We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the dolby hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Dolby Hotel Liverpool to your Saves list
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36-42 Chaloner Street | Queens dock, Liverpool L3 4DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“the dolby hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

had a 3 day break and stayed here, was very clean and staff all very friendly, nothing was too much trouble and every thing was there, you didn't have too ask, they explained it all to you was well worth the money for a short non expensive stay.

Room Tip: have a room over looking the dock, was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    204
    100
    22
    37
See reviews for
79
166
28
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stopped over at the Dolby for the LFC v Everton game. It was easily the cheapest available. We arrived early but were able to check in to our rooms even though it was 11:00 am. It is no luxury hotel but doesn't set out to be. Basic accommodation, clean and functional, view over the Queens Dock from the restaurant and bar. Reasonable bar prices which you don't find in many if any Liverpool Hotels. All in all we enjoyed our stay and will return when the need arises.

Room Tip: 221 overlooks the Queens Dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Staff friendly, food great value but we didn't sleep a wink due to a particularly noisy bunch of drunk kids in the rooms around us. We were kindly given a room at the back away from the stairs, but it wouldn't have made a difference where we were because there is nothing that drowns out the sound of 10 lads screaming Oasis at 12am or a lady who chose to consistently knock for 10 minutes on her friend's door at 4am shouting a request for her phone charger. Should've expected it really due to the close location to the centre and generally fair price, but won't stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Dolby Hotel last November. I phoned first to confirm that they had a river view room available which they did & then booked it over the internet. The two receptionists were very friendly & chatty and as promised we were given a room overlooking the river. The room was fairly small and basic but warm, with a comfy clean bed, TV, kettle, tea & coffee etc, towels and tiny but functional shower room. I even asked for an extra sheet as duvets are too hot for me and this was happily provided for me. The hotel was perfect for us for one night and I would have been quite happy to have stayed longer but had to get home later the next day.

We didn't eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food. They had a small bar/restaurant area behind reception which was on the river side and therefore had a river view. Presumably you could go outside on the decking but as we arrived at night didn't investigate this further.

Parking was free and when we checked out the next day we thought of walking into Liverpool for a few hours and the receptionists said we could leave our car in their car park if we wished.

So all in all quite an enjoyable experience at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Staff always very friendly!. I always stay in this hotel when I visit Liverpool as it is very convenient to city centre and rooms are very,very clean! the staff are all very friendly and food very reasonable !! I visit Liverpool About 6times a year and I would not stay in any other hotel !! I cannot praise the staff highly enough as they are always very co operative! The receptionists are always helpful in every aspect! A first class hotel at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Amazing weekend away for my 21st birthday. Staff were very friendly and able to make many recommendations. Close to the town centre. And for the girls that don't want to walk in heels, taxis to the centre were only £3! Rooms were clean and beds were very comfy. Hotel food was also well worth the money. Would happily visit again & recommend to anyone. :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have travelled the world and I have experienced the service of 7 stars hotels to Otels in Turkey. On my recent visit to Liverpool I stayed in the Dolby Hotel and I would like to inform any interested party that the hotel staff are truly some of best, the service was first class.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dolby Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Address: 36-42 Chaloner Street | Queens dock, Liverpool L3 4DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dolby Hotel Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Liverpool city centre then look no further. The Dolby Hotel Liverpool is situated on the waterfront in Liverpool’s city centre, giving you cheap hotel accommodation within reach of all the city’s major attractions.We offer free wi-fi and free parking to all our guests.If you are visiting Liverpool, and looking for a hotel that is less than a 10 minute walk from the city centre, Liverpool One, The Albert dock, and Liverpool’s Echo Arena & BT convention centre and that is quite close to Anfield and Goodison football stadiums and all Liverpool premier clubs and cafes, then you’ve found the perfect hotel.Whether your visit is for business, leisure or you are just here to watch your favourite team play, the Dolby Hotel Liverpool is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dolby Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolby Hotel Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.