We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre to your Saves list
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #45 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night end of may and found the hotel to be very good for the money as we got a deal online. The reception staff very efficient and friendly and rooms were very good with nice large comftable beds. Bathroom was a little tired but not an issue for one night.

The breakfast was very good everything we wanted and a chef to freshly cook eggs fried poached or scrambled.

Parking is £12 a day which is ok for a city centre hotel.

Would stay here again as the swimming pool and steam room was very good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    287
    114
    42
    39
See reviews for
103
265
50
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Hotel was really nice. Room was clean and comfortable and good size. Bed was really comfy and the bathroom was clean and a nice size.
Staff very friendly and efficient at check in/out. Breakfast was lovely. Room looked out onto Lime Street Station but wasn't noisy. Would love to go back to hotel and Liverpool as it wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stay in this hotel regularly for business and have done for a few years.

Good location - very central and within easy reach by train or car. The hotel itself is a little tired and could do with some TLC. The gym - in particular - needs updating.

The staff are almost always exceptional. Accommodating, polite and competent. They usually greet me by name, which is a nice touch.

I've never eaten in the restaurant, but room service is of varied standard and breakfast can be a little disorganised. There are many restaurant nearby worth trying.

Fully recommend for short business stays. If you drive, careful in the car park - it's very tight indeed!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just a few minutes walk from Lime Street station. It could not be better appointed for access to the city centre. The check in staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was of a very good size for a standard room, and spotlessly clean. The spa was a pleasant extra facility for relaxation. Breakfast buffet had a good variety of food. There was no problem with noise inside the Hotel. It is in a city centre, though, so don't expect the quiet of the countryside outside your window as some other reviewers seem to have wanted.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel looked tired and gloomy. Reception was dark and unwelcoming although reception staff were efficient and friendly.
Our room was perfectly clean but very dated. However our bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very quiet.
We were greeted at breakfast by a delightful young woman but after that things went down rapidly. It was sunday morning, the dining room wasn't particularly busy and there seemed to be plenty of staff on duty but guests had to wait while hot dishes were replenished ( often while the rest of their breakfast was getting cold). The bacon looked grey and uninviting ( I did ask for some to be cooked freshly for me and it was perfectly cooked when it arrived - why couldn't it all be like that in the first place?). The orange juice tasted cheap and unpleasant, there was a very poor choice of yoghurt and fruit and the cold meats looked sad and unappetising.
The only good thing was the "egg man" who cooked omelettes etc on request.
All in all it felt like we were staying in a budget hotel which we do not expect from a Marriott. I think it's time to spend some money if Marriott wants to keep up with the other hotels in their price bracket in the centre of Liverpool.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S, Manager at Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Ruby,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre.

You indicated in your response that the service at Breakfast was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location nice clean rooms very comfy beds and a warm welcome on check in. The pool is nice and breakfast was good. We were on the sixth floor yes you can hear noise but it is a city centre location. Car park next door to hotel is good and £12 for 24 hours will return as it was a great stay

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

On a short stay basis, it was very good value indeed. Excellent deals are around if you look. The location for us was excellent - near Lime St. Station and the City Centre itself.

We received a very warm welcome at reception. Our bedroom was smallish but adequate, clean and well presented with tea / coffee making facilities albeit a bit lacking in quantity. There is a good health club including a 10m pool. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was very enjoyable and got the day off to a good start.

Three negative comments - sound transfer room to room and so much noise, particularly in the morning, from the corridor. One door, possibly a cleaners' store door, outside our room must have banged 20 times in as many minutes early in the morning. I scored 2 for sleep quality because of this. It didn't mean I had a bad night's sleep, I would just have liked another hour or so before this racket begun - I'm purely making a point to the hotel.

The other negative comment is minor but nevertheless important - the young lady at reception in the restaurant needs to learn to smile and be more welcoming. If she doesn't want to be at front of house, representing the hotel, she should perhaps consider a back of house job. Maybe it was just a bad day but is that acceptable?? We all have them, I guess!

Would we use the hotel again and / or recommend it for a short stay - Absolutely Yes.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor - the room was good but avoid being near the cleaners' store, if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 1 Queen Square, Liverpool L1 1RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous for sports, entertainment and Beatlemania, Liverpool is a cultural centre with more museums and galleries than any city outside London. The Liverpool Marriott Hotel offers a fantastic location, set within the art and cultural district overlooking vibrant Queen Square. Beautifully decorated, our bedrooms offer air cooling system and luxurious bedding with cotton-rich linens and fluffier pillows. After a day of museum hopping or shopping, enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or in Urban Peace Health and Beauty and choose from one of our fantastic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.