We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen

The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen
12 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4AA, England
0151 709 2401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 1,042 restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Decided to call in prior to heading back to the hotel for a night on the tiles and what a let down! Aesthetically pleasing on the eye and looks to be a better pub then restaurant. After we were seated we waited 10 mins to place our order, 10 mins to get our drinks and a further 20 mins for food!! Had we not been as hungry we would have left. Eventually the food came out. Homemade chips lovely and tasty but the rest was below average the 'hubslaw' was bland and the chicken tasted boiled?! Would not go back in a hurry.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Public Relations Manager at The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi there,

Sorry to hear that you weren't 100% happy with your recent visit The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen. I am surprised to read your comments regarding our food and I just wanted to reassure you that all of our food is prepared from fresh ingredients daily, and that the chicken is definitely not ‘boiled’’. It is a shame the food was not to your taste on your visit. We’d like to thank you again for your valued feedback.

Kind Regards,

Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    217
    229
    118
    48
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst club sandwich ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Sllow service, worst club sandwich ever cheap tasting,steak burger tasted microwaved dry and compressed in texture. Nice corned beef hash but small portion. Waiter gazed out of window when taking our order. Won't be returning to many good resturants in Liverpool to waste time and money on this one .

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Public Relations Manager at The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi There,

We are both surprised and sorry to hear that you’re most recent experience in The Hub was disappointing. We always strive to provide excellent customer service as well as tasty, good value, freshly cooked food in a relaxed atmosphere.

As a valued customer of The Hub Liverpool I would like to thank you for your comments. I was hoping you would contact me directly and provide me with more details of your visit so we can tackle any problems. Please email me on cat@bistroqui.com

Kind Regards

Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lovely restrauant, good atmosphere and reasonably priced. They have a wide range of food on the menu and a good drink selection too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times now. Nice and close to Liverpool One. Food is nice and doesn't break the bank. Good atmosphere in the afternoon, after shopping, and also good in the evening. Worth a try! We will come again anyway.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Its a very busy place so you need to book, but the food is very good, although its busy it has a great atmosphere, really enjoyed the wine and the pasta i had, would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.