We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night for a hen party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower to your Saves list
Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
up north
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“one night for a hen party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

stayed there for one night, nice clean hotel very handy for everything. Before we booked we were told breakfast would be £10 so decided not to book it but them changed our minds this morning....and it was only £8! very nice it was too!

Room Tip: Room 1122 very quiet and has a great view of the Mersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear tallybelle,
Many thanks for your review, and pleased that you had a good stay!
We have been "testing" our breakfast pricing structure to see what impact it has on demand, hence the variation on pricing during your stay. Pre booked breakfast is £10.00 at present, with the full price being £14.95, but the trial is supposed to encourage Non inclusive guests to have breakfast if the book on arrival!
Looks like I need to have a look at the procedure to make sure the team are only offering this deal on arrival!
Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you back in Liverpool soon,

With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    445
    227
    90
    58
See reviews for
109
470
55
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went on a business trip to Liverpool and stayed at the hotel for 5 days. On my first day on Sunday 21st April, I got there at exactly 1345 hrs and the female reception staff was extremely rude when I went to her at the desk, without looking at me, she says " Just wait" in a condescending and rude way. This is not good customer service, she may well have been in a bad mood or catch her at a bad time, but this does not excuse her behaviour. Then, the other lady at the reception informed me that the room will be ready in about 1 hour, but that I could leave my luggage downstairs.
As I was leaving, I asked the "rude" staff (as the other staff was busy talking to other guests) where the toilets were....she again replied in a very rude and aggressive manner, raising her eye brows.."you what??!!!" as if I was speaking in a foreign language to her, but then when she gave me the direction, she said it as if she was talking to a dog, ( I do not even talk to my dog like that). That was not a nice experience on your first day of checking in a 4 star hotel.
having said that, all the staff at the hotel were very attentive, nice, polite, considerate and helpful. Room was very clean all the times. Coffee and teas including kettle, hair dryer were all hidden in drawers, but was not a problem.
I have to say that when I checked out on Friday 26th April at 1100 hrs, the "rude" staff was quite polite when I checked out....Maybe somebody told her of her behaviour, as I have informed one reception staff about this "rude" staff behaviour with customers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Globertrotter007,

Thank you for your very reasonable review and rating. I think you have been very generous considering the issue you encountered on the front desk.
I will of course investigate this matter urgently and take the necessary follow up. We are well known for our Friendly and helpful staff, and it is a shame if one individual spoiled our usually positive impression.
I am pleased that overall it would seem that the rest of the team rescued the situation, and appreciate the fact that your review was balanced and gave credit where credit is due. Others may not have been so reasonable.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your review and hope that you will return to the hotel in future and receive our usual warm and friendly welcome.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Absolutely amazing hotel, real luxury. Excellent location with amazing views over the docks. The staff were all really friendly and the breakfast was 5*.

would highly recommend for a couples getaway to Liverpool.

Luckily when we went the sun was shining, short walk to Liverpool one and Albert dock.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Owen b,
Many thanks for your kind review, which is very well received.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly and breakfast excellent!
Thanks for spreading the word online!
Hope to see you back again soon,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited here for my birthday with my husband and two kids. We had purchased a Wowcher deal and maybe wouldn't have come here unless without the deal.
The staff were very accommodating and the food was excellent and worth the money. My kids' meals were great too. My son decided he didn't like strawberry sauce on his dessert and they happily changed it for him.

I had a fantastic day and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear campbellina,

Thanks for your review, and I am so glad you decided to give us a try!
Our Restaurant has recently been returned to us after a substantial refurbishment, and we are particularly pleased with the results.

Many thanks again for your kind comments, and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on business, good room with 2 comfy single beds. Fab view and very good central location. Staff were friendly, rooms clean although my sink in bathroom was a bit shabby n enamel was chipped! Breakfast lovely, good choice and nice relaxing bar area at Vue bar on 1st floor. Overall comfortable stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Louise K,

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you had a good stay and in particular enjoyed the breakfast.
I note your comments regarding the sink. I am in the process of addressing the sink issues, which had been repaired but are now being replaced. Apologies for any inconvenience!
Hope to see you back at the Atlantic Tower next time you are in town.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyngby, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A fine hotel, near The Pear Head. Good service and a fine restaurant.
The room a little cold and with a draft ... But possible to heat up.
All in all a fine stay for a trip with the family; very central in the mittle of lots of fun in downtown Liverpool ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mikkel50,

Thanks for your review, which is short and sweet but very much appreciated.
Glad that you and your family had a good stay, and hope to see you back again soon,

With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I recently stayed 5 nights at the Atlantic Thistle, Liverpool whilst attending a conference at the Echo Arena. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes stroll to the conference centre. It is conveniently placed for a number of tourist attractions. The Mersey and the Liver Building are across the road, the Liverpool museum approximately 5 minutes walk away, the Tate gallery, shopping centre, The Cavern and the Grapes pub where the Beatles used to go all within 20 minutes walk away. The rooms are small but have lots of storage. The TV has several channels but reception is poor. There is a kettle and tea, coffee and biscuits are provided and topped up daily. An iron, ironing board and hairdryer are in the room. Wifi is available but you have to pay for it. The room is clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom has a bath with a nice strong shower. The towels are nice and big. There is a heated towel rail which can be switched on and off and a washing line in the bathroom. The hotel is on the main road so can be noisy. Also as you are unable to open the windows I imagine it can get very stuffy in the summer. Certainly when you opened the curtains in the morning the windows were all steamed up. When we arrived at the hotel it was very busy. A large number of people had booked out that morning and they were now having another large number of people booking in. A number of rooms were not ready even though it was well after the check in time. Staff appeared very harassed with only two receptionists at the desk and long queues to check in. Unfortunately that meant when you got to your room if there was something wrong you had to go join the end of the queue again which was no fun if it was due to the key card not working. I did report a blocked sink in the room which had hairs and other things floating out of it, and it was sorted very quickly. The hotel was busy most of the time and perhaps it was for that reason that some of the staff were not very helpful or friendly. When the reception was asked if they could book a taxi they just said to hail one outside. This was not very easy to do and after a 20 minutes wait trying to hail a cab, in the end we had to find the taxi number and book one ourselves. Breakfast was a nice selection of cereals, toast, fruit and yoghurts, cheese and hams and a very nice cooked breakfast which was self service. Due to the hotel being busy the staff would come around with a flask of coffee or tea however on the last morning when it was quieter you did get offered a pot of tea or coffee which was much nicer. The restaurant is on the first floor. The view is across the water and the Liver building which is very nice. The food was fine. The hotel has what you need, is conveniently placed and comfortable and clean. My only disappointment was there were a few staff who were not very friendly or helpful both on reception and in the restaurant which made you feel unwelcome. I can only presume it was because the hotel was busy and they were tired. However, the people we spoke to in the street were very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic about their city which was great.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have nicer views but the road is busy so can be noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear MaxiEngland,
Thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review, which is very helpful indeed.
I am pleased that overall you had a good experience, and do acknowledge your point that the hotel was very busy throughout the period of your stay. I was sorry to note that you didn’t find the staff to be too friendly or helpful. Such a shame as its something we pride ourselves on and these pages are littered with many positives about the team.
We were indeed very busy, but the courtesy of a smile costs us nothing, and I am disappointed that one or two of the team may have rather spoiled your impression. Nonetheless, it’s good to get the feedback and I can follow up appropriately.
I am sure many other guests will find the detail you provided helpful, as I have, and rest assured I will follow up on the "Friendly staff" comments.

Thanks again and best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower

Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#31 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following significant recent refurbishment, the hotel is looking fantastic. Amazing views across the River Mersey and the City of Liverpool. Enjoy a drink in our new Vu Bar and Terrace or visit the Vista Restaurant and Bar for a mouth-watering dinner. We offer 24 hour room service and car parking is available in our own car park or at the NCP next door. Free High speed WIFI is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.