We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A pleasant hotel with helpful and friendly staff. I was on a business trip and was out most of the time. Tried the leisure facilities and found them a bit cramped and basic. Breakfast was fine as was the room. Maybe best to stay there when the weather pics up as the location is perfect for views but chilly in winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. It gives me great pleasure to hear that you found the hotel suited your needs for your business trip in Liverpool. I am sorry that you found the gym facilities to be cramped and basic, but thank you for your feedback, we shall reflect upon it in any future refurbishment decisions we make. You are right, the views are much nicer when the sun is out and Liverpool is easier to explore when the weather is nice. We hope you will come back for a more leisurely stay in summer.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    513
    179
    53
    32
See reviews for
262
520
58
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for a couple of days exploring Liverpool. Only a stone's throw from the Mersey Ferry, next to the Three Graces and with phenomenal river views. Three adults (family members) shared a room by choice, and it was a bit snug but fine. We enjoyed breakfast and made full use of the decent sized (for a hotel) pool. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. We are privileged to be located next door to the iconic Liver Building and with the Three Graces on our door step we can proudly offer our guests an extremely convenient location for visiting Liverpool’s major tourist attractions. I am delighted to hear that you appreciated our location as much as we do. Thank you for you kind remarks regarding the rooms, breakfast, swimming pool and of course our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The biggest plus for the hotel is its location. The water front of liverpool is fantastic and its all within walking distance of this hotel.
The views from hotel are amazing.
The hotel is very well maintained and clean with all ultra modem facilities.
The leisure facilities are good as well.
We booked King club room so we have access to private club lounge which offered complimentary food/drinks. It was a good gathering in evening to know different people.
The breakfast had so much of variety, one of the best I have seen. The dinner at hotel was good and surprisingly it was cheaper than some city centre restaurants.
Except some minor payment issue during check out, overall its been fantastic stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms with view of river are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you found the leisure facilities, rooms and food and beverage departments exceeded your expectations of the hotel. I am particularly grateful for your feedback regarding the Club Lounge as, following some constructive criticisms on Tripadvisor, we have been making a considerable effort to improve this service for our Executive guests. Your feedback reassures me that we are successfully improving the Club Lounge offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The dock area has the most gorgeous Victorian architecture. It's really beautiful around this hotel. It's also as dead as a dodo, so if you want a bit of life, book a hotel in the city centre, not the dockside. My bed was lumpy, my food average. Would have given this place a poor mark but it did have very pleasant and efficient staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. Please accept my sincere apologies that you found the beds uncomfortable and the food average. I can assure you that these are not our usual standards of service and we shall monitor these areas to prevent other guests from repeating your experiences. However, I am very grateful that you mentioned that our staff are pleasant and efficient. It is reassuring that despite the inconveniences you experienced, the staff left a positive lasting impression. I hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future as we would welcome the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to delivering high standards of service.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night mid week. Excellent facilities, location and staff. The reception staff were very welcoming, the concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful and the bar staff pleasant and efficient. The room was clean and gave a river view. The bathroom provided toiletries and the softest bathrobe I have ever used in a hotel. The breakfast was fantastic. Big choice (the porridge is a must) and the staff were marvellous. Parking was cheaper than in other areas of the city and I am more than happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for recommending our hotel to other visitors to Liverpool. It is a pleasure to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. Your comments regarding the rooms, facilities and staff all reassure me that we are continuing to deliver the high standards of service our customers expect, so we are very grateful for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location! Well equiped rooms, nice to see twin beds as doubles rather than singles. Luxury toiletries, mini bar empty but understand why they ask you to request it to be filled. Fitness facilities, absolutely excellent. Down side; restaurant atmosphere, and food quality. Okay for room service but not a sit down meal. Over priced for what you get. Staff friendly, and efficient, especially on the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the rooms, staff and location. Please accept my apologies that the restaurant did not live up to your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager for review. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Extremely well positioned hotel on Albert Dock, which has fantastic museums. Room with 'water view' was very comfortable, with good toiletries, soft towels and complimentary bottled water. The staff were generally friendly and helpful when we first arrived and there was not electricity on our room!

The main complaint was the coffee served at breakfast, which was absolutely dreadful, a point which some of the staff agreed with!! They tried to help by giving instant sachets-this is a four star hotel boasting of its breakfast! I fail to see why decent ground coffee in a cafetiere could not be provided. In fact overall the breakfast was mediocre at best. Comments to my complaint, of 'Americans like our coffee' were not particularly helpful or professional. In addition, the lounge and bar area is shabby, with worn armchairs, dismal decoration and damaged coffee tables. One more suggestion is to brief staff on any special packages. We were on a 'spa break', which included a'light lunch', but none of the staff knew what this was. Finally if you have a treatment, make sure you are not put in the 'overflow' treament room, which has not wash hand basin (hygiene issues?) and any relaxing ambience is shattered with people going in and out of the changing rooms and in the corridor. One of the other treatment rooms was very cold. Finally the pool is good, but in the early evening the ladies' showers were not clean, with debris on the floor.

Room Tip: Get one with a 'water view' over the River Mersey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am disappointed to hear of the difficulties you experienced during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences these may have caused you. We are very grateful for your constructive criticisms as these will enable us to modify our services to ensure that we are delivering the four star standards of service which our customers expect. Therefore I have passed your feedback onto our Food and Beverage department and the Harbour Leisure Club so that they may pursue the further actions required to prevent these situations from reoccurring in the future. However it is encouraging that despite your bad experiences you still mention that the rooms were comfortable and well equipped, our staff were friendly and the hotel is well located. We hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future as we would love the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to improving the customer experience.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#9 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.