We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best for a true beatles fan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casbah Coffee Club

Casbah Coffee Club
8 Hayman's Green, Liverpool L12 7JG, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 290 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Holy Grail of The Beatles trail. The place where it truly all began for the greatest music phenomenon of the 20th century.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best for a true beatles fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The guide was the brother of pete best .his stories were factual and interesting. The casbah itself is great the atmosphere is so real. There is no problem taking photos there unlike the beatles homes. All in all the. Best thing I have found in liverpool and I have tried lol

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    38
    9
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked this purely down to the reviews I read on here previously. We spent a few days in Liverpool to do all the Beatles-themed tours and the Casbah didnt disappoint! In fact it was a highlight. It really is a hidden gem though. Even our cabbie wasnt sure where it was, so we had to give him the address. The house is huge, and the cellar is very atmospheric. We were shown around by Roag, Pete Best's half-brother, who clearly loved telling all the stories, from how Mo Best formed the coffee club, to how she helped and guided the Beatles in their early days. The place is like stepping back in time, with many original features - there is artwork on the walls & ceilings which were handpainted by the Beatles, and objects the boys would have used. This place is a must-see for any Beatles fan!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Casbah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went here on Sunday morning, part of a weekend trip to Liverpool for the first time. Was surprised to see it was right in the middle of a residential area and from the outside looks a tad run down. We were greeted by Roag Best who was impressed with us being on time early on a Sunday morning! An extremely friendly, energetic man - his enthusiasm was infectious. He proceeded to show my friend and I around the club. It was an interesting, funny tour and Roag certainly made things come alive. The coffee club is only small but the amount of information given was huge. Unlike other places, we were left on our own to roam around at leisure and encouraged to take photographs. We asked a few questions, arising from the tour and then left. It was really good to do something different from the usual Beatle touristy things. If you are going to Liverpool and have some interest in the Beatles - this is not to be missed. Thanks Roag.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Where it all began.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A must see for every Beatles fan. This is where the Beatles gave regular concerts before the Cavern club. Looks just the same as pictures from the sixties with original painted walls by John Lennon. Also in a nice residential area not far from the city centre, its a great feeling to be in the place were it all began.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Casbah coffee club treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked our tour of the Casbah to coincide and carry on after our tour of The Beatles childhood homes.The Casbah is booked directly with the club.Of course the Casbah is the basement to what was the home of Mo Best,Pete's mother and by chance our guide was Rory Best,Pete's brother.
You will need a satnav to find the house but when there you will see the ridiculously small club that hosted the greats of the 60's before they were national idols.We really enjoyed the hour or so with just Rory and ourselves. He had a wealth of stories to tell and he loved telling them.You will hear about John,Paul,George and Pete helping Mo to clear the basement and then paint it to get it ready for opening which the Silver Beatles played on that opening night.But let Rory tell you the stories.......book it

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casbah Coffee Club also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Casbah Coffee Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casbah Coffee Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.