We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower to your Saves list
Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here around 25th January, the hotel is ok but if staying in Liverpool we would look at other places before hand.

Reception / lobby area very nice, warm and welcoming as well as the reception staff.

The first room we were given (room 1107) was big, but as soon as we got out the lift the smell of gloss paint hit you in the corridor, this continued into the room itself which had also been repainted, at first we thought it may of been refurbished, but upon entering the room it was evident that it had not been, as with a lot of the hotel its furnished with very busy gaudy carpets / patterns that appear to give a very dated feel.

The room was freezing cold, due to the very large single pained glass window, their was climate control in the room, we went out and shut the curtains to keep some heat in but upon returning the room was still freezing cold and the smell of paint would of given you a bad head if we had of slept in the room.

Our next room was more of our expectant standards (room 910) - neutrally decorated but far far smaller than room 1107 with what we thought was a 3/4 bed which again was much smaller, it was clean and comfortable.

The bar area we felt should of been in the lobby area of the hotel to give the place some atmosphere, the bar area on the 2nd floor lacked atmosphere, felt cold and was far too bright, it dd not give the feel of a 4 star hotel and the furniture was uncomfortable, it gave the feeling of been in a working mens club rather than a hotel bar.

All in all, great location, good staff, but perhaps just not for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear gmi1001,

Thank you for your review and the balanced feedback.
I do really appreciate the kind comments you made about the team and the service levels, but acknowledge also the points made regarding the painting, the bar location and the lack of double glazing.
It is evident from these pages that the recent cold snap has created some challenges for us with the current glazing arrangements. We are in the process of building proposals to address this with our owners, and interestingly there is a view to relocate the bar to the lobby area in time. We have a temporary bar set up there which is in operation midweek, but we open the Vu bar at the weekends. I am pleased to say that from the 11th of February we are refurbishing our restaurant and bar area, with new carpets, furniture and design art, and believe we will have a much improved product which will address the points you made.
The in house painting is evidence that we are working to address condition of the few rooms which have not had a full refurbishment, as well as revisiting those which have, but I do hear your point regarding the allocation of those rooms. I have revisited our room allocation process with reservations and the front desk to ensure that this is not the case going forward.
Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you back in Liverpool when our improvement programme is complete.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    395
    210
    86
    55
See reviews for
97
408
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stopped in this hotel for three nights on first trip to Liverpool October 2012,The room was good,staff very helpful and food excellent.Liverpool was great .with many interesting things to see .ie..the docks the cavern lovely museum the liver building and of course a ferry across the Mersey and it has a wonderful shopping centre

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear magsDevon,

Thanks for your kind review and most encouraging!
So pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed the city too! Liverpool is fab and we are proud to be a part of it!
Hope to see you back in town soon,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the aintree suite
amazing room and view.
Everything you needed from proper hairdryer to full size fridge.
great to see the dock area and the cavern and main shopping centre was in very easy walking distance.

would deffo stay again
Full english breakfast was fab and fresh... no black pudding but when we asked for some it was there for us the following day...

Room Tip: order taxi from reception....... excellent and swift service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear lynneMerthyrTydfil ,

Thanks so much for the great review! Big smiles all round!
Really appreciate you taking the time to spread the word on line!
Hope to see you back in Liverpool soon,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel. Nice greeting at reception. Asked for a Mersey view as suggested by another reviewer and was given 12th floor. Fantastic view over the Mersey! Room was basic but did the trick and as views were good didnt mind this. Easy access to Albert Docks and fairly close to city centre. The bar area is fine but just feel Thistle could do more with it in terms of upgrade. It was like a Wetherspoons which there is nothing wrong with but given the view and shape of room if it were to be modernised a little more it would be brilliant! Girl behind bar was nice and very busy serving lots of people who were on a works training course but managed to keep a smile :-) charge for parking at Thistle is 6 quid a day i feel this should be free. Overall I would recommend this hotel and return. Liverpool is a great city!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear thesundancegirl,

Thanks for your kind review. I am pleased you had a good stay and had positive things to say about the team.
I hear your comments regarding upgrading the Bar etc, and am pleased to advise that over the next month we are refurbishing the Vista Restaurant and the Vu Bar, so that should address the issues you raised in terms of the physical product. Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here last weekend on a stag party with 25 blokes! Nice 3 star hotel where staff were very friendly and easy going. Rooms were good size and clean (I stayed in a twin room). Hotel is about 15 minute walk into heart of the city, or 5 minutes in a taxi. Hotel bar is very quiet, but has nice views of the river... One complaint was the air conditioning in the rooms. It was very noisy and when on got very warm very quickly but when switched off the room was freezing within minutes! This would not turn me off returning to this hotel the next time I stay in Liverpool...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear glenio,

Thanks for your review and your favourable comments. I note your views on the temperatures and the air con units, and am reviewing the situation with our maintenance team.
The recent cold snap did have an impact, but if there is a longer term issue it will be established and resolved.
Delighted to see you would return on a future visit, and hope to see you then.

Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in a room on the 10th floor. There was plenty of space and the views were fantastic! Everything you needed was in the room - proper hairdryer beside a mirror and lots of toiletries. The hot water was plentiful and the room was spotlessly clean. We had a bit of bother getting the air-conditioning working, but someone came very swiftly to help out. Unfortunately, the weather was very cold outside, and this meant that it was difficult to keep the room properly warm because the windows are not double-glazed and the heating struggled to keep the temperature up. We liked hearing the church bells opposite :)
The staff were ALL very friendly and helpful, and there was a really nice atmosphere about the place. We would definitely stay again.
The hotel was really handy for both the Albert Dock area, and the town centre. If you want to see Anthony Gormley's statues, the station you need (Moorfields) is only a two minute walk away (and it only takes 20 minutes on the train!).

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Liver building and the Mersey, just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sandra M,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I love the way you highlighted ALL the staff for their friendliness! They will be greatly encouraged. The cold dip during your stay seemed to impact a few guests, as is evident on these pages, but as previously stated we are investigating to see if there is a wider issue. I suspect it is simply that the quick change in the weather meant that heating had to be at the maximum, but if there is further work required I will take the necessary action.
I really do appreciate you taking the time to complete your review.
Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N IRELAND
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic Hotel, Liverpool, on the 18th - 20th January. Location wise it is excellent, as it is minutes from the main tourists areas, such as the Dock area, Liverpool One shopping complex, and The Beatles museum. Weather wise the UK was experienced snow and cold conditions, which resulted in the bedrooms being rather cold. While the heater soon got the room warm it was rather noisy, so to sleep it is necessary to turn it off. The consequence of this is a drop in temperature. Combined with neighbouring room noise, i.e. a television, my sleep was disturbed on the first night. It may be useful for the hotel to ensure that their televisions can only be played at a certain volume. Guests should perhaps turn their televisions off before drifting to sleep, as I could clearly hear my neighbour snoring, between commercial breaks!!
The hotel is clean and the reception is welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a breakfast buffet, but we chose to enter the city for their abundant variety of eateries. Beside the Liverpool One shopping complex is the local bus station. We used this to get to Anfield for the Liverpool v Norwich match and to return to the airport. It is an efficient and affordable service. Liverpool is a fantastic city to visit, as there is so much to see and do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABR1, General Manager at Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear JAMESYBOYNIreland,

Thanks for your kind review! I am pleased you had so many favourable things to say, but I do note your comments regarding the noise from the heating.
I have now had two such comments, and have my team investigating this. It may be attributed to the extreme cold we had for a few days, but if there is a wider issue I will ensure it is addressed.
We do have volume controls on the TV as you suggested, but I will have these checked as occasionally they are over ridden.
Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you back again soon,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower

Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following significant recent refurbishment, the hotel is looking fantastic. Amazing views across the River Mersey and the City of Liverpool. Enjoy a drink in our new Vu Bar and Terrace or visit the Vista Restaurant and Bar for a mouth-watering dinner. We offer 24 hour room service and car parking is available in our own car park or at the NCP next door. Free High speed WIFI is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Liverpool City Centre, Atlantic Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.