We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for travelling workmen and footie fans” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Devonshire House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Devonshire House Hotel to your Saves list
Devonshire House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great for travelling workmen and footie fans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Being somewhat out of the main district of Liverpool I would suggest this hotel is more suitable for overnight stays for football fans coming to the local stadium, and for travelling workmen/contractors.

The positives - the grounds are beautiful and the gardener should be commended. The hotel itself (both public areas and private rooms) are well heated. Hot water is plentiful with great water pressure in the showers. Rooms are spacious with large windows, plenty of light and have large LCD tvs. Parking is plentiful.

The negatives - the food (evening meals) in the restaurant are truly awful. Breakfast is tolerable if you like mounds of tinned tomato with your full English fayre).

Yes, the hotel is in need of a makeover - but I could see past that. Its a vast place which will take an equally vast budget to overhaul its eighties decor. It is however clean, albeit the main foyer does have a constant smell of cabbage!

The staff, although pleasant, are however in dire need of training in basic customer service. You do get the impression they have "given up" and need managerial direction. No-one seems to wear a uniform either? Perhaps deemed old-fashioned, but it would certainly present a far more professional impression than the array of outfits the staff felt suitable (eg black satin blouses, cargo trousers etc).

We booked on a deal website, so did not pay the standard rack rate, but were gobsmacked to read what they were.

All I can say is go with an open mind! Some of the negatives will actually make you laugh rather than angry.

Wee tip.....bring your own soap and shampoo. Rooms are equipped with a squeezy multi purpose cleanser in a dispenser which is positioned high above the bath. Fine if you're having a shower.....not so ideal if you're actually having a bath as its way out of reach!

Nb Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are noisy. People tend to congregate at the front door right up to the wee small hours to smoke and talk. The noise from the constant chatter filters up to the rooms.

Please managers, realise that your staff are really your best assets. Invest in their training and you might entice people to come back again and again. Having read your responses to previous reviewers I totally disagree that you are "competitive" against the more modern, cheaper hotels in better locations within the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHouse, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your recent stay at the Devonshire House Hotel Liverpool, and also your review .

May I thank you for your time in making this review as without reviews from our customers we are unable to maintain, or improve our services to our guests.

On behalf of the Management and staff we hope to see you again soon at The Devonshire House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    149
    101
    65
    90
See reviews for
66
176
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Despite the faults, this was overall, not a bad experience; more of a "Fawlty Towers" experience.

Positives:
- Staff friendly and relatively helpful
- room spacious and spotlessly clean
- room and all public areas very warm (in very cold weather!)

Our issues with this hotel:

- We stayed here using an offer on KGB Deals, paying £99 for a 2-night stay, including dinner on the first night, and breakfast on both days. On arrival, we were supplied with a "KBG Dinner" menu (see photo), poorly presented and with an uninspired and uninspiring offering, and advised that we must tell the waitress at dinner, that we are KGB guests. On arrival in the restaurant, we were presented with menus, which were immediately withdrawn and replaced with the 2nd Class, KGB menu! Perhaps just paint our heads purple in future?

- Food quality: (My own selection):
Starter of Mushrooms - Frozen food, fried to death (rock hard crust).
Main Course - 1/2 Roast Chicken (a tantalising description!!!) - Cooked until dry and leathery, and served with frozen oven chips
Dessert: Chocolate Torte ordered arrives as a frozen, sponge-based, gelatinous Black-Forest circular monstrosity. My partner's strawberry cheesecake, was an identical circular "thing", gelatinous, and with the same sponge base. Iceland desserts?

Contrary to other reviews, breakfast was perfectly edible, although small and very uninspiring, comprising bacon (1 rasher), sausage (1), fried egg (1), beans, hash brown (1). Coffee was serve-yourself, and very poor quality.

The hotel itself, is very poorly located in an urban regeneration area, and a significant distance from town (much farther that the 1 mile suggested by the management!).

In summary, this could quite easily, be made into a lovely little hotel (despite its location), but is in desperate need of good management! The staff do their best, but in the absence of leadership, the law of entropy prevails, and chaos increases. Staff avoid "unnecessary" work (for example, our bed was left unmade, as my partner had thrown the duvet into position). Lack of a uniform has resulted in staff turning up for work in wholly unsuitable clothes. Staff are unsure of what's expected

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

I am sorry that on this occasion you did not have an enjoyable stay. Please accept my apologies for your disappointment.

I am sorry that your room was not in perfect condition and I can assure you that our Housekeeping team have been made aware of your comments. I am disappointed to receive your comments and I hope you accept my apologies.

I am disappointed to read your comments relating to our food offering at your event as we mainly receive positive feedback relating to the food our kitchen team offer. I can only apologise that this was not to your liking.

Our breakfast offering is prepared fresh daily and is replenished on an ongoing basis to ensure that our guests receive a high quality breakfast. I have shared your observations with our F & B Manager and she is reviewing her operation of breakfast service to ensure we do not receive this comment again.

We are in the hospitality industry to make our guests feel welcome and I am sorry that you felt on this occasion we failed you.

I do hope that you are able to stay with us again in the future and have a more positive stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel as we were attending a function there, on arrival very pleasant lady checked us in. Rooms are quite basic and to be honest could do with a makeover, quite functional though and very clean which is most important.
Function room was fantastic and food delicious, bar staff smart and efficient, very enjoyable evening.
Breakfast was enjoyable and as mentioned staff were efficient, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHouse, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone, we really do appreciate it.

We were delighted to welcome you to the hotel recently and I am thrilled that you found our service to be amazing and consistent throughout your time with us.

Our team work hard to deliver high standards of hospitality at all time and I am pleased that on this occasion there was no exception.

Our commitment to investing in our property will continue this year with renovations to our bedrooms, banquet and conference areas.

I really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Liverpool.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I did a conference here over a weekend. The rooms were large and pleasant. The restaurant had good food and a pleasant staff. Everyone was considerate and helpful all of the time. It is a big place so can be a little confusing at times trying to find a room. But, the grounds are kept neat and clean and it is easy to get a taxi into the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the central garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We really appreciate all your positive notes related to the type of service and experienced facilities provided to you during your stay at the Devonshire House Hotel Liverpool

I will pass all your positive comments to all concerned team members who will highly appreciate it so much.

I would like to personally thank you again for your honest feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at the devonshire. We have stayed there before and always find it to be very good. The food was good and very plentiful whilst the staff are friendly and make you feel very welcome. The hotel is clean and warm and we find it to be very well placed to tour about and see the city. We booked a double room and were surprised when we were given a family room with twin beds and a double be. It was room 108. We particularily asked for a double room so were disappointed when the double bed was placed between two walls with no bedside tables or bedside lamps. When the main light was off the room was pitch black and if you neeeded the bathroom in the night there was not a bedside lamp to put on so you would bump into a table situated at the bottom of the bed. We had to leave the bathroom light on all night so we could see to get to the bathroom in the night. There were bedside tables and night lamps at the other end of the room but that was twin bedded which we did not want. As the hotel was not fully booked we were disappointed that we did not receive the room that we booked. A simple double room NOT a family room. I would be interested in the managements reasons for putting us in a most unsuitable room.

Room Tip: The rooms are not noisy but the rooms at the front of the hotel look over the gardens which are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHouse, Director of Sales at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on this forum following your recent stay at the Devoinshire House Hotel Liverpool

We regret to learn that the room assigned did not meet your expectation and would like to extend our sincere apologies. Our Double Rooms can be any room allocation which includes a Double Bed and at times may either be a Family Room or a Quad Room.

All of us at the Devonshire House Hotel take pride in providing our Residents with the highest standard of hospitality. We truly appreciate your valuable comments in order that we may further improve our services and facilities.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to be of service to you in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Just got home from a one night stay at Devonshire House, we have stayed here before as its good value and only 5 mins in a taxi into town, staff very helpful, room wasn't ready on time but we were looked after by the staff so no complaints there, lovely clean beds, warm room and would deffo stay here again. Needs a bit if updating, especially outside needs touching up, lovely grounds, overall a good night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your recent stay at the Devonshire House Hotel Liverpool, and also your review .

May I thank you for your time in making this review as without reviews from our customers we are unable to maintain, or improve our services to our guests.

On behalf of the Management and staff we hope to see you again soon at The Devonshire House Hotel.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

second time here & its gone down from last year. room very tired,had to change room as it was freezing cold.breakfast was not help your self, still nice but no buffe & slow in getting toast.
not worth the £85 price tag.wont be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHouse, General Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your recent stay at the Devonshire House Hotel Liverpool, and also your review .

May I thank you for your time in making this review as without reviews from our customers we are unable to maintain, or improve our services to our guests.

On behalf of the Management and staff we hope to see you again soon at The Devonshire House Hotel.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonshire House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.