We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay longer and save!
Ranked #8 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a great hotel! Modern and stylish, staff are wonderful and extremely helpful, the bar/restaurant is great, rooms are well kitted out. Perfect for both leisure and a serious business stay. The only minor negative is the floorboards in the rooms, which meant you can hear your neighbours walking around if they're being noisy. That said, this wouldn't stop my going back or recommending it. Oh, and a top location too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    654
    238
    79
    47
    18
See reviews for
119
488
43
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm not sure how to summarise this. The hotel itself looks great, the staff are friendly. the facilities are fine and comfortable but....
Our room was roasting hot when we got in there even though the thermostat was on minimum. The bathroom was unbearably hot(ter) due to a large towel rail which was almost glowing, with no way the guest could switch it off/down (it turned out the controls were outside the room). The staff did sort that out but it all came back on again during the night - couldn't sleep.
Sadly the real let-down was the evening meal. Starters were fine, but of 6 mains, 4 were cold and I mean stone cold, not even luke warm. We sent them back but 3 were steak and of course not the same when they came back (and not all that hot). The staff were very apologetic and we got some free desserts but the evening was sadly spoiled, we had gone to meet relatives who we rarely see. We had breakfast the next day, it was OK (and not cold!) but slow to arrive and nothing special, especially for £16.

Had it not been for the uncontrollably boiling room and the cold meals I think I would have given this hotel a petty good rating, but sadly I now think of it as somewhere I'd rather not go back to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location, about a 5-10 min walk to the centre. Staff were very welcoming and friendly! Room was super clean and tidy, very modern and simple! The room was to a high standard and the quality of furniture and technology was awesome! Bathroom was the best, with the huge bath and walk in shower! The bed was very comfy and big however was disappointed when finding out it was two singles put together as there was a tiny gap in the middle. We didn't go in the bar/restaurant but it all looked very posh and nice! We also didn't have breakfast as we thought it was overpriced - so we got breakfast/lunch in town. Overall was an amazing experience and would defiantly go again!

Room Tip: we got the King Deluxe room! and it was super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Not your average run-of-the-mill type of place, quality solid wood features everywhere and attached to the renowned Carriageworks restaurant. The room was a good standard and a comfy bed, spacious bathroom with quality fittings. Unfortunately room 105 seems to have a broken thermostat so the under floor heating was permanently on so we both felt a bit uncomfortable. We should have asked to move room and I'm sure they'd be fine with that but it was a bit late by the time we realised. Funnily enough there's another review from 3 years ago complaining about the same issue with room 105 so perhaps they're not very good at taking complaints seriously.

Room Tip: Not 105 unless they've fixed the under floor heating so you can switch it off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is amazing and our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
The statt are friendly and very helpful. The Liverepool breakfast was tasty.
Brilliant locaion to all that Liverpool has to offer.
Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our stay at the Hope began with the gorgeous and friendly front desk staff, who were knowledgeable about every question we had. Our room was comfortable and attractive. The toilet was better than average, with a deep tub and an excellent shower. We enjoyed the bar in evenings and breakfast in the morning. Again, staff were absolutely amazing! We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our room was meticulously clean with all the extras expected; tea, coffee, biscuits, hair dryer, shampoos etc. Our initial reason for booking there was because the hotel is directly opposite the Philharmonic Hall.

The staff were were the perfect mixture of efficiency, friendliness and local knowledge. We ate in the hotel's restaurant, " The Carriage Works" where our meals were excellent.

The Hope Hotel took a big part in making our Liverpool visit a great one. We will stay again.

Room Tip: If steps a problem, mention this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#8 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 individually designed hotel rooms, solid wood floors warmed by under floor heating and king sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton. Wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs, DVD players and Arne Jacobsen telephones, along with complimentary wi-fi access in every room. Rain dance showerheads the size of dinner plates and Vola fittings complement timeless bathrooms that also include huge soft towels, mist free mirrors and REN products.Views include the river, a world heritage skyline, the cathedrals, traditional Hope Place and Hope Street. Picture windows and skylights capture some of the stunning architecture that fills this part of the city and surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.