We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lime St, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was my second stay at the Holiday Inn in Liverpool. Great staff, fantastic value, excellent location-easy walking distance to all the great places to see in the city, as well as convenient to shopping, restaurants and pubs. I love it that the hotel is right across the road from the Lime Street Station,so it was very convenient for us to catch a morning train to Manchester for our flight back to Canada.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear 'bbperegrines',

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm glad to see that you are a returning guest to the hotel and again found the hotel to be great value to superb staff.

I hope that on your next trip from Canada that you will choose to visit the hotel once more.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    328
    125
    43
    19
See reviews for
92
283
62
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for 3 days recently, clean, well appointed, reasonable facilities, excellent breakfast & good bar/restaurant food at moderate prices. All staff were polite, helpful & attentive ( forgot razor & toothpaste, got both, comps, from reception) and the city centre location beside Lime St train station & on the direct Airport bus ( route 500 £3 each way ) makes it an excellent choice for people looking for convenience at a reasonable price. Many of the City's attractions are within walking distance but if you want to use public transport buy a Stagecoach Day Rider ticket for £3.50 per person which gives unlimited travel around the city for the day, great value & buses are frequent.
Its all about what people expect & what you are prepared to pay, as a 3 day bolt hole we were perfectly happy with all aspects of our stay, well done to Management.& Staff and thank you.

Room Tip: We were in 522 whcih is at the back & even at night with the window slightly open there was litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear 'KilteelUtd',

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences from the Holiday Inn Liverpool City centre.

Its fantastic to see that you had a great three day stay at the hotel and found all our team delivered great service. I am also pleased to see that we helped out with some provisions to help make your stay more comfortable.

I have shared your review with the full team who always take great pride in receiving another positive review.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Cannot ask for a better location - straight opposite Lime Street Station. I had a quiet room (even though next to the lift), spacious and clean. Helpful and courteous staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear 'TomVV'

Thank your for your good review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, it is most appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us on my future visits to our great City.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I don't know much about the nuances of hotels in Liverpool, so when I needed a hotel for a business trip I chose the Holiday Inn on the basis that the brand normally delivers comfortable if unspectacular hotels.

The staff were friendly and my room was clean, those are the good points. However, the hotel felt tired throughout, my bed far too soft and the entire forth floor stank of cigarette smoke. The included breakfast was fair value, but the espresso I had was poor in the extreme.

This was probably a good hotel once, but it needs some TLC from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear 'MisterOs'
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our teams and the standards of cleanliness you experienced.

With regards to the conditions of the hotel, we do have an ongoing maintenance program in place to update the hotel but will use your comments to request additional funds.
.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great hotel in great location. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Only negative this visit is the change of menu in Limes bar and the really quite poor food which is overpriced. Warm bacon and Brie ciabatta was microwaved so the bread was rock hard . Jacket potatoes small and only just warm. We waited so long for food we had no time to send back for fresh. We will not eat in the hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Debbie
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
Needless to say, I am pleased to learn that our team made you feel very welcome, once again, during your time at our hotel.
With regards to your constructive feedback on the quality of food you received at lunchtime I have spent time reviewing your concerns with my Head Chef, who wishes to be associated with my apologies to you. I have also instigated immediate retraining so that we may return to the levels of service I am confident we can consistently achieve.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Liverpool in the near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I chose this hotel as it was so close to Lime Street station. I arrived an hour before check in time and had to leave to attend an event before I could check it. I also needed to get changed before leaving the hotel, the staff were very helpful and gave me access to changing rooms in the gym to get ready. My luggage was stored securely until I could check in much later in the day.
My room was on the 9th floor was large quiet and clean. I had been allocated a smoking room which concerned me as I am a non smoker, but the room did not smell of cigarettes. Checking out was a quick and easy process, the staff offered to store my luggage if I required which was a nice touch.

My only minor complaint would be that the TV picture in the room was terrible. I would have preferred a 'snow free' picture.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear 'GB_Dave',

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences from the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm glad to see you had such a great stay at the hotel and that our team went out of their way to make sure you had a stress free day.

We truly value customer service and get great pride in receiving a positive review.

I have informed our Maintenance Manager of the issues with TV reception and he is arranging for it to be resolved.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Liverpool in the near future.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times and they are always friendly, helpful, and willing to assist with whatever you need.

The hotel itself couldn't be nearer to Lime Street Station and from there you can explore the whole of the city. The actual area it sits in isn't the best bit of Liverpool; Lime Street itself is pretty rough, despite considerable investment in the station and surrounds, but it's a great base for the city. Just around the corner are some of the city's (and UK's) best museums, all of which provide free entry.

I found that I'd been upgraded on arrival to a small suite with a small living room area as well as the bedroom as this was a nice touch. Good views over the Anglican Cathedral and the Welsh Mountains when the weather is clear too.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the new plaza in front of the station and this is great for people-watching over your coffee.

Pretty much what you'd expect for a Holiday Inn overall, but they do go the extra mile generally. A small quibble on the bill was sorted out efficiently and settled.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear ' David W',

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm glad to see that you are a regular guest to the hotel and have found that our team goes the extra mile to ensure you have a pleasurable stay.

I have shared your feedback with the team who take great pride in receiving positive reviews.

We hope to welcome you back for many happy visits in the future.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Address: Lime St, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#31 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Liverpool Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has excellent access to both premier football teams, Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison and to Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have High Speed Internet access and views of the city and its fabulous architecture. The public areas provide free Wi-Fi. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE, the newly opened shopping quarter. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the Lime Lounge Restaurant & Bar with fabulous views over St George s Hall and Plateau. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent Euro Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.