We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need more than one visit .... fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Liverpool

Museum of Liverpool
Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1DG, England
0151 478 4545
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 290 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The stunning new Museum of Liverpool is the world’s first national museum devoted to the history of a regional city, demonstrating Liverpool’s unique contribution to the world. This fantastic, free family day includes the stage where John Lennon and Paul McCartney first met, Ben Johnson’s Liverpool Cityscape, a life-size Liverbird, the first Ford Anglia from Ford’s Halewood production line and Chris Boardman’s famous Lotus sport bike. Don’t miss the 360º immersive films about football and The Beatles! Notes to editors: Major funders include the Northwest Regional Development Agency (NWDA), the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) and the Department of Culture Media and Sport (DCMS).The European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) is making a real difference to people and businesses in the Northwest. With €755 million to invest between 2007 and 2013, ERDF is enhancing the competitiveness of the region’s economy by supporting growth in enterprise and employment. ERDF in the Northwest is managed by the Northwest Regional Development Agency (NWDA).
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“You need more than one visit .... fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a new museum full of variety and interest. The grandsons were captivated by many aspects of the displays and the section of the old overhead railway was great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,270
    586
    135
    41
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham uk
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Another great free museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Again, as in the other museums, we could have spent much longer here than time permitted. Excellent displays and exhibits telling the story of this marvellous city, very hands on and impressive signed information films!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good fun :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Enjoyed ourselves in this museum. Had a good laugh at the school kids singing 'yellow submarine' by The Beatles, at the top of their voices. Would recommend this museum :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great museum, AVOID the cafe!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Museum was brilliant, great attractions things to do for the kids, the museum was brilliant and perfect. Decently recommend to anyone. But after spending 2 hours with a child we decided to go to the water front cafe situated inside the museum is terrible, firstly it's over priced, I order 2 bowels of chips for me and my partner and a kids snack pack, they had no sandwiches left, although the lady kindly made a cheese batch to go into the box. When we sat down the lady came out with order number nine, we were order number eight, so with that in mind, two bowls of chips wouldn't take long. We must of waited 10 minutes before I got up and asked where our order is. Five minutes later our chips came, my little sister had already ate all her snack box so she was sat their bored whist me and my partner ate our chips... The chips were extremely hot, but not cooked. Certainly won't be eating there again. Better service at a McDonald's.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Museum of Liverpool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This new museum replaced the Museum of Life. Well set out with plenty of interactive items for younger children including dressing up. Nostalgic trip for parents and informative for children. Within walking distance of the Albert dock and Liverpool 1. An enjoyable day had by all

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Liverpool also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Museum of Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.