We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarin Served Meat” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spiceways

Spiceways
218-220 Childwall Road, Liverpool L15 6UY, England
0151 738 1596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 1,157 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Vegetarin Served Meat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Have been going there for a while and was always good food and service. However, on last visit ordered our normal vegetarian curries and when eating it found we had been given a meat version which my wife started to chew on. Apologetic and changed right away but when bill came ther was no gesture for the mistake as the dining experience had been ruined, even the owner dissapeared when we left, not going back there ever again as very dissapointed and for a vegetarin to eat meat, it's not good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    31
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Food is lovely,ambience just right, really attentive waiting staff. Best restaurant in Childwall - and I'm sure could compete with any in Liverpool. Don't hesitate if you like Indian food. They have their own parking which is important as it's busy round there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service not as expected ..infact abusive ..but food great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lovely food ... But why would you want to pay £3.85 per pint ....we ordered our starters and main meal and drinks and asked for dry bottle of wine to be served with our main course... It never turned up even though we reminded the waiter when our main course arrived .... Asked for bill when it arrived queried price of beer and was told not to complain as we were served premium beer ... 2 pints kingfisher 1 pint carling £12 80!!!!! Then asked why did we not get bottle of wine as ordered was told sorry we forgot we are busy ...and that was it....but cannot knock food it was lovely ....just the customer service let it down. Shame really cos only live 5 mins away and met owner in another restaurant and he told us to call in and would not be unhappy with food maybe he should question front of staff loosing him customers because food would not it was lovely

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Already a local stalwart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I are regular visitors both dine in and takeaway, menu is varied, staff are friendly and second to me, always remember you, great service, great food, nothing more to be said!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent service all round. Nicely decorated restaurant with a varied and impressive menu. Had 1 course and the main meals eaten were excellent and the produce tatsed very fresh. Prices are reasonable and it was our first visit and we will be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiceways also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Spiceways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiceways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.