We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ewins Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool l22 5PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ewins Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

On Saturday 16th Nov 2013 we held our wedding at the Royal. It was the most stress free wedding from start to finish. Firstly Steve Moore who organised the whole wedding, as we work away this was so helpful, and what a fantastic job he did,from the champagne reception,to the wedding table looking so beautiful with amazing flower arrangements and candles, it felt so romantic .THANK YOU so much Steve. The wedding breakfast meal was delicious superbly cooked by Gavin and his wonderful kitchen staff and expertly served by Jamie and Steve. We spent the whole day and evening at the hotel and had the most brilliant time, it was relaxing and fun and we felt very special as did our family members. Thank you also to Steve, Becky and Lisa on reception, Connor, Jake and Alex behind the bar who did a brill job, and all the Managers and staff, including the lovely ladies who keep the hotel and rooms absolutely spotless, you all make our visits to the hotel memorable. Would not stay anywhere else on our frequent visits to Liverpool and if anyone is looking for a perfect wedding venue look no further. THANK YOU ALL AGAIN FOR OUR SPECIAL DAY, see you in a couple of weeks.xxxx FABULOUS

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable, very clean with lovely en suites. Front facing rooms have lovely vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your review of The Royal Hotel. On behalf of everyone at the Hotel we would like to extend our best wishes on your Wedding and hope that we can continue to be of service and improve on our offering to you
Regards
Gordon
Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    71
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
82
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A good hotel which is very handy for the train into Liverpool. Very friendly and helpful staff and the restaurant was very good. Our room was recently refurbished and comfortable with a good view of the Mersey Estuary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review. Our location is often mentioned in trip advisor. Whilst we are not in the city centre, we do have excellent transport links for trains, buses and cars and we are only 15 minutes to the city centre, 5 minutes to the container docks and 15 minutes to the football stadia. Many guests enjoy our beach location for the peace and good night's sleep which in some city centre hotels, is hard to find
We hope to welcome you again to the Royal Hotel
Regards
Gordon Tartt
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We used to stay regularly at this hotel when visiting local relatives but this was our first return visit after a 7 year break and we were very pleased to see that the hotel was as good as ever. The staff were extremely friendly, the bar had a good atmosphere, rooms were comfortable and the food was very good. The central heating system was very efficient and kept the room lovely and warm during the cold stormy night that we stayed there. The hotel is well situated for trips in to Liverpool or Southport via the local railway line. We shall certainly stay again when we next visit the area as it was such good value.

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you found us consistent after 7 years. We are always trying to improve here at The Royal Hotel and we are constantly refurbishing, introducing new services and of course, listening to guests and improving where possible.
You can trust that we will maintain standards for the next 7 years.
Kind regards
Gordon
Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked this hotel purely because of proximity to the Dublin Ferry, wasn't expecting much, but it was such a pleasant surprise. Apparently its been a Hotel for ever, but, even though i'm an exiled Scouser, i had never heard of it. A lovely building, very friendly staff, and an excellent dinner, not a faffy menu, just good quality, well cooked food. We had a lovely, very clean room at the front, overlooking the Marina and sand dunes, the road in front is obviously a "rat run" for local traffic but it soon quietened down. 15 minutes away are the big boys of Liverpool, the Hiltons, Raddissons,Crowne Plazas etc etc. Even if i needed to be in town in future, i will stay here and drive or taxi in, well worth it. The icing on the cake was being able to tick off another must do on my bucket list, Anthony Gormley's 100 sculptures are an easy walk from the Hotel, absolutely amazing and a must see. 10 minutes drive to the Ferry Dock, easy peasy.We were in a bit of a rush in the morning but had a great breakfast, so refreshing to see the very simple brekky menu included a bacon butty, and boiled egg and soldiers! Perfect,all in all, a great find.

Room Tip: Lots to see at the front, the Mersey is some river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that it surprised you. You are right about the local rat run, it starts in the evening "rush hour", however, come early evening, it subsides to the odd car. We have double glazing which helps and when over, the silence is golden. We get many comments praising the otherwise peaceful location, especially when you can open a window and get fresh air, instead of city centre places where you get a mouthful of smog and noise throughout the night.
Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Royal Hotel. A good experience. Our room was clean and well presented with a comfortable bed. Staff were very cheerful and helpful, particularly the front desk. We did not eat supper in the hotel, but tea and cake was first class. Breakfast was very nicely done and the full English at the better end of VG.
The hotel is just opposite the Marine park and the sea front is only a 10 minute stroll away, where you can see Anthony Gormley's 'Another Place'. This consists of many full size cast iron figure copies of AG's body, buried in various ways in the beach. the figures are quite well spread out and look out to sea (something about immigration and looking to the future). Very atmospheric and well worth the trip to go and see. since the beach is right at the entrance of the Mersey, you can see ferries/ships passing fairly close by.

A good experience and the Royal is an affordable way of staying in Crosby.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back with the exhaust of the kitchen (not a problem) - a room at the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have frequently stopped off here for a meal on our way home from Southport, Formby and other West Lancashire locations. Both bar meals and restaurant meals have always been excellent. The restaurant menu is more extensive than the bar menu but both are good. I have never had a problem getting a table, in fact I think more people should know about the restaurant because it seldom seems very busy but it deserves to be. Young members of staff sometimes seem lacking in experience but are always friendly, polite and obliging. Our biggest disappointment recently was that they had run out of the Baileys and white chocolate dessert which is our favourite!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your kind review. We try our best to maintain and improve our standards where possible. I am sorry to hear there was no bailey's cheesecake left. The Bailey's cheesecake is made fresh for us by a local baker and unfortunately, when it's gone, it's gone! I hope that some of our other desserts tempted you
Kind regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Bar meals good, restaurant meals better! Drinks are too pricey at the bar and service tends to be on the slow side. The chairs in the restaurant area are too low! The standards here have been maintained for years as a hotel but just falls short of competing with dedicated 4 star restaurants. Always a safe, warm, friendly and comfortable environment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your review. Service can be slower when we are busy, we find that everyone seems to come at once at peak times. Our drinks prices are very cheap compared to other hotel prices. For example, a bottle of our castelbello house wine is £13.50 whereas, in a popular chain hotel beginning with the letter H, it is £24! If you compare our drinks with other restaurants and bars, they are very favourable and indeed cheaper. We conduct research into other places and have found ours to be comparable. If you just compare wines, do not compare the "brands" they serve in wetherspoons as these are lesser products. Also, we serve quality products and many local establishments serve "Cheapo" versions. You get what you pay for. With regards the chairs, we lowered the tables this year. I suppose a tall person would say they are too low.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool l22 5PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.