We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room, no hair dryer and expensive rates! Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand to your Saves list
Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, Liverpool L2 0PP, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Smelly room, no hair dryer and expensive rates! Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times and this was the last time.
We booked it in advance, almost 3 months before, for last days in November 2014.
It was not cheap - 3 nights we spend 250£ (or maybe more).
We came to see LFC on Anfield, being excited.
Room was horrible - all smelling badly with some detergents - we had to open our window even during the night.
We have arrived around 21:00 and straight I asked about the hairdryer, as in the room was none.
They finished hair dryers.
The next day I asked twice, and they finished them as well.
I went to ANFIELD, outside with rain with WET and HORRIBLE looking hair.
Finally I got the hair dryer at Sunday night, less then 12h before checking-out.
There is no soap, we found just 1 towel.
How come that in the hotel there are no hair dryers???
SHAME!
Smelly room, bad and rude staff, high prices and no hair dryer in the bathroom - we will never come back.
We will be in Liverpool soon, but we already booked another hotel.
That's how you treat the loyal customers.
Disgrace!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    127
    52
    21
    22
See reviews for
54
161
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here a couple of times now, this time for attending a gig at the Echo Arena. When we arrived, we decided to get a shower before going out for drinks, the shower head was faulty and water splashed out all over the floor to form a massive pool. This was reported to the reception who asked if we could manage until we left, which we said we could but it would've been nice had someone checked and possibly fixed it or to be offered a room swap, but we didn't let it ruin our stay, we had a great night at the gig and a great nights sleep afterwards. It was a bargain at £36 so we can't really complain, as you get what you pay for with Travelodge. We'll definitely come back and stay again due to the convenient location to everything.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed here many times with my boyfriend or with my friends, it's perfect. The location is perfect, it's only a ten minute walk from the Train Station and also has a carpark right next to it. It's minutes away from Liverpool One Shopping Centre and the Albert Dock. Mathew Street isn't too far away either, like I said, good location. The staff at this hotel are always friendly and welcoming. The rooms are always clean and very tidy. The beds are pretty comfortable and it's usually a decent night sleep. It's a bonus also having a Tesco Express below the hotel. I can't complain about this hotel, it's always been perfect.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Can't complain much about travelodge as you know what you're getting for the price but the staff in this hotel were extremely rude and we also had a full cup of tea and an old newspaper in our room when we arrived

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your review. It is important to us that our staff are providing a fantastic service to our customers and we pride ourselves on ensuring that every one of our rooms is of the best standard. Your feedback helps us to improve the hotel and our service. We do hope to see you again soon at another Travelodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here just after Xmas for long weekend. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful when we checked in. A light bulb was not working in the bathroom and was replaced the same day whilst we were out.

We travelled by train and walked to the hotel as it did say it was within walking distance but really a taxi would be a lot easier especially as we were not really sure at times if we were walking in the right direction.

We stayed in Room 402 which overlooked the Albert Docks and had a lovely view. Like other people have said the hotel is based close to shops, bars and restaurants. We ate at Bills Restaurant and also the Pump House which is over the road from the hotel leading to the Dock area.
The room was very clean the bed very comfortable and we experienced no noise at night with returning guests. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Albert Docks 4th floor or higher for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are visiting the wonderful City of Liverpool it would be hard to find a better location than here. As you can see from the photograph the view from our room was wonderful. Night and Day. If You are booking in then i strongly suggest book the Breakfast. Its not overly expensive but the quality was excellent and it truly is eat as much as you wish. If I had a complaint there are two, first its really difficult to find your hotel from the suggested Car Parking. I would suggest park on level three next to the Wheelchair hire office. Through the external door and your almost there. Secondly I'm afraid I do not recommend the evening meal. Apparently cooked in a microwave by the wonderful Reception staff. On this point the staff are wonderful, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble with them. A true credit to Tavelodge. I truly recommend this Hotel and I WILL be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room. Wonderful views of Albert Dock and the Mersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the hotel location is brilliant for all the sights and right in the heart of liverpool. the room was nice, clean and adequate for our stay. the staff were friendly and polite. the breakfast...omg the breakfast was dire!!!" hard ,semi cold sausages and bacon ( i think it was bacon). semi cold beans that had been hanging around since christmas and the scrambled eggs, well i think they came from another planet, never tasted anything quite so wrong in my life. the fresh orange was water with a hint of cordial, the bread was rock hard even before it got near the toaster,i have never ever experienced a breakfast like it. i know i paid cheap budget price for the hoteal and i know the room was fine but for the love of god and all things holy , get a new chef or a new system for breakfast..totally ruined my morning as i had been dreaming of it all night (sad) , shame

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand

Address: The Strand, Liverpool L2 0PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.