We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional over night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“exceptional over night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we stayed overnight at hope street hotel 9/11/12 and from the minuet we arrived the experience couldnt have been better hotel in excellent area for sight seeing shopping ect staff lovely and friendly we were upgraded to a superior room which was a nice suprise room stunning and luxurious everything we needed on hand,breakfast next morning of a high standard. we would highly reccomend hotel good value and excellent service a credit to the owners and staff many thanks carl and amanda north wales

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    300
    108
    49
    20
See reviews for
151
631
52
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a very pleasant midweek overnight at the Hope Street Hotel.
The staff were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome in a friendly city.
The location was good, situated between the city's two cathedrals and we were able to park in the hotel's car park, but spaces are limited.
The studio we had was a very stylish room with a large comfy bed and spacious bathroom. The small wall mounted flat screen television with limited viewing angles was the only let down, but I have been informed all the TVs are to be upgraded in the new year.
We chose to eat out at night but the hotel's Liverpool breakfast was very good and hot.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location in the Georgian Quarter of the City, so not noisy at night. Modern decor and facilities. Wonderful views from our fourth floor bedroom and bathroom windows across the city towards the river. Huge en suite, well equipped bathroom! Our only complaint was that the wooden floorboards meant we could hear people preparing and moving about in a function room above us, but it was quiet soon after 11pm. The London Carriage Works Restaurant was excellent, but a bit pricey, although their early evening prix fixee menu was great value. They accept Tastecard for a la carte dining, which was a bonus! The service was first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view, so probably the 4th floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hope Street Hotel made our wknd. Took my girlfriend for a stay in Liverpool for her 30th birthday and had Hope St Hotel recommended by a friend, we wernt dissapointed. Hotel staff especially receptionists were welcoming and couldnt help enough. Room was clean, well equipt, bed huge and extremely comfy. Location great with some really nice cafes within 100yards not including the Phillarmonic Hall and pub of the same name over the road with great atmosphere. Ate in the restaurant attached to the hotel called The London carriage works, food and service impeccable and suprisingly the bill was only £80 for 3 courses for 2 people and that included the steak. Would recommend to anyone. Made my girlfriends birthday.
Mark

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a smart hotel, great location, good attention to detail - things like a sewing kit and ironing board in the room. The biggest bed I've ever slept in, free WiFi, lovely selection of hot drinks on the refreshment tray, etc. All in all this should have been the perfect place for a couple of nights for a work trip. The trouble was the floorboards creaked - a lot... I don't think the people in the room above, or those in my little corridor, were there for a clog dancing convention, but I could be convinced... This is not one of those characterless hotels where all the corridors look the same, and the windows don't open etc, and I think I may just have been a little unlucky that I was in such a creaky part of the building. I would certainly go back - but I might take earplugs next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very good location. Excellent reception staff always helpful. The room was clean and well equipped but the sound proofing wasn't good probably due to the wooden floors.
We had a very disappointing experience with breakfast, was told there was a 15 minute wait for a table in the dining room but would be called as soon as one was free and we were still waiting 30 minutes later with others who came in later going in before. When we challenged this we were told he would sort it straight away and 10 minutes later we were still waiting despite empty tables so we gave up and left hence our average rating

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hope Street is an amazing location.
At one end is the Anglican Cathedral and at the other end is the Catholic Cathedral. In between is the Philharmonic Hall, the Philharmonic public house, some excellent restaurants and the Hope Street Hotel.
Reception was always friendly and helpful.
The rooms were well equipped including TV with Sky, tea making facilities, and ironing board and iron. The bed was King-sized plus. The bathroom had a bath and wet-room shower.
One downside was the hardwood flooring which creaked when walked on. It was possible to hear the creaking in other rooms.
Breakfast is provided in the restaurant area. The choice is a la carte, Full Liverpool, Vegetarian or Continental buffet. The food was good.

Room Tip: The rooms either face into Hope Street or in the other direction towards Liverpool with a distant vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#9 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic with solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Complimentary Wi-Fi, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing, shoe shining service and REN toiletries. Hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant, offering delicious modern menus and Afternoon Tea and bar a with a AA notable wine list - both serving 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, the Philharmonic Hall, two Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2014 Silver winner for VistEngland Best hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.