We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain, for what we wanted.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Anfield to your Saves list
Hotel Anfield
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Anfield Road, Liverpool L4 0TE, England (Anfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 69 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bargain, for what we wanted.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very friendly staff, Debbie cant do enough for you. Room was very clean and comfortable, we booked the quad room (4 single beds), the only down side was had to share a bathroom, which wasnt good in the morning as was busy.

Overall we had a good nights stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    23
    7
    10
    40
See reviews for
30
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel styles itself as a boutique but it is not quite there yet. The welcome was friendly and we were upgraded to their best room on arrival, which was a nice touch.

The room was nice but the hotel has only been open a little while and it just didn't feel finished. One of the blinds in our room was broken, the cornicing on the ceiling wasn't complete, the towel rail only held a hand towel and it broke (sending the towel into the bath!), there was no mirror above the basin which made it difficult for my husband to shave and various light bulbs weren't working.

We had originally booked a family room but, with the upgrade, there was only a double bed in the room and we were told a camp bed would be put up for our daughter. This wasn't done and we had to go and chase it up. Another guest was then roped into carrying the camp bed up to our room, which I didn't really think was acceptable, and then we had to chase again for a duvet and pillow case. My daughter also wasn't given a towel but, by this time, we'd rather given up!

Our room was not serviced and so our towels were wet (there was nowhere to hang them), our used coffee cups were left beside the bed, the bins weren't emptied and the tea/coffee sachets not refilled. The room was also a bit dusty. We needed a new sheet and when I asked for one, I was literally given the sheet and had to remake the bed myself.

My mother and father-in-law were also staying and their room did not have a blind over the skylight, which meant they were awake at 5.30 am! The breakfast was billed as a 'get your own' but it was very low-fi, just cereal and toast (sliced bread, not fresh) with different tables competing for the only milk jug. The butter also looked a bit grim.

Debbie worked very hard but the one member of staff is just clearly not enough. This place has lots of potential, the welcome is friendly and the gardens are lovely but, to really get to where it should be (and what it's billed as), the owner either needs to employ more staff, or get servicing those rooms himself!!

The sign outside says '100% customer satisfaction rating'. This is clearly aspirational, rather than reality.

Room Tip: Room 23 is nice but make sure they have fixed all the lightbulbs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend in Liverpool and staying in Hotel Annfield made it for us! Warren and Kelly could not do enough for us girlies on a hen weekend and will now be looking for an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night when we went to watch a game at Anfield.

Positives:
1. The owners were friendly.
2. It is literally a one-minute walk to Anfield.

Negatives:
1. We had booked a family room, but because of over booking, we were put in a smaller room and no mention was made of a refund of the difference.
2. The skylight in the room had no blind on it so at 5am in the summer, the room is full of light - not much good if you are a light sleeper. We did ask that something be done about this, but nothing happened.
3. The bathroom (toilet in particular) hadn't been well cleaned.
4. The blinds in the bathroom were broken so that the whole Anfield Rd could see you in the buff!
5. Breakfast was terrible - the worst I've ever had in a hotel. For £99 per night, I expected a nice continental breakfast. Instead we got cheap white bread (only heals wree left) and imitation Frosties. When we came down for breakfast, the tables were littered with dishes.
6. The price - I wouldn't have cared about points 1-5 above, if the room had been £40, but it was £99.

This hotel's website portrays it as a boutique hotel. It is anything but - it is simply the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. At least Liverpool won!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had the most amazing time topped of with warren and Kelly looking after us so well, would defo recommend this for a stay, gorgeous rooms and garden, so helpful and made us very welcome even when we were drunken bums, defo be back ;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were an all female group - mixed ages.
We were unanimous in considering our stay was not good value and found some aspects unsettling and unprofessional.
The rooms were not serviced during our stay. The dining experience was embarassing - continental breakfast amounted to find it yourself cereals and a small fridge containing among other things a selection of grubby looking, virtually empty jam pots. We were served (it was friendly) with a pile of bacon bagels, no condiments (bottle of ketchup on request) cutlery in the drawer..... A hot urn for instant tea and coffee.
There was no hotel register (we were asked to provide a list of our group as an after thought on the 1st morning) and we were requested to pay our bill in cash up front and then again half way through our stay - we declined.
There was an alarm incessantly bleeping which we were assured mean't that the alarm was working - we were not reassured by this. The normal health and safety requirements of a hotel were conspicuous by their absence.
Views on decor etc are subjective - to us it did resemble a brothel with a bar area complete with a pole for a certain type of dancing. Two of the 3 rooms we were allocatted contained 3 double beds which we were to share and the other room appeared to be a bridal suite.........

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here . The purpose of the trip was so visit Anfield and do some shopping in Liverpool. Excellent choice of place to stay. Debbie the hostess was superb and my children loved her calling them babes especially the boys. Would love to come back some day and see the mighty Pool play so would definately stay here again . Thanks for everything . The Gibsons from N.Ireland

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Anfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anfield

Address: 23 Anfield Road, Liverpool L4 0TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Anfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anfield 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Anfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.