We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great hotel, top week-end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Street Hotel to your Saves list
Hope Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay longer and save!
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great service, great hotel, top week-end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Really nice and chic boutique hotel, service couldn't be friendlier or more professional. We were updgraded to a suite without asking which we really appreciated. Really nice breakfast, one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Highly recomended (and we loved Liverpool - great lunch at The Monro).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear MarkandCat,

Thank you for you for your fabulous review and a full five! So glad you enjoyed the city, come back this summer, there is so much going on, visitliverpool.com. Best wishes, Mary C CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    274
    95
    49
    17
See reviews for
135
568
47
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Had the pleasure of a beautiful suite here. Beautiful, simple interiors luxuriously fitted with B&O TV's and Bose Ipod docks. The highlight of the room was the freestanding wooden bath on the mezzanine bathroom level. We also had dinner in the linked London Carriage Works and the food was very good and the atmosphere fairly lively given it was a January excursion. Staff are fantastic and a credit to the hotel.

Hope to return to the Hotel sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Suite 406 is the room to have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear daniel_dearostegui,

Thank you so much for your fab review, I know we shouldn't have favourites but dear 406 is a lovely room. You are quite right, our staff are fantastic and they will all get a hug! Best wishes, Mary C CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful hotel with an eclectic mix of original features and modern chic comfort. Staff are very helpful and rooms are beautiful. Well worth a stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear SouthportSunshineKid, Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you get our urbane design. Hope you travel south again one day. Best wishes Mary C, CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

A pleasure to stay here. Lovely, spotless rooms. Very friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast. Can't fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view so request that if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Denise_Manchester, Thank you for using four of our favourite words; pleasure, lovely, friendly and wonderful!! Come back along the M62 anytime! Best wishes, Mary C, CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very nice staff - although young kids...I saw somebody waiting while the two girls were chatting in the lounge/surfing on phones.

Great rooms, great bathroom. Very clean. I would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Craetive Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Mark_from_Brussels, Thank you for your reveiw, we do not recognise the kid surfers!! Please email us so we can clear up a mystery!! Happy New Year and best wishes MC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at hotel last Tuesday 27th Dec and I proposed to my now fiancée in one of the rooms overlooking the Liverpool nightime skyline!

It's hard to pick out one thing so I'll mention several. Prior to booking I spoke to Katy on the phone at reception and she was very helpful on choosing a room with a great view and helping out with preparations for our 12 week old daughter (cot for the baby and tray service for our meal). All the other staff we dealt with during our stay were incredibly polite and considerate.

I was recommended suite 503 for the views and it was perfect for my needs. I chose Liverpool because we met there 8 years ago. The floor to ceiling windows gave a stunning vista to get down on one knee and do the deed and it was absolutely perfect! Also, it was very quiet in our part of the hotel with limited foot traffic as we were in an out or the way place.

The food that we had to the room from the London Carriage Works was really good. We enjoyed every mouthful and the veggie option was well thought out to. Breakfast was fantastic, probably the best we’ve had. Again the veggie option was well thought out and didn’t feel neglected or inferior in any way.

We didn't leave the hotel and look around because we know the area but for others it is really close to town, in addtition to the adjoing hotel restaurant there are several other nice restaurants on Hope street if you're there for a few days (Ego and 60 Hope St). It's also smack bang in the middle of the two impressive cathedrals that Liverpool boasts!

So, all in all it was a fantastic stay with a successful proposal! The hotel made my fiancee and I feel very special. I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Suite 503 has floor to ceiling windows which give great views over the city skyline. It is really sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Sidneysideboard,

Congratulations!! How fabulous for you both and we all look forward to your anniversary return!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write so much and what a great boost for the team at the start of the year! Happy New Year to you both, best wishes Mary CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hope Street Hotel in December and had a most wonderful welcome from all the of the staff there. Nothing was too much trouble and Carly from the hotel went to great lengths to ensure that we had a super room with great views, we couldn't have asked for more. We stayed for dinner which was superb and just added to the enjoyment of our stay. It was a special time for us and all of the staff made it feel more like staying with friends than being in a hotel. If you want corporate you won't find it here, what you will find is genuinely kind and helpful staff who are extremely pleasant and friendly. They all went out of their way to make sure that everything was to our liking. We are definately going back to this wonderful place. The room and views were superb and everywhere in the hotel was warm, spotless and welcoming. If you want style, comfort and chic this is the place for you. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Dororthy Wrexham, Happy New Year to you both! Thank you for your lovely boost to our new year and I promise we have all given Clare a well done hug! Best wishes, MC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#3 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#7 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 individually designed hotel rooms, solid wood floors warmed by under floor heating and king sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton. Wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs, DVD players and Arne Jacobsen telephones, along with complimentary wi-fi access in every room. Rain dance showerheads the size of dinner plates and Vola fittings complement timeless bathrooms that also include huge soft towels, mist free mirrors and REN products.Views include the river, a world heritage skyline, the cathedrals, traditional Hope Place and Hope Street. Picture windows and skylights capture some of the stunning architecture that fills this part of the city and surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.