We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit-Brew-Drink-Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leaf

Leaf
65 - 67 Bold Street, Liverpool, England
01517077747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,153 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: We are a tea shop and bar in the heart of the city centre. We offer a relaxed and casual drinking and dining experience for those who want somewhere friendly and informal to hang-out. Please note we are not a restaurant, but a multi-functional space to meet, relax, listen to good music and enjoy interesting events.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Sit-Brew-Drink-Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not only is there a great music venue upstairs in the evening it is also a great independent bar and tea house downstairs. The staff are friendly, the food great and the choice of teas (as you would expect) mind blowing. Free wi-fi and variety of seating choices mean you can just sit and relax whilst the world rushes by on Bold Street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    114
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A bit 'middle class twit' but a great place, nevertheless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I really like Leaf, although I sometimes think it tries a bit too hard and can be a little bit self-conscious.
It's always buzzing, never less than rammed to the rafters and has a nice, non-aggro atmosphere.
The food is lovely and not over-priced. Teas and coffees are above average with a great range always available.
The service, primarily provided by smiley, friendly students is very good. I'm always impressed by the age range of customers at Leaf- it seems to appeal to teenage hipsters and journos-in-thick-rimmed-glasses-and-knitwear; through to silver fox-type business-people and ladies who lunch and that's quite difficult to achieve.
Always loads of events on too- knitting club, music nights, reading groups etc.
Open til late every night too.
You can't go far wrong really!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“FAB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great breakfasts, the eggs benedict was great. Also the smoked salmon bagel. Lovely atmosphere, always chilled and friendly. good staff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Leaf is my favourite place in Liverpool! I use to go there at least twice a month and every time is special. The atmosphere is so relaxing and the food delicious! Should be #1!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Taste the cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stopped in here after a mel out. My boyfirend had promised me a drink so we stop her. The mint tea was lovely and there was loads of choice. ALso the cakes are amazing the chocolate tart was to die for one of the best I have ever tasted. YUMMY

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaf also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.