We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible coffee!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lime St, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible coffee!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Perfectly good rooms. Breakfast 'extra' but thought for convenience would eat in the hotel. The croissants tasted like last week's, the tomatoes and mushrooms had only been shown the grill, with no seasoning at all. But the depths were plumbed with the coffee. Used the ghastly machine first - revolting. But there was a message telling me I could ask for filter coffee as well. That was worse. It is hard to imagine how hard they must have worked to make the coffee so disgusting. Very poor, bearing in mind that everywhere you go now in the UK (except there!) you can get really decent, strong, freshly brewed coffee. God knows what their foreign visitors make of it. Get your act together - it's not difficult. If you want people to come to Liverpool it's the small details as well as the bigger picture that makes for a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear "juliamark2"
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide a review following your recent stay with us; it is most appreciated.
I will personally take forward your comments regarding our breakfast service and, in particular, the quality of our coffee. It is always good to get an individual perspective that we can investigate and act upon.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to visit in the near future.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    263
    106
    36
    14
See reviews for
72
230
58
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in Liverpool for one night and decided on this Holiday Inn because of the central location and the near by parking at St Johns shopping centre which is only £6 for 24 hrs when staying at this hotel - you just need to get your ticket stamped when checking out.

The staff were all very welcoming and helpful and check in at 3pm was quick. We particularly thought Katie had excellent customer service skills at breakfast.

The room was fine - nothing special but clean.

Breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice.

Would stay again for a quick getaway but not for a special occasion.

If you are travelling to Liverpool by train then this hotel would be ideal as its just over the road from Lime st station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear 'Bluemountain69',

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experiences at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm pleased to see that you had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel and decided to single out Katie in our restaurant for her excellent service. I have passed on your kind comments to Katie and rewarded her for her excellence in service.

We work very hard at the hotel to provide a great base for our guests to explore all that the City has to offer.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend, when we arrived the staff were very friendly and welcoming. When we arrived in our bedroom it was very clean and presentable, however on closer inspection there were dents in the wall, shabby leaflets and marks on one of our pillow cases. I thought these small things shouldn't have been present due to the amount of money we paid. On a more positive note, the hotel is in a great location and is close to everything you need and we were not disrupted by any noise. The breakfast was also very lovely, however we had to pay extra for this, but was worth the money. We were also able to keep our luggage at the hotel after checking out free of chrage which was very helpful. I think the location of this hotel is it's best selling point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear 'Abi G',

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your experiences at our hotel in Liverpool.

I'm glad to see that you found our staff to be welcoming, our rooms clean and breakfast great value for money.

When booking a room at the hotel we have a number of different options available to you based on either advanced purchase rates, best daily rates which each have the option of inclusive or non inclusive breakfast. Should you choose the non inclusive breakfast offer then this can also be purchased on the day at a rate of £7.50 per person for our full, all you can eat breakfast buffet. We believe this is offers great value considering the large choice of options available from the buffet.

We always recommend booking directly with the hotel for our best rate guarantee and through our website hiliverpool.com

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Do not be put off by the look of the hotel on approach. Must admit I was hesitant when saw the shopping centre but had an excellent stay. The room was very clean with two good nights sleep had by all of us. Could not fault the breakfast, it was more than sufficient but did not have any evening meals in the hotel. After the hectic nightlife of Liverpool, it was nice to relax in the bar area for a quiet drink before turning in for the night. Only feedback is not consistent service in the bar. Friday evening was excellent and the bar-man could not do enough for us - even making a coffee however on Saturday night was told the coffee machine was switched off so no hot drinks available. Can recommend a stay here and will be returning as visit Liverpool regularly due to the university.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear 'HattieNorthwest'
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive review following your recent stay with us; it is most appreciated and good to see that you don't judge a book by it's cover!!
We are very pleased to read your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and our ability to offer you a restful night sleep followed by a great breakfast to set you up for the day ahead.
My we apologise for our inconsistency in bar service. Please rest assured that we will use your feedback constructively for the benefit of future guests.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool for many future visits.
Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms a bit dated but spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel, bed and pillows perfect for a good nights restfull sleep , Located across the road from Lime street train station . Had a good full English breakfast that set us up for the day exploring Liverpool , great pub across the road for a relaxing drink . Staff all very friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear 'Kevin H'
Thank you for placing your very kind review following your recent stay with us; it is most appreciated.
We are particularly pleased to read of your compliments for our staff, cleanliness and great breakfast. Togther with being able to have a good nights sleep we hope to have put ourselves firmly in your mind for a return visit to Liverpool.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed for two nights on business, and chose the hotel for its great location - just a few steps away from Lime St station and city centre facilities. The hotel is clean and pleasant enough with a nice bar overlooking the city. However, the staff, although friendly, were a bit slack. I often had to loiter around waiting for someone to appear, and while eating in the bar I was a little disturbed by a group of staff who'd gathered around a colleague, showing off her party dress - fine for the staff room but not front of house - no matter how quiet the place might be. The bar food was adequate but overpriced for the standard. Room service meal was very poor - dried out as if left sitting under a heat lamp for too long and the tray contained no condiments or napkin. Acceptable accommodation and nice bar but better eat out!

Room Tip: Front rooms would offer best view across the city. Right side rooms also provide a good view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear 'JPJE'
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn of your kind comments regarding our location, cleanliness & friendliness of staff.
I am sorry for our shortfalls in food & beverage service and I will be following up your invaluable feedback accordingly.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool on many future occasions.
If I may be of any further assistance to you, please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.
Yours faithfully
Jonathan King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We thought that staying here in the middle of Liverpool shopping district will be ideal, but its a nightmare as the car park is far. You have to go out into a shopping area or climb a flight of stairs to go to your car. Not safe if you need to get the car after 10pm. The hotel is small and dated. The only plus point is if you want to stay next to a shopping mall and get access to Primark etc etc. We stayed here for 5 nights. Would not recommend if you have a car. BUT if you like to walk to the theater, the monuments and the Rail station. Excellent. The rail station is at your door step. I would come again if I dont have a car.

Room Tip: Tell the Concierge to help you with your luggage, otherwise they will just ignore you. You can drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear 'ImanTraveller'
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to find that you found our location excellent in meeting your individual needs.
Needless to say, however, I am most concerned to learn that the enjoyment of your stay was undermined by car parking arrangements.
As a hotel in the heart of the City Centre we count oursleves lucky to have a car park with over 1,000 spaces adjacent to us, especially as hotel guests benefit from a discounted £6 per 24hr charge. With 24hr security we find the facilities safe & secure.
We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future. If you do decide to arrive by train please advise us in advance and a member of my team will be pleased to meet you & assist with luggage.
Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Address: Lime St, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Liverpool Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has excellent access to both premier football teams, Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison and to Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have High Speed Internet access and views of the city and its fabulous architecture. The public areas provide free Wi-Fi. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE, the newly opened shopping quarter. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the Lime Lounge Restaurant & Bar with fabulous views over St George s Hall and Plateau. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent Euro Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.