We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Aachen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aachen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aachen Hotel to your Saves list
Aachen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 91 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool L3 5TB, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Abingdon, Oxford
1 review
“Loved the Aachen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

I stayed at the Aachen hotel for two nights recently. What a great hotel! I found the atmosphere really relaxing and I was made to feel really welcome. The staff certainly went the "extra mile"; sorry if that sounds to cliche but it is true.

The location of the Aachen is great for trips into the lively centre of Liverpool. All the attractions are within a short walking distance but are far enough away so you can still relax.

I love my food and the breakfasts are certainly something to write home about. Would stay again if I ever re-visit Liverpool; which I am sure I will!

  • Liked — Brekfast and friendly staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    55
    15
    13
    7
See reviews for
18
40
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

We have just returned from our third stay at the Aachen, which was a pleasure. A warm easy atmosphere, home from home.
The resent refurb of the bar and reception is lovely.

We had tickets for the Liverpool V Reading game, about a ten minute taxi ride to Anfield, a short 5 min walk to the shops (plenty of them!), it is also 5 minuted to all the bars, if you are looking for a good night out.

If you ask the hotel will give you plenty advise to assist your stay, they are also very responsive by email.

The breakfasts are large with plenty of choice.

Our room came with flat screen TV, tea, coffee and biscuits, also clean towels everyday.

Will be going back again later this year

  • Liked — Staff & location
  • Disliked — Leaving to come home
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

Two adults and two children age 9 and 11 had a very good stay for 5 days at Aachen Hotel. The first floor family en suite room with an extra bed was very suitable for us. Excellent breakfast, both continental and English and additional food that is rarely offered in other smaller hotels. Good and friendly service from staff. Cleaning was good. Aachen is situated close to the city centre, only minutes to walk to shopping area, train stations and the cathedrals.

  • Liked — Breakfast, service and cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We ended up at the Aachen Hotel only because I couldnt find a place that would book three people to a room (i.,e. Premier Inns) and I am VERY glad we did. We absolutely loved the charm of this place. True there is no elevator, yes it is more of a B&B than a hotel and yes the bathroom was small........but I have absolutely no complaints about any of it. The hosts were friendly & helpful. I thought the decor was charming and the place was more than just clean. We had a full breakfast the next morning - and being used to American "breakfast included"...which is usually coffee, pastry or a bagel....this was great. It was a few minute walk from the Lime Street Station and walkable to most of the things we wanted to do. If I ever have the treat of getting back to Liverpool I wont look to book anywhere else.

  • Liked — The charm of the hotel
  • Disliked — Cant Think of a thing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

In some ways I might be seen as an awkward customer, because I am a vegan. However when the hotel were told, they contacted me to find out exactly what my requirements were; and when I arrived I found that they had purchased a number of vegan products - soya milk, margarine, rashers, chocolate dessert, yoghurt, cheese - which is the best selection I have ever come across at a non-vegetarian establishment. The staff were friendly and willing to have a joke with you, so overall I was really pleased.

There was also wireless internet that was easy to connect to, enabling me to do a bit of work as well. With it being so close to the venue I was visiting every day, the Aachen was ideal.

  • Liked — Their willingness to support vegans!
Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

I booked this hotel based upon 2 things. 1 I needed a hotel close to LIPA and 2 the reviews on this site. I have just spent one night at the hotel and the only thing I can say is that I am glad it was only one. I agree that the hotel is very clean. But that is about it. In reality this is not really a hotel but a B&B. The public areas, with the exception of the reception/bar area are very tired. I felt like I was in an episode of life on Mars, the decor is definitely straight from the 70s. I had a room on the top floor, to which there is no lift, the room itself was quite small, but the en suite was laughable. It was so small that if you went in forwards you had to back out. The shower was less than inviting, the washbasin was so small as to be next to useless, the loo didn't flush properly and the shaver point didn't work. After a poor nights sleep on an unbelievably hard bed I was looking forward to the wonderful breakfast talked about in the previous reviews. How disappointed I was, I was served coffee that was so strong and bitter it was undrinkable at a table that was set like a Blackpool guest house( I had never seen ketchup and brown sauce in vinegar bottles before). The service was akin to Fawlty towers and the food was dire. I left my meal, checked out and headed for a local greasy spoon where I Had a far superior full English for
£3. Would I return, never, was it worth £65 a night? I don't think so. My advice would be to spend an extra £20-£30 and book a real hotel

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

The Aachen hotel was located within 5 min walk from the Lime St train station. Easily accessible even with luggage.
The receptionist immediately recognized and called me by name when I walked in. Helped me with my luggage to my room.
Spacious, tastefully decoreated rooms. Wireless internet that worked. Outstanding cook-to-order breakfast; even remembered what I had the day before.
Excellent value for your money. Will return.
David Wong
Toronto

  • Liked — friendliness, value
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aachen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aachen Hotel

Address: 89 - 91 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool L3 5TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aachen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within a Grade 2 Georgian building, each room at the Aachen has every conceivable facility for the traveler: Flat Screen TV's with DVD player, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities, trouser press. Bar facilities are also available on the premises. We also offer free internet service. Your room rate will always include our Famous 'Eat As Much As You Like' Breakfast. Situated in the heart of the city centre, we are located within the university complex (Central Campus), and convenient for all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aachen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aachen Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aachen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.