We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent food & great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool l22 5PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent food & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here on the 30th December as we were visiting relatives in Crosby.

So pleased we chose to stay here as the room (lodge attached to the hotel) was very comfortable.

It was very good value for money and the room was so warm and cosy when we arrived. It makes such a difference to walk into a nice warm room.

We had evening dinner in the restaurant which was very good, the sticky toffee pudding was to die for, it's worth going there just for that!

Breakfast on 31st was excellent. We both had full English and it was all very fresh, the sausages were lovely and none of it was greasy. The lady who served our tea/breakfast was very welcoming and attentitive, nothing was too much trouble for her. She was lovely.

This hotel is a credit to Crosby and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge attached to the hotel, very cosy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. All of our food is sourced locally where possible and is always cooked from fresh. By using local suppliers, we find that the quality is far better and above all, our suppliers work with us to maintain these standards. Oh and the sticky toffee pudding is from Cartmel in the lake district who hand make their puddings and according to many a top chef, are the best in the world, something my belly agrees with!
Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    65
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
75
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a wonderful Sunday lunch 1st class service staff were very good very polite nothing was to much trouble for them,I ordered a bottle of Chablis I could not believe it was only just over £10 a bottle unbelievable value,the beer was ice cold and so fresh, the lunch was fabulous,will be going back very soon, I would like to add the staff were all very young but so mature and polite, keep up the good work must have very good management

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We serve a sunday menu from 12 to 8pm every sunday and all produce is freshly prepared and cooked onsite. No ready meals here!
Thanks again
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed again at the Royal whilst visiting Liverpool. The hotel has been our first choice for several years, partly because of ease of access to the city via public transport. The staff were as usual pleasant and efficient , we had a nice seaview room and the usual good quality breakfast to see us on our way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for chosing the Royal Hotel once again for your stay in Liverpool. Whilst we are a 15 minute drive to the heart of the city, our suburban location does mean a good night's sleep and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel on your return to Liverpool
Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed one night at the Royal. Our room was clean and comfortable, a reasonable size with decent décor. The public areas were also clean and tidy with the age of the hotel adding some character and charm. Everyone of the staff were great with high levels of customer service delivered with friendliness and warmth. The only slight criticism was that the electric shower in the bathroom was not brilliant, this is a very minor grumble. We found it relatively easy to get in and out of the city centre with the railway station just a short walk around the corner. The city centre is only a 15 minute train journey, trains are frequent and a saver ticket for less that £4 lets you go backwards and forwards between the hotel and the centre as many times as you want all day. We did some shopping in the afternoon and came back to the hotel got changed went back to the centre in the evening. We had intended having an evening meal in the city centre, but everywhere was so busy with Christmas shoppers we decided to eat at the hotel bar. The bar was relaxing and comfortable. The hand pulled beer was well priced and enjoyable. The menu in the bar was reasonably priced standard pub grub and the quality was very good. When we returned from our night on the town it was great to get back to a hotel in a quiet area and have a peaceful undisturbed nights sleep. Certainly better than being in a busy city centre hotel with sleep being punctuated by sirens and drunken revelry throughout the night. The full English breakfast was very tasty indeed. After we checked out we went for a walk past the boating lake and along the sea front. This was itself an enjoyable addition to our short stay. A really nice beach with the addition of the Anthony Gormly 'another place' art installation, plus the interest of the big ships going in and out of the harbour. It was slightly surreal and not only for the life size statues on the beach, but also because of the contrast between the giant dock yards with the sprawling metropolis immediately to the south and the sand dunes, beach, sea and coastal path disappearing in to the distance to the North. All in all we are really pleased we stayed at the Royal and would certainly consider going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, very detailed and great to read we met your expectations.
I do hope to welcome you on your return
Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed one night in a double; had business in Waterloo. Staff pleasant and welcoming at reception, the bar and at breakfast. No lift. Excellent included breakfast. Plenty of parking. Free wifi. Everything was just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am please to hear everything was fine for you. It is worth noting that whilst we do not have a lift being Grade 2 listed, we do have a ground floor room available for people with walking difficulties and also offer assistance with luggage. Should people require this room, please request "The Lodge". We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed Friday and Saturday night at The Royal; a party of four, two couples all aged approximately sixty.

We chose The Royal because we wanted a weekend in Liverpool and this was a much better value option than places in the city centre. As stated in other reviews, there is an excellent train service which runs every fifteen minutes late into the evening. Also, there is the bonus of a seaside location and a short walk to the Anthony Gormley statues.

We were very pleased with the hotel. It was thriving and staff all seemed to enjoy their work. Rooms were comfortable - big enough and with bath and shower. We enjoyed breakfasts - some fresh fruit and good full English with choice of other cooked options.

Overall, good value for money and somewhere we would definitely be happy to stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

a very well kept clean and comfy hotel in the area of waterloo about 15 mins on train to center of liverpool we had a nice bedroom which seem to have been refurbed recently the staff from the reception to cleaners and breakfast staff were all very frendley and helpfull which is allways nice ,we had one of the best /tasty cooked breakfasts that we have had in along time in any hotel,we wood stay here again,the only downside was the realale in the bar was abbot ale wood be nice if they stocked alocal ale instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool l22 5PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.