We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Devonshire House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Devonshire House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 99 hotels in Liverpool
Bridport, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Visited on the 19th September. There was something quaintly quirky about this hotel without wishing to sound rude about it the exterior and an air of fading gentility about it. Must have been glorious in its day. It is about to go through major changes and the current main building is going to be demolished which I think is rather sad. I always read other reviews with interest and am always dismayed when reviewers are critical of a place when they have got a really cheap deal. You cannot expect 5 star luxury for the price of a low budget motel. So overall I think you get good value for money. The room was clean as was the bathroom. It is further out of the town centre than I expected but there is a bus stop just across the road and takes you to the shopping centre for £4.00 return. You also get to see a little more of the city. We got a cab back for £6.00 The staff were all very freindly and helpful and we enjoyed our two nights there. Breakfast quality could be a little higher. But again, for the money you can't judge too harshly. Would have given this 3.5 if it were possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Liverpool.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and found the hotel great value.

The team at the Devonshire House Hotel are delighted to be able to offer you a warm welcome and efficient service and we hope that you are able to return to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Liverpool for business or pleasure.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    134
    91
    60
    81
See reviews for
54
160
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding party here after our marriage in Greece and we simply cannot fault the Devonshire house hotel.

From start to finish we had no hassles at all. all staff were friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

Bill took the stress out of us planning the party and the room was spectacular, every single one of our guests commented on how amazing it was.

The way our buffet was served was perfect, plenty of food and it was really tasty and also out for a while so guests could go back for more.

The wedding in Greece was amazing and our party at the Devonshire house hotel topped off the best time of our lives.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks to all for making it the special night it was!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH1974, Director of Sales at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your wedding ; it was our pleasure to be able to look after you during your stay and form part of your celebrations.

I am pleased that we were able to offer you a warm and efficient welcome to the hotel.

We are very fortunate to have a great team of Chef’s lead by Ann, who create wonderful dishes and buffets for our guests to enjoy. Your kind words have been shared with the kitchen brigade I have also passed on your kind words to Bill.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Wamrest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

KGB deal for 2 nights b&b plus first evening 3 course meal. Whilst the room was clean and basic with the breakfast of an acceptable standard, I suggest that you avoid the meal as the standard was very poor, eat out rather than be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review after your recent stay.

I am sorry to read you were not impressed with the food element of you stay.

I have passed your comments on to the chef and he will review your comments with the team.

The KGB offer is exellent value for money at only £89.00 with 2 breakfast and 1 Evening meal for 2 nights for 2 people.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

wedding room fab staff excellent /food /hotel room/all we could we could have hoped for ,made our daughters wedding perfect, thank you all/ would advise any one to stay
; ;had people from Ireland and London who will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your daughters wedding and allowing us to form part of your celebrations.

I am pleased that your stay and that your bedroom was to your satisfaction.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I can assure you that all of the team members will be made aware of your comments as they serve as a great motivator.

Our team work hard to deliver high standards of hospitality at all time and I am pleased that on this occasion there was no exception.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our friends celebrated there Wedding here.
The hotel did a fantastic job, the Ceremony room & The Reception room looked absolutely amazing. Lots of effort had been made.
Unfortunately if you looked closely you could see that it's in need of some serious TLC. I went into one set of ladies toilets and 3 of the cubicles did not lock!
Staff were friendly & polite.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH1974, Guest Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone, we really do appreciate your time.

I am thrilled that you found the team members in all areas of the hotel to be professional and that looked after you during your friends functions.

I am sorry to read your feedback relating to the toilets thank you for bring this to our attention we have now rectified this issue.

My team and I hope that you are able to visit us again.


Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Situated just a few miles out of the centre past the Uni beside a filling station. Was unsure where the reception was as the conference / banqeting centre was infront of the hotel. Would not like to be having my wedding here :( the hotel is set in 80's & smells old between the residents lounge & top of stairs to rooms over 400, foosty.
Our room had a nice view, was a good size, had a decent shower over the bath, working small flatscreen tv & a wardrobe.
The window wouldn't close, the cold tap dribbles, the back gate which we were told was a handy shortcut was almost always locked & the wifi wasn't strong enough in room to work.
There was an evening meal of 3 courses included. The chicken soup was nice enough, the curry was fine & the baileys 'cheescake' was a choc mousse. The waiter was a bit cold & seemed pre occupied.
Breakfast was alright with a few cereals, grapefruit, juices, cooked breakfast, toast, value yogs & tea or instant coffee. Had hoped for fresh filtered coffee. The waitresses were both very nice & much happier as were the receptionists.
Handy enough by bus to get to but stayed at the Thistle Atlantic Tower 4yrs ago & they are worlds apart.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, and rest assured we will take on board you're observations on the hotel, with a view to improving other's experiences.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very good hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Good clean rooms and ideal for nights away from home. Good access to rooms via a lift. Plenty of parking space. Very good value for money. Would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH1974, Guest Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing this review following your stay with us.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you encountered a friendly and helpful service from all team members.

I am pleased that like many other guests, you found the location of the hotel to be suitable for your needs and I hope that you return to the hotel as a business or leisure guest soon.


Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 99 hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonshire House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.