We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Star Restaurant

New Star Restaurant
149 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 4JR, England
0151 708 8882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 1,041 restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Recently visited the New Star and had the early Diner option. Priced at £11.90 it is excellent value for money. The food was excellent, as was the service, I would recommend this restaurant very highly, give it a try if you are in Liverpool city centre.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    30
    9
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food in basic surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We attended this restaurant for a staff night out and our hosts could not have been any more friendly or accomodating. They offer an "early bird" menu which is excellent value for money at just £11 per person (if you order before 7pm) and we decided to order a wide range of dishes from this menu and all dig in!!

We were given two large tables with "lazy susan" spinners and the food was tasty, fresh and piping hot, served at a nice pace to allow time to digest, chat and drink in between courses!

The starters were fantastic, the ribs were particularly nice! The main courses were also superb and plenty of them!

I would recommend this restaurant if visiting the city. It may not have the interior splendour of some chinese restaurants in Liverpool, but it certainly makes up for this with the quality of food served.

Thanks for a great night!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“fresh food cooked well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

have been to many chinese restaurants in liverpool, some vastly over rated but this one is excellent.
friendly staff, authentic food (many chinese people eat there)
can highly recomend

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb....Again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have been to this restaurant 4 or 5 times now and its been superb everytime.

Food isnt expensive and its up there with the best chinese food i have ever had!!

Couldnt recommend this highly enough

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“top quality reliability; no fancy stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We look forward to visiting the New Star in Duke Street, Liverpool, from our home in north Wales. It is the same as it has always been, down to the maroon tablecloths. We order spare ribs in sticky sauce to begin with along with spring rolls. Main course is duck; if we are hungrey we have the half duck Peking style with pancakes and green cucumber and spring onion. It is stripped at the table and left in a quantity. It is delicious. Perhaps the only fault is leaving the pancakes on a plate instead of serving them in a wooden steamer.. Puddings are apples in toffee; the toffee crisp. You have warm water finger bowls and wipe-ups. Total cost for 2; £31.00. Where can you get better value than that? If it's your birthday, they bring a delicioous light cake to your table complete with lit candles and a burst of Happy Birthday over the looudspeakers. Most of the front-of-house is done by a brother and two sisters; and they are charming. If there is no parking space in front, then park in the public covered car park in the next side street up on the left; £3.00 for two hours. Before 7.30 it is quiet with say five tables taken out of about 30; locals are there regularly. Closes normally around 11.30pm.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Star Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to New Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Star Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.