We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Liverpool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Liner Hotel to your Saves list
The Liner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanahoe
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good choice for Liverpool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Excellently located hotel right beside Lime St station and only a 10 minute walk from all the nightlife. It is five minutes to shopping area and there are a plethora of local pubs and restaurants to suit all pockets. The beds in the hotel room we had were poor. Probably need replacing. Aside from that I cannot fault the hotel. Breakfast was superb and the staff friendly helpful and courteous at all times. There is a taxi rank 50 metres away.

If flying in to Liverpool make sure you buy the all day bus pass for €3.80 at the information desk. It cost £3.20 to get in to the city on the express bus alone and the bus service at Queens Square is excellent for getting around. Taxi from airport is £17.00 approx

Room Tip: Choose a room to the front of the hotel in order to avoid hearing announcements from the train stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    874
    266
    86
    73
See reviews for
274
1,140
95
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had booked for just one night (Saturday), which is a good job because I could not have stayed in this room (609) for another night. The announcements from the railway station were so very loud we may as well have been standing on the platform. No lie in on the Sunday morning, the announcements started at 7.30am & even though it was Sunday there were an awful lot of trains!. We did pass on our comments about this at check out & they were noted. So if you are staying here, ask for Street side!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room "Street Side"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Jackie C,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the tannoy system, we had been liaising with the Limestreet train station to resolve this matter and had thought the volume levels had been turned down. Once again we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused and we hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us again in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

ADVANTAGES:
- in the city centre and a short walk from all the attractions
- right behind the Lime Street train station – perfect for onward travelling
- great breakfast (selection and everything)
- great room
- great sleep quality
- the bathroom was one of the best ever
- good staff
- all in all, it’s one of the best places we have stayed at

DISADVANTAGES:
- do not remember

Overall grade: A

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one at the end of a corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Anna_I_23,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear guests enjoyed there stay with us and would recommend us to others. We hope we can welcome you back to The Liner Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at The Liner & it definitely won't be our last. Our 1st stay was a chance booking as we just wanted an overnight stay, but the excellent service and general high standard of this hotel ensured we booked again for our visit to meet up with friends for a special occasion. It is only a 5 minute walk into the city centre, which is an added bonus. The breakfast was included in the booking offer as was the deluxe room and we weren't disappointed with either. The room was really nice & the breakfast tasty and plentiful. The receptionist was really helpful when checking in, I had a query she couldn't answer but she promptly rang someone and it was sorted to my satisfaction within 2 minutes. We will be staying here again on our next visit to Liverpool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Anne T,
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely TripAdvisor review on The Liner Hotel and your stay with us. We are pleased that you chose to come back and stay with us again and that it won’t be your last stay with us. It was great to hear that you find the hotel to be suitable for your trip to Liverpool and you find our standards and facilities to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

On the whole very good value for money. The hotel is excellently located just a short walk from the city centre, rooms to a high standard of excellence and very good service on the whole.
My only negative comment would be the what is in my opinion excedingly high cost charged for breakfast. To offset this however parking is free if you are staying at the hotel. However we will certainly use this hotel again.
We had booked via an agency on a room only basis and on each day we had breakfast away from the hotel elsewhere in the City. On the last morning I decided I would try the breakfast in the hotel to see whether value for money or not as on the whole I though£10.95 somewhat on the high side. The breakfast was of the buffet type so as is always the case some items were hot and others not so hot. Also you had to get your own tea or toast.. My personal preference even when breakfast is buffet is where by tea and toast are provided fresh by the waiting staff. on the whole the breakfast provided is nowhere near the £10.95 charged. On the next night after leaving we stayed at a hotel in Llandudno where by the breakfast was served fresh and was of far superior quality than that provided by The Liner. Saying that the total cost was good value for money and if you want you can always have breakfast elsewhere though the £10.95 is excessive for what was provided.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear BillyBlueboy,
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. It was great to here that you had an enjoyable stay and you found the standard to accommodation and the service to be to your standards. I am sorry to hear that you found the breakfast to be more expensive than you would have expected, I will pass this feedback on to our management team to review. We do offer a Bed and Breakfast rate upon booking which works out cheaper than £10.95pp but this has to be done at reservation stage. We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you are next back in Liverpool.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Very nice food, very impressed with all three courses. Good deals on drinks too with bottles of wine at £7.50 and cocktails two for one before 7pm. Staff were hit and miss, bar toilets needed cleaning as they stunk! Would visit again for the pre theatre three course meal!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear mjdy2k5,
Thank you for your kind review regarding our Seven Seas Brasserie, we are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable meal with us and found it great value for money. I will pass on your comments regarding the staff and the toilets to be looked into and addressed where it is needed.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

8 of us visited the Castaway bar and then went to eat in the restaurant, We met in the Castaway Bar. The staff were friendly and the wine was good value. We then went into the restaurant and had the 3 course pre theatre meal. It was excellent and all eight were impressed with what they were served. We then had the puddings and again everyone was happy with the puds. I only wish I had the Belgium waffle which looked and tasted amazing.
Overall great value for a city centre hotel and will definitely will be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL1234567, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear john5919,
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable evening in our Castaway bar and our Seven Seas Brasserie. I will make sure I pass on your lovely comments to the staff and your compliments along to our chefs who I know will be thrilled.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liner is quite simply a hotel like no other. Step inside and you will be transported back to the golden age of ocean travel, when only the highest standards of comfort, quality and service would suffice. From the brass portholes to the welcoming and dedicated crew, The Liner bears all the authentic hallmarks of the world's finest cruise ships. 152 Superbly appointed cabins on four decks await guests with a desire for something entirely out of the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Liner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.