We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could have been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
Merseyside
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good but could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was the 3rd NYE Ball we had attended with an overnight stay, and we had booked it after assurances that some issues/problems we experienced last year would be resolved. We were given an upgraded room with a river view and access to the Club Lounge, if we wanted it, which was very nice. All went well- check in very efficient and polite- and we looked forward to our evening. Unfortunately, things started to go wrong from when we were seated at out table. Unfortunately, we were seated right by the kitchen entrance. This was like sitting on a busy road- every time the staff went in or out of the kitchen ( which was obviously quite a lot ), there was a really strong draft which blew our candles all over the place, not to mention how cold it was. Also, several of the waiting staff knocked the back of my wife`s chair quite frequently, as they went backwards and forwards. The main thing that irritated us though was the difficulty in getting some tap water. We had put a note on our pre ordered drinks form requesting a jug of tap water as well as our wine but there was nothing on our table. When we mentioned this to a waiter, he said there were no jugs but he would bring us 2 glasses. We did eventually get the water -- after asking 8 times ! Last year, we had had difficulty in charging drinks to our room and we were assured that this would not happen again. In fact, on check in , we mentioned this and were told it was OK. This was shown to be arranged when we charged 2 drinks to out room in the afternoon with no problem. However, when ordering at the bar after the meal, I was told that I hadn`t had my card authorised by Reception. This only happened the first time but it is embarrassing. One of the things we like on New Years Day is the late breakfast and check out ( 12 oclock ). However, this year Reception telephoned our room to ask when we would be leaving as check out should have been 11 as usual. This was at 11 45am and Reception was packed with other guests checking out. If the check out was actually 11 am, did Reception ring every room of those checking out late ? I am sure they didn`t. Why have breakfast until 11 30 if you do not extend check out until 12 ? We have noticed that some other Crowne Plaza hotels have a normal check out of 12 ( though Liverpool is not one of them ) so why would they not make a special late check out on New Years Day ? Also, on checking the bill, our wine from dinner was showing on it even though we had paid for it in advance. The receptionist took it off without question- but without apology. This all said, we had a really nice night though nowhere near as good as the 2 previous years. The DJ this year was not any where near as good as the previous one, and the group, though pleasant, were not as `professional`. ( this is not just our opinion but that of a few people on the night ). Not sure at the moment if we will be booking this New Year at Crowne Plaza Liverpool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your New Years Eve party. Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. I am disappointed to hear that you had a few issues, though it is reassuring that despite these problems you still note that you had an enjoyable evening. At the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, we are eager to improve the service we deliver to our customers, so we are very grateful for constructive feedback like this, as it enables us to identify areas requiring improvement and make the appropriate amendments. Consequently I have discussed your comments with our Events, Reception and Food & Beverage departments, highlighting the areas requiring review and further training. We shall take these comments into consideration when planning future events. I sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel next New Years Eve.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    418
    142
    44
    28
See reviews for
202
400
52
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were on a 2 night break with an organised group of friends and basically enjoyed our stay on a DBB basis. Checkin and friendliness of service were excellent. Rooms a reasonable size for a city, and very comfortable beds and towels.

No problems with housekeeping but disappointed that our room did not face the docks. I am a very light sleeper and thought that the traffic would keep me awake but luckily the roads were not too busy over the holiday period. We were surprised and disappointed by the number of noisy children in the hotel and at mealtimes in particular.

My two bugbears....parking expensive at £10 per night even after our discount, and not a good wifi service. There was supposed to get a free slow service for basic use, which should have sufficed, but after the first connection it did not work for the rest of the break. Both should be free for guests in a top class hotel.

Food was generally good although there were a few inconsistencies between the menu and what arrived on our second night..... mackerel fillets instead of pate, no crackling on the pork, and baked cod that was overpowered by unadvertised tomato sauce (drat, wrong option chosen!). Our meal on the first night was superb, and breakfast was good and topped up until fairly late.

Bar prices were not as high as we feared for beer, but the cheapest house wine was £19.50.

Basically a good stay and we would definitely go to this ideally placed hotel again. But the above factors stop it being a 5 from me.

Room Tip: Ask for a dock view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am delighted to hear that despite experiencing a few problems during your stay, your overall impression of the hotel was a positive one and you would return to us in the future. I have passed your feedback regarding your evening meals to our food and beverage teams for review, to avoid any reoccurrence of the experiences you had on your second night dining with us and am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
On the 2nd January 2013, we introduced a new reservation system, so that guests can book a room with a guaranteed view of the docks. Therefore you can be assured that you will not be disturbed by traffic noise when staying with us in the future. Also, you mentioned that you were unable to connect to the WiFi in the bedrooms. Unfortunately we do not offer WiFi in the rooms at the moment, though it is available for free on the ground floor, which may explain the problems you experienced. However, in the bedrooms we offer free internet connection through an Ethernet cable, which is sufficient for browsing online. As you mentioned we also have an onsite car park which is convenient for our guests and although we do charge £10.00 a night it is competitively priced and cheaper than many of the hotels and car parks in the city centre. However, I have taken your feedback regarding the price onboard and it will contribute to any future decisions we make about our car parking facility.
Once again, thank you for your kind remarks on the rooms and staff service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice clean,well decorated hotel.
We had a problem with a movie we ordered however reception were able to sort this to our satisfaction.
Enjoyed the swimming pool and the lovely warm jacuzzi. no extra charge,so take advantage! There are times when children are not allowed in.
Good view over the river

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and it is reassuring that although you had a problem with the in-room movie, our staff were able to resolve the matter for you. I am glad to hear that you made good use of our Harbour Club leisure facilities which are complimentary for guests. We are very fortunate to be able to offer the pool, gym and jacuzzi to our guests as a great way to relax during their stay with us. Once again, thank you for recommending our services to other visitors, your comments are greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for New years eve and new years day. Staff were great on check-in. Very helpful and quickly allocated our room. Room was a good size. Bed was nice. Bathroom had everything you needed. Did find a stained towel which wasn't very nice but overall very clean room. Only problem with the room was the heat. The fan in the room wasnt enough to cool the room down and as the windows dont open it can get very warm during the night. Overall enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us for your New Year celebrations. I am delighted that you found our rooms were comfortable, with convenient amenities and report that our staff on check in were great. It is the staff who make our guest’s experiences memorable so it is reassuring to hear that they made your stay a pleasant one. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and I hope we got your New Year off to a good start.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a 1 night stay with my wife over a Christmas shopping weekend. Great views of the Liver buildings and very good location for water front walks and is only 10 mins walk into the city. I like that they have their own secure car park not using city centre parks where perhaps people might not be so careful opening doors etc. Room was exactly like the web site image and we were facing the Liver building and this was great. On a cold, dark ,wet, winters night it might not be the best location for the city centre but that is the only negative. Staff were great and friendly and this makes for a nice stay. It is clearly a "well used" place but this does not detract from the experience. Personally I rate the Liverpool Hilton higher.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the liver buildings and away from the busy main road to the east of the hotel. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good experience whilst staying in our hotel. As you noted we are very fortunate to be able to offer privileged views of the Liver Building and River Mersey and it is reassuring to hear that our guests appreciate these views. Your kind comments regarding our location and friendly staff are gratefully received. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Really enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. Allocated a room overlooking the docks so great view. Clean spacious room with very comfortable beds.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Had dinner bed and breakfast rate and dinner was good. Most dishes available in the package and children eat from the children's menu for free. Would recommend this hotel if you are visiting Liverpool city centre. Location is great too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback like this from our guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate and found the hotel’s location, rooms and facilities were suitable for your needs. Thank you kindly for recommending us to other visitors to Liverpool. We hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night between Xmas and new year hotel right by dock museums and waterfront bars and shopping centre within easy reach . Room was standard king size bed clean tv coffee & tea no safe and thin walls . Breakfast was normal full English buffet everything you needed service was slow but chill your on break and it was a busy time . We went to cavern club at 9.30 for 10 pm Beatles trubute band £3 each they were very good (thurs night) well worth it
I would recommend this hotel and will return should we go back to Liverpool

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. It is a real pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful visit to Liverpool. Your complimentary comments regarding the rooms, convenient location and hotel services are all gratefully received and your recommendation of our hotel is sincerely appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#9 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.