We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect city spot near Liverpool One/Albert Dock.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect city spot near Liverpool One/Albert Dock.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed, this week, as part of a conference.

The welcome was great and efficient. Very friendly staff on arrival makes a huge difference - all locals, too.

Room was standard 4 star with 2 beds. If you didn't like one you try the other! A wide variety of pillows to choose from. I was lucky enough to have a River Mersey view room - better than road view and less noisy (from discussion with fellow members).

We went into lounge to work and were treated well by attentive staff - great coffee (all purchases include 10% service charge - refuse to pay it if you are not happy).

The conference food was very good with a healthy selection. Lamb chop was over-cooked and hard at first lunch but that was a minor issue for 3 days of stay.

Evening meal at conference was excellent and service again matched it.

I would stay here again and recommend to anyone looking in Liverpool.

As a local, I was surprised to see another world of buildings by the Crowne Plaza - I never knew they were there. The canal runs along the front too and links into the Albert Dock. Liverpool One, Albert Dock and most major attractions are a 10/20 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mersey view room for a quieter night and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel such a lovely review. At the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre we consider customer service to be our highest priority and I am delighted to hear that you received such a high standard of service during your stay. Your comments regarding the rooms, staff, food and facilities are all greatly appreciated and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Rooms with a guaranteed Mersey or Dock View can also be booked directly on our website, so you can ensure that your next stay is just as pleasant as this one. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    514
    179
    53
    32
See reviews for
262
522
58
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff where pleasant and helpful, the hotel was maintained well and the room was clean. I always like when there is water provided in the room and the little mint chocolate is also a nice touch.

Be aware that you need to pay for parking £10 per night, which is odd considering it is there own parking lot

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. It is a pleasure to learn that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful and enjoyed the room and hotel facilities. We are fortunate to be one of the few hotels in the city who can offer their guests on site car parking and I can assure you that we regularly monitor other city centre hotels to ensure that the overnight charge is competitively priced so that we can continue to offer our guests convenience, security and good value for money whilst they use this facility. Once again, thank you for your feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for the second time, last weekend, for one night, on a Mother's Day football/shopping/culture weekend with my daughter.
Firstly, I would like to say that the quality of our room was fantastic. It can be quite a bind trying to find a decent twin room but, boy was this great. Two massive double beds which seemed to wrap themselves around you - soooo comfy and a very nice bathroom, and a view over the Mersey. We had a friendly and enthusiastic welcome, (which we find to be the norm in Liverpool, to be honest) which was good considering we had had a five and a half hour drive to get there.
We have used the pool on both occasions and found it to be more than adequate for our needs. In fact, we really liked it.
The hotel is well located, (right near to the iconic Liver Building) at my walking speed about 10 minutes to The Albert Dock and all it's bars, restaurants and attractions. It's also very well signposted too. Yes, they charge £10 for parking, but compare that to Liverpool One where £10 gets you a very short period of time and it looks good value.
Breakfast was really good. I don't have the cooked option, but the fruits, yogurt, porridge, croissants etc that were on offer meant that you'd never go hungry.
We didn't eat in the restaurant, so I can't comment on that.
What has made this place for us on both occasions that we have stayed here is the out and out friendliness of the staff. You get the feeling that they can't do enough for you - and a bit of pre match football banter is always enjoyable!
If this hotel is in your budget, then I'd have no hesitation in booking.
Thank you Crowne Plaza, along with the Reds' win over Spurs, you made my Mother's Day! Do hope to stay again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view unhindered by other buildings. I think it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am absolutely delighted that your stay was so enjoyable. We are extremely grateful for your kind remarks regarding the rooms, spa facilities and location. Furthermore, it gives me great pleasure to hear that the staff made your Mothers Day a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel has a good location, just outside the city centre, right on the docks, with a view on the liverbuilding.
The hotel is big, well decorated, and has some nice facilities. The (English) breakfast is amazing, lots of fresh products.
The best aspect, for us, was the staff. They offered to put our food in the restaurant's fridge, gave good tips for a bite to eat in town, and were incredibly friendly on the whole.
It's not a cheap hotel, but the service we were given was well worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the docks, or on the liverbuilding. Those are quieter than the ones lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. It is a pleasure to hear that our staff were so attentive to your needs and made your stay a memorable one. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the location, facilities and breakfast. Additionally, it is now possible for guests to book a room with a guaranteed view of the River Mersey or the docks. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

the location is good down by albert dock, the building is a tired 1980's looking building which arictecturally sticks out along the row, both outside and in it could use some updating - it was clean but all a little tired and shabby. The spa facilities are good, the swimming pool is a little small. We had treatments which were great and excellent value for money - they offer the dermalogica treatments.
We had high tea with champagne which was fabulous - just a shame the room didnt live up to the food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you made good use of the hotel's luxurious offerings, choosing to relax in the spa, with beauty treatments and afternoon high tea. However, I am disappointed to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. We are currently considering our opportunities for refurbishment, so thank you for this constructive feedback, we shall reflect upon your comments in our impending development plans.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for work, easy from Lime Street Station and on the water front.

The staff are all very nice and the rroms clean and comfortable (duvets look a little strange with as they were crumpled!)

Breakfast was excellent and again staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Location - on the waterfront with great views.

Would stay here again if in Liverpool

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. It gives me great pleasure to hear that our hotel suited your business needs. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the views, location, rooms and our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Must say I was very impressed with the hotel, facilities and location. It is in a stunning location next to the docks with some great shopping and restaurants nearby but out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Great value parking at just £10 overnight and free use of the spa facilities was nice! Would definitely stay here again if I went to Liverpool,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for writing us such a lovely review. At the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre we do feel that we have an extremely convenient and beautiful location and it is a pleasure to hear that our guests think so too. I am delighted to hear that you found the rooms, location and spa facilities were perfect for your needs. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Liverpool.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#9 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.