We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea lovers unite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leaf

Leaf
65 - 67 Bold Street, Liverpool, England
01517077747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,157 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: We are a tea shop and bar in the heart of the city centre. We offer a relaxed and casual drinking and dining experience for those who want somewhere friendly and informal to hang-out. Please note we are not a restaurant, but a multi-functional space to meet, relax, listen to good music and enjoy interesting events.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tea lovers unite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Leaf is the perfect afternoon tea spot. Quirky and exciting decoration, wonderful staff and a selection of tea to make any tea lover weak at the knees, you would be a fool to miss out on a drink here. Highly recommend for student and young professionals alike, a great place to hide away and write an essay or sort out some paper work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    116
    19
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

OH and I went to Leaf pre-christmas for a some brekkie. We were passing, looking for a place to chow and parked on Bold Street near to Leaf so we decided to give it a try.
My normal 'eat-out' brekkie is Eggs Benedict so I didn't stray from this and OH had simple poached eggs on toast with two coffees.
The food took a bit of time to come but the place was very busy. It was 'quite nice' when it came although there was no salt n pepper on the table I had to resort to my own handbag stash to atop our eggs - nothing extra special for the £7.95 price tag. OH's eggs were cooked perfectly but again a tad expensive.
Not sure that I liked the ambience of the place, although OH did but you can tell it is trying to be one of those 'IN' places to eat that are popping up everywhere now. Not sure I want to go back 6/10

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The IN place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fab ambience , lovely staff, retro cafe bar that scores points all round.
The place to be seen !!!!!
Beautiful Art Deco interior

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Light lunch, lively atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Delightful spot on the interesting Bold Street. Lively atmosphere in a big room with a nice variety of seating options, some sofas and comfy chairs, some long refectory type tables for bigger groups and some tables for 2 or 4. Nice range of lunch options, we had the soup of the day (Winter vegetable) with an order of fried new potatoes and Harissa mayonnaise. All very nice in a relaxed venue.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
569 reviews 569 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
“Great social venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

As the header says, this is not a restaurant in the usual sense, although you will not go hungry or thirsty here. It is, however, a good place to meet friends and listen to quality music. Has a slightly bohemian feel about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaf also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.