellent! We had dinner in the restaurant and our waiter, silvan, was faultless. He was so attentive but not overly so which made our experience even more special. Such a credit to the restaurant there. We had an 'anniversary slate' at the end of our meal with a mince pie which was such a lovely gesture. Overall, the hotel, restaurant and all of the staff there could not have made our stay any more special. It was worth every penny we spent. Anybody thinking of visiting Liverpool should definitely put hope street top of their list!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our stay was enjoyable. Attended my graduation ceremony (university of Liverpool) at the Philharmonic Hall which was just across the Hope street from the hotel, with the university about 5-7 minutes walk.
The city centre and shops were all within walking distance. Service was excellent. The staff were attentive and reliable.
Will recommend to our friends and will book again in future when we take our next trip to Liverppol.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyable stay at this wonderfully restored hotel. Had a studio apartment which was big; the bed was comfortable and the bathroom superb. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel. The staff were so friendly and welcoming, and the accommodation was first class - spotless, cosy, well-equipped and quiet. It's location was ideal, with a great choice of restaurants close by. It was certainly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, and are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Close to the Liverpool Philharmonic and the wonderfully ornate Philharmonic Dining Rooms. Located five minutes from Liverpool Ropewalks and Bold Street, ten minutes from Liverpool One and fifteen minutes from the Albert Docks.

The rooms are generous with all the expected amenities. The staff are very friendly. The hotel has numerous rooms away from Hope Street itself so you can avoid what traffic there is if that is a concern for you. The buffet breakfast looked and smelt nice but I didn't eat there myself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a great stay. The decor is cool and restrained, the reception staff were warm and attentive, and the room very comfortable. The hotel is perfectly situated in one of the most interesting parts of this great city, and I would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,410 reviews
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
5.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Liverpool
#29 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#13 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Venere, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.