We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock

Save Saved
You added ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wapping, Liverpool L18LY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF THIS SUMMER
Ranked #37 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Despite the friendly staff and the great location near the Albert Docks, I thought the hotel was disappointing and not good value for money.

The double room was very small, the carpet was stained, and it wasn't very warm (as it was snowing outside the heating was on but the room was still chilly). The en-suite was a large plastic cubicle inside the room, but unfortunately the slide-door was hanging off its hinges and didn't close properly. I was very surprised there was hardly anywhere to put clothes. A very small hanging area was enough for a coat and a few shirts, but there was no chest of drawers and the tiny shelves provided for clothes were too narrow to put a jumper on, for instance.

I was also disappointed that you can't have an iron and ironing board sent up to your room (as is the case at every other hotel I've stayed at). You have to leave a £10 deposit at reception for the right to obtain an iron for use in the ironing room. Presumably they have a lot of customers who steal things - which again is quite off-putting.

I ordered a sandwich late one evening (they have a 24 hour service for snacks like this), but since reception forgot to bring it up I had to go down and ask for it. The hotel shares a foyer and dining area / bar with the £25-a-night Formule 1 hostel which is attached. This seems to be used primarily by stag parties and football fans, so expect noise.

All in all, I was disappointed with the hotel. I wouldn't recommend it, and I wouldn't go back. I've stayed in other IBIS hotels that were much better than this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiverpool, Manager at ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 01517069800 or email me on h3140-am@accor.com. Kind regards, Paul Smith, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    324
    134
    42
    34
See reviews for
96
298
52
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed for 1 night in January. Easy to find, cheap cark park (£3 for the night and next day), excellent check-in, friendly and helpful staff, clean room. Gorgeous views. We paid a really cheap price so found this to be great value for money. Would visit Liverpool again as really great city and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiverpool, Manager at ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Paul Smith, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Comfortable and friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.
Drinks are a little expensive but no more than the city centre pubs.
Breakfast at first looked expensive, but eat as much as you like!
Handily located for Albert dock visitor centre.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiverpool, General Manager at ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I’m grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock and hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Lisa Thornborrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

a great hotel at an excellent price. Very comfortable ensuite room. A great location. Staff couldnt have been nicer. Very polite at all times and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Buffet style breakfast was fantastic value for money. So much to choose from. Hotel was within walking distance of all attractions. Will def be back here and will be recommending it to family and friends. First visit to Ibis but wont be last. Thank you to all the team for their help in making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiverpool, General Manager at ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Lisa Thornborrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton-on-tees
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

this will have been the fourth time i have stayed at this hotel either by myself or with my wife,it is close to liverpool1 shopsand just across the road from albert dock with its pubs and restaurants,the staff are great,the food and selection of drinks at the barare really good.i would highly recommend this hotel i certainly be back again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiverpool, General Manager at ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Lisa Thornborrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock

Address: 27 Wapping, Liverpool L18LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock Hotel is located 5 km from the airport and a 10 min walk from the city centre. With pubs, theatres, historic buildings, nightspots and the Everton FC and Liverpool FC stadia all within the immediate vicinity, the hotel is ideal for weekends as well as longer business or holiday stays. Offers 127 rooms including 5 for guests with limited mobility, a restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24hrs and secure outdoor parking. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Accor Liverpool City Centre
Hotel Ibis Liverpool
Ibis Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.