We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park cafe with the most delicious homemade cakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otter's Cafe - CLOSED

Otter's Cafe
Otterspool Adventure Centre | 37 Otterspool Drive, Liverpool, England
+44 151 494 3044
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great park cafe with the most delicious homemade cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place to go after walk along prom or visit to play area with kids. The homemade cakes are delicious and I have sampled quite a few. Good selection of coffees fruit teas and ice creams something for everyone. Only criticism would be the way you order at counter and then have to wait for table service to get drinks etc when its busy you can wait a while but its always worth the wait. Promised myself that I will be trying the scouse soon and recommend the lemon and blueberry cakes delicious.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool. UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great place for the Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visited here with my grandchildren and found it to be excellent very professional staff and management although the queuing up bit to order is not the best having said that food was quality and staff couldn't do enough so top marks to all very good afternoon out. Also the cakes are better than any in other such places.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“CAFE WITH A TWIST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were walking along Otterspool prom in Liverpool and saw a sign, for a cafe and activity centre further down the road.
As the weather was cold we thought we would go and have a look at this and get a warm drink.
What a great find, the place was clean tidy, a very good menu with lots of options, together with a good varied drinks list.
We ordered our coffee and within less than 5 mins it arrived in large cups piping hot.
All the staff were very pleasent and helpful.
Outside is the activity centre attached to the cafe, but as the weather was cold and a bit snowy, there was no-one using it, however asking one of the staff, they said that it is normally well used.
Great place not to miss if you like good food and drinks (soft).
Have been back several times and met up with friends there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Long wait”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Called in today to have a couple of coffees to warm up while the kids played in the snow. The cafe was not busy, about a third of the tables occupied. After a minute or two waiting to order ( no problem there ) paid 5 pounds for 2 lattes and was told there was a small wait so to take a seat and the drinks would be brought over. 15 minutes later my wife went up to the counter where our coffees were sat cooling nicely. So 5 pounds for 2 cold lattes is not my idea of value and the service was terrible. Will not be going back there again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterscafe, Manager at Otter's Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Customer,

We apologise for the coffees not being brought over to you promptly, and the fact that they were cold. If you had brought this to our attention on the day, our staff would have gladly made you fresh coffees or given you a refund if you were not satisfied. On the 19th of January it had been snowing and two of our staff could not make it into work, therefore we were short staffed.

It is no excuse however, once again we apologise, and we hope to see you again one day at Otters Cafe.

The manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for a 'park cafe'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Otters is one of those places that will, almost undoubtedly, be 'better than you expected'.
The system of queueing to order and pay for your food isn't ideal, and queues often stretch out of the door, but there is table service following that.
There is a good range of food and prices offer good value.
Cakes are homemade as are a lot (if not all) of the main meals including a really good Scouse.
The staff work really hard, tables are kept clean and cleared. The place itself is light and airy, with great views over the river.
As others have said; as it is partially an adventure centre, it can be noisy and full of mucky kids and teenagers. I prefer to think of this as giving it a buzz! After all, you wouldn't go there for a romatic candle-lit dinner for two!
Overall, this is a much-needed, independently owned establishment doing its own thing and a better place to spend your hard-earned cash than the dreary Harvester just up the road.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter's Cafe also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otter's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.