We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chinese food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Jade Restaurant

Lady Jade Restaurant
19 St Oswalds Street | Old Swan, Liverpool L13 5SA, England
0151 228 6888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,157 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I lived in Liverpool for many years and sometimes visit friends still living in the city. We normally go for a Chinese meal and usually visit a certain restaurant in Chinatown. On this occasion that restaurant was closed so we consulted trip advisor and chose the Lady Jade.

What a great choice. The restaurant is small and friendly and appears to be family run with a chef who really cares about his cooking. The food was reasonably priced and definitely the best Chinese food I've had in Liverpool. The service was great too. No doubt that we'll be going back on my next visit to Liverpool.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    8
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leyland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cracking local Chinese. Deserved of position as best Chinese in Liverpool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Really glad this place is best Chinese in Liverpool. It gives places like Ma Bo, Yang Sing (Manchester) and other established famous Chinatown restaurants a run for their money.
Restaurant is in most unlikely place in middle of Old Swan, a fairly run down outskirt of Liverpool. We parked across road on Tesco car park.
Arrive 30 mins early to a locked front door. 'Please ring buzzer' said the sign. A few minutes later a young lady came to door and let us in. An older lady and a young girl wait on so I presume this is a security issue to stop people running in and out and robbing the till. (Lots of areas of Liverpool would suffer similarly by the way!)
A really small and dark restaurant. Presume chef/s are Chinese but waitresses are white British (well Scouse anyway! I can get away with this as the missus hails from nearby Norris Green and we have family around the corner!) Over course of evening loads of people were turned away which is always a good sign I think.
Food came out and was superb.Prawn crackers and chilli and sweet and sour dips first, were complimentary. Hot and Sour soup was hot and sour and full of shredded duck, char siu, and chicken.
Ribs were fab. Prawn toasts were brill, stuffed with a prawn mixture not like the ones from Tesco! Too many so we brought most of them home in a box.
Waitress seeing we were stuffed asked if we wanted a short break which was dead sensible and a nice perceptive touch.
Main course of sweet and sour chicken and special fried rice was superb and portions not too overfacing. We couldn't face pudding and with 4 halves of lager, the bill came to £37 which we thought really good value. With hindsight we should have had the £15 banquet but would definitely not eaten it all.
Place full of regulars and older people. Chatted to lovely young waitress afterwards who was, quite rightly, proud, of their position on Trip Advisor. She said old couple next to us had same thing every week. She also said Trip Advisor had meant lots of foreign visitors making the (pilgrimage?) to Old Swan. Lots of regular locals in too. Again a good sign.
Yeah, menu was an anglicised one and place is cramped and dark with the obligatory tropical fish tank but hey, its not pretentious or pretending to be authentic Chinese. It really does deserve its position and the big boys in town need to take note.
Well done Lady Jade and thank you for a lovely meal and evening in Old Swan!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlady, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We went because if the series of excellent Trip Advisor reviews. It is a 10 min (£8.00) taxi ride from the centre of Liverpool. The food is divine and the service terrific. Kindo Ribs the best I have eaten! Couldn't recommend more highly

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great restaurant. Small but good food and a friendly face. never di”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

you won't be disappointed with the food or the service.
so close to home the restaurant provides a friendly atmosphere.
dress up or down, you'll enjoy the whole experience.
Food is fabulous and hot. never disappointed. tried most of the menu, it's all yummy.
Waitress, Lyn, is very intuitive. she'll advise accordingly.

Been as a couple and on special occasions.
will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Chinese restaurant ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I go to this restaurant regularly. It's absolutely fabulous. Food is very reasonable. service is fast and very very helpful and they cater for people's needs and likes. The prawn toast is out of this world seeing and tasting is believing. Why go to town when this restaurant is on my doorstep. Wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Jade Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Lady Jade Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Jade Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.