We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Pavilion, Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

At first sight, the holiday Inn hotel doesn't seem like anything to shout about, However the design of this hotel has a lovely modern feel. I loved that the hotel still has a "factory feel".

To get to reception you have to go upstairs to the second floor, which is where the bar and breakfast area is. The staff were very nice and obliging and went out of their way to help. We requested another towel as we were only left one towel on our last night. Our room number was taken and another towel was brought up in about 5 minutes.

Breakfast is served between 6:30 -10:00 am (weekdays) weekends I think it stayed open until 10:30. There was a good range of food for breakfast amd it was topped up regularly.

The hotel is situated in a fantastic area near the Albert dock. It is just a short walk to the Liverpool One centre and to the cavern quarter for any Hardcore Beatles fans.

Me and my family will deff be back to visit this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Fr a great view ask for a room facing Albert dock. I was beautiful, ESP at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for such a positive review about your stay. We always like to hear that the staff were obliging so I will pass your comments over. Glad to hear you will be back and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    388
    140
    26
    22
See reviews for
176
345
41
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

On arriving at the Hotel were greeted by pleasant friendly staff at reception.
Perfect location, clean room with everything we needed for our stay. Did not spend that much time in the room as we were blown away with what Liverpool has to offer!!
Hopefully planning our next visit to Liverpool soon, and would not choose to stay anywhere else.
We were even stopped in the Hotel car park by a member of staff who we had not met previously, she asked us where we were going for the evening, and recommended a restaurant which we ate at that evening, we had a great meal in a place we had not intended to visit.
Overall, we had a wonderful visit to your Hotel and City, which was to celebrate my Birthday, Wedding Anniversary and Valentines all on the same day. As for Breakfast, a little patience in a busy Hotel was no big deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Liverpool is such a wonderful city, so much to do so I can understand that you didn't spend much time in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Liverpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed at hotel with my two children in one room. Great price and good standard of accomdation even included a free breakfast. Staff good, polite and helpful. Location great for docks, Liverpool eye and Liverpool one. If you drive park in the AAC car park at the echo arena just turn next right after turning for hotel. You get 25% off with ticket from hotel only 9 quid for 24 hour and close to hotel. Pizza express right opposite was expensive but good if you use tesco vouchers

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Pleased to hear that you and your children enjoyed your recent stay with us, I trust you had a nice time in our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I took a friend to Liverpool as a birthday present to explore the Beatles. As it was a gift, I was hoping for a slightly more luxury experience. You enter the hotel through a slightly shabby hallway and some fire doors, then have to take the elevator up to the 2nd floor. The hotel reception looked a bit boring. Some designer touches would help. Don't get me wrong: if I was travelling alone this would all be fine, but I was hoping for something more "special".

The room was nice. Spacious, clean, comfortable, with some nice vaulted ceilings and exposed brickwork. For some reason or other the "standard" HI furnishings didn't really match the rest of the decor.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing: bland and tasteless scrambled eggs, no bacon, often out of sausages and cutlery, mediocre coffee.

If you're looking for a decent place to sleep, this is fine, but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Sorry to hear that the hotel didn't meet with your expectations, as a limited service hotel the Holiday Inn Express brand prides itself on being simple, smart and spot on. IHG has a broad spectrum of hotels ranging from Holiday Inn Express right up to the Crowne Plaza and Hotel Indigo brands - there really is a hotel style to suit every need and occasion within our brands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I usually rate higher than * rating because I enjoy a break away. I did like the room decor, shower was hot, location was excellent and I loved the building.
Service was good and friendly.
Low points (but wouldn't stop us from returning) ...
Heard every noise by neighbours
Room very dark even fully lit
Breakfast (hot only) was empty, asked if it would be refilled but only sausages were. Cold selection excellent but hot definitely poor.
I would return and a bonus we got 25% off parking.

Everywhere is easy walking distance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are pleased to hear that you would return to the hotel. We do use all feedback constructively to further improver on our quality and service standards so please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location for all attractions. Rooms are amazing with fab views. I expected the breakfast to not be up to much as I had read the reviews previously but it wasn't as bad as some people have described. It was just obviously done on a minimal budget.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really do appreciate your comments. Pleased to hear that you loved the view from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have stayed here before. Its a quality hotel with fantastic rooms in the Albert Dock.....good nights sleep and was looking forward to a decent breakfast......last time there it did the trick and there was plenty on offer from the buffet.

This time it was a massive let down.

Only one toaster working....queue's.......only one hot drinks machine working .....queue's.....scrambled egg was some atrocious tasteless egg powder stuff....no bacon...grey rubbery sausages.....tasteless beans.....massive let down.

I would stay there again if I had to.....but get your breakfasts sorted out please.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Please accept my apologies if you service levels didn't meet with your expectations on this occasion, as you have stayed with us previously you will know that this is not our usual standard. I hope you will return to the hotel during your next visit to Liverpool so we can restore your faith in the hotel and brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Address: Britannia Pavilion, Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.