We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIBA walking tour, Gateway to the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RIBA Liverpool City Tours

RIBA Liverpool City Tours
The Equator, Mann Island, Liverpool, England
+44 (0)151 707 0729
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 129 Activities in Liverpool
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: RIBA Liverpool City Tours tell the story of Liverpool past, present and future through the buildings and public spaces that make up the city. RIBA guides will lead a walking tour that puts the spotlight on key buildings and spaces that form part of the contemporary city landscape, its characters, its commerce and its culture. We offer two tours: 'Gateway to the World' (Sundays and Wednesdays) and 'City of Culture, Learning and Faiths' (Saturdays).
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“RIBA walking tour, Gateway to the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just completed this fascinating tour with Anne, our guide. The two-hour tour took in the historic buildings from the 19th and 20th centuries and concluded with the most modern. We learnt a lot about Liverpool's commercial and maritime history. Anne was a super guide, very personable and full of knowledge about this city. We would not have learnt anything like as much on our own. Highly recommend this tour although allow time to find the meeting point as it is not that obvious.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gateway to the world tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had the pleasure of attending a Gateway to the World tour hosted by Pat.....I have been on quite a few walking tours over the years and this was up there with the very best. Tour lasted slightly longer than 2 hours and the Tour Guide passion and knowledge was very evident. I grew to appreciate the rich heritage of Liverpool (given I come from Manchester this was some achievement).

Tour cost 7.50 and was excellent value.....went inside several building Port of Liverpool, Cunard, Town Hall, Martins Bank which were all very impressive......would recommend, wrap if inclement weather forecast

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTSMOUTH ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a couple of days in Liverpool so went on RIBA city tours. Brilliant way to see the city and you can hop on and hop off at the places you want to see. The tour guides on the buses were fabulous and so entertaining.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The highlight of our weekend, Yeah Yeah Yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My sisters and I booked to go on the Saturday walking tour; with some misgivings due to the greyness of the weather, we pitched up somewhat late at the steps of the Catholic cathedral, and Doreen and Dave were there waiting for us. The next couple of hours were a magical experience, that transformed the Liverpool of my imagination from a dreary northern city into a place full of historical and archeological interest.
Liverpool should be proud of you, Doreen and Dave, for doing such a grand job! The finale of the Anglican cathedral (and its cafe) just topped the lot.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended Tour with Very Knowledgeable Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This tour took place on the wettest afternoon of the year in Liverpool, with just myself and a friend and the volunteer guide. Despite the weather conditions, it was a highlight of our week, with such an interesting, knowledgeable and friendly guide to take us around and inside many amazing buildings. We learned so much and were greatly impressed with both the historical context and the achievements of Liverpool in conserving and revitalising so much of the architectural heritage of the city.
I would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in more than the shops and usual tourist attractions on offer in this fine city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RIBA Liverpool City Tours also viewed

 

Been to RIBA Liverpool City Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIBA Liverpool City Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.