We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with fantastic location and friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lime St, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Dingle, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with fantastic location and friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Liverpool and was made all the better by the fantastic location and friendly staff at this hotel. Our welcome was one of the best we have ever experienced and set the tone for our stay. The rooms are a great size with lots of space. You shouldn't need to stay in the hotel for long though as there is so much to see and do in this fabulous city.
We had additional needs during our stay including getting emails printed out at reception which were completed straight away and staff gave recommendations for trips to book during our stay.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel for our next stay and are looking forward to this already.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear 'Val H',

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your first visit to the City and that our hotel was the perfect base for exploring all the sights and shops.

I will pass your thanks on to our Reception team as its clear to see they delivered the 'Can do' customer promise that Holiday Inn aspires to.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    295
    115
    40
    16
See reviews for
84
254
59
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent stay at the Holiday Inn, Liverpool. We stayed on the 7th floor and had an excellent view of Liverpool's cityscape.
The rooms were compact but had all necessary amenities for a comfortable stay - steam iron, soap dispensers and tea/coffee making facilities. I also liked the fact that you could open the window.
Breakfast was very good and had a lot of choice.
Parking was exceptional value for money - £6.00 for 24 hrs at the St John's Precinct car park (reduced rate as you were staying at the hotel).
The staff were pleasant and very efficient.
Thanks for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear 'cymrobangor',

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm thrilled to see that you had a pleasant visit to the hotel and Liverpool itself.

I will pass on your positive comments to the rest of the hotel team as they always get great pleasure from learning of another happy customer.

I hope that you will choose our hotel for future visits to Liverpool.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while in Liverpool shopping :)
Hotel was perfectly located and rooms were great and cosy :) staff were very helpful and friendly
Would def recommend !!
Breakfast was yummy too!!

Will be staying here again for sure

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Louise,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay and found all our staff to be pleasant and friendly.

We hope that you will join us again in the future.

Kind regards


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very cheap, clean and comfortable room. Staff were very plesant, very helpful to my and my mum. Hotel is in an excellent location. 2 Minute walk from town and there's a weatherspoons just across the road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your positive review of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I have forwarded you comments to the hotel team as they always appreciate feedback from our guests on the quality of their stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

In January 2013 I stayed in the Holiday Inn with my parents for a Christmas shopping treat in Liverpool, we stayed at the Holiday Inn because it was convient for the shops and was right opposite the train station. The hotel was ideally situated with easy access to shops, train station and the Albert Dock. On arrival at the Hotel, the reception staff went out of their way to make sure we were welcomed and even the Manager came downstairs to greet us and make sure our train journey went well. The room was on floor 5 and was comfortable, clean and warm with views over the city center. There was an excellent choice of Breakfast with very friendly helpful Staff offering us drinks and a choice of additional items (breakfast dishes) that the Chief was prepared to cook. Very happy with my stay and would defiantly choose this Hotel again, as the room was very comfortable and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Sophie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre. I'm thrilled to see you had such a pleasant visit to the hotel.

As always, I have shared your comments with our hotel team as they get great satisfaction from hearing of yet another happy guest.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a two night stay in mid December for xmas shopping (approx. £140) - room was clean and comfortable (basic) and location of hotel was excellent for walking to main area of shops and eating out in the evening. The hotel is right across from Lime Street Train Station. Parking was cheap and ideal too. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful too. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on quality of food. This is our second stay at this hotel and we find it ideal for our requirements (shopping, and dining out in Liverpool).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear 'mandsSheffield',

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences of the hotel. I'm very sorry to see that we did not meet your expectation in regards to the meal or bar staffing levels. Feedback of this nature is extremely valued at the hotel as we strive to improve our standards for future events. I will, in the coming week spend time with our team adapt and improve our offering for the future.

I am glad however to see that you found both the location of the hotel and the cleanliness of the rooms to be excellent.

We hope that you would still consider the hotel for your future accommodation needs when visiting the city.

kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for new years eve, not enough staff on bar, evening meal was like eating school dinners. Plus side the rooms are nice and excellent location opposite the railway station and within walking distance to city centre

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear mandsSheffield,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel and for staying with us on New Year's eve. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as this will definitely be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Address: Lime St, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Liverpool Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has excellent access to both premier football teams, Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison and to Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have High Speed Internet access and views of the city and its fabulous architecture. The public areas provide free Wi-Fi. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE, the newly opened shopping quarter. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the Lime Lounge Restaurant & Bar with fabulous views over St George s Hall and Plateau. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent Euro Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.