We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Liner Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Liner Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lord Nelson Street, Liverpool L3 5QB, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“new year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

hotel room was lovely, lots of little touches, like dressing gown/slippers, even cup cakes which were tasty, all staff very friendly, only downside was at breakfast too crowded where toaster and tea/coffee machines were, only 1 person at time could make toast which led to a queue

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear gwyn1570 ,
Thank you so much for your kind comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to the whole of our team. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we are grateful you took the time to review our hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    719
    213
    77
    66
See reviews for
216
905
83
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

stayed here many times when visiting Liverpool, when travelling by train it is perfect as only about 500yards from station. Staff always very helpful and ready to advise on various locations that you may wish to visit and breakfast included in price is excellent. Will be staying again in July for 3 nights and am sure will not be disappointed. Give it a try if you not stay here before!!!

Room Tip: all rooms have stayed in have been fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Summertimestay,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on The Liner Hotel Hotel. We was pleased to hear how your enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly. It was lovely to hear that you recomend us to others. We do hope to welcome you back to Liverpool and the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Managment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Liner for a short break in the city.It was the second stay here and although we just booked a double room ,when my husband checked in and mentioned our previous visit the girl on reception upgraded us to an executive suite,very nice indeed.Again the staff were welcoming,the rooms and bedding spotless and breakfast delightful.We would not waste time looking elsewhere as the Liner fulfills all requirements necessary for an enjoyable stay in Liverpool.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We would recommend this Hotel, would definatley stay there again when having short breaks. Central location, secure car park (free to you if you are a resident), well presented good size room, lovely bathroom (both bath & shower facility), thick fluffy towels, well stocked complimentary tea and coffee in room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear kas53,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all of our guests and I am pleased you were able to experience this and our high standards during your stay.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Liner has high standards, that was clear to see. The staff were very polite and efficient and the place was very clean and tidy. Some of the decor or style of i.e. the staircase was beautiful and was all in keeping with being on a ship as the name of the hotel suggests. The standard rooms were average size and had very comfy beds and a clean modern bathroom with both bath and shower. The only thing i could say negative was its a shame the t.v. wasn't larger ( it was small by today's standards) and placed on the wall. But if we have to stay in Liverpool again we will defiantly try to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Shirley,
Thank you for your lovely review of the Liner hotel, we were pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back to the liner in the future.
Kind regards,
The Liner hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

my wife and have just returned from the Liner Hotel after a one night stop 6th January
we can say this was a good choice
with a free large secure car park
the reception on arrival was most welcoming and helpful,
you know that feeling when you open the door of your allocated room ? well it was ( this is nice,)
it was very clean and well equipped we could not fault it also the bathroom was exceptionally clean with thick fluffy white towels
there was two comfy single beds and the room was lovely and warm but not stuffy
we had a full English ,breakfast that was buffet style all freshly done and we found the the restaurant very clean
the position of the hotel is ideal for city sightseeing and shopping in Liverpool 1 minutes away
we will definitely use this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear jjbls,
Thank you for leaving such a positive review. I am thrilled you had such a good experience at The Liner Hotel.
We are very fortunate on the location of the hotel and the fact we have our own car park, something that is very rare in the Liverpool city centre area.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is a little hidden gem! Me and my partner stayed for one night on the 6th January,2013. We paid £60 for a king size room with breakfast. The location is great; only short walk to the town centre. The parking was also excellent. We arrived very early on the 6th and did not leave until late afternoon on the 7th all for FREE!! The breakfast was lovely with a wide range of hot and cold breakfast. One of the negative comment was that the walls are little thin. We were placed in a room next to a family, we could hear the child playing and coughing. One main point we loved about the hotel is that it is very thoughtful, providing the bathroom essentials and we enjoyed the glass bottle water and the cupcake very much!!! Over all a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHLManager, Director of Sales at The Liner Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Miss_Yeung,
Thank you for leaving such a positive review on your recent stay at The Liner Hotel, its always pleasing to read that guests enjoyed there stay and would recommend us to others.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, if you come back to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
The Liner Hotels Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liner is quite simply a hotel like no other. Step inside and you will be transported back to the golden age of ocean travel, when only the highest standards of comfort, quality and service would suffice. From the brass portholes to the welcoming and dedicated crew, The Liner bears all the authentic hallmarks of the world's finest cruise ships. 152 superbly appointed cabins on three decks await guests with a desire for something entirely out of the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Liner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.